Lewis & Clark National Park Association

Public charity · Grantmaker Astoria, OR EIN: 93-6036653

To promote Ft Clatsop and enhance the public's understanding of the Lewis & Clark expedition and its significance.

Lewis & Clark National Park Association at a glance

In short: Lewis & Clark National Park Association gave $11K across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $11K), mostly in Oregon. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$10,745
-48.1% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
1
+0.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$10,745
-48.1% vs 2023
Median grant
$10,745
Total assets
$354,607
-17.7% vs 2023
Primary geography
Oregon (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Lewis & Clark National Park Association funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2024

NPS Fort Clatsop Unit: $11KNPS Fort Clatsop Unit$11K

The largest 2024 recipient was NPS Fort Clatsop Unit ($11K).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

5<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 5 grants of 5 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Astoria

How Lewis & Clark National Park Association gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−10%). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K1 grant2019 1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024

From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $6K (2020) to $21K (2023). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $11K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
NPS Fort Clatsop Unit Astoria, ORProvide support for operations to the National Park Service Ft Clatsop Unit pursuant to the organization's bylaws.$10,745
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Lewis & Clark National Park Association?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$354,607$101,962$182,008$10,7451$3,041
2023$430,835$277,258$222,034$20,7051$2,158
2022$404,289$195,241$234,753$13,6361$6
2021$440,242$210,196$164,069$11,9601$6,810
2020$369,774$90,804$156,167$6,1791$5,283
2019$440,958$177,457$207,704$8,2581$6,194

About Lewis & Clark National Park Association

Based on IRS filings

Lewis & Clark National Park Association is a public charity focused on Arts, Culture & Humanities, based in Astoria, OR. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $355K in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $11K. Net investment income was $3K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Lewis & Clark National Park Association is led by Cynthia Thompson, Executive Director on every filing since 2020; 1 of 9 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Cynthia Thompson

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $45K (2021) → $57K (2024)

  • William Garvin

    Interim Chairperson

    Director → Vice Chairperson, 2023

    Vice Chairperson → Interim Chairperson, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    0.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chris Breitmeyer

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    0.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rosemary Baker-Monaghan

    Director

    Treasurer → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    0.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nancy Anderson

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chuck Albright

    Incoming Treasurer

    Vice Chairperson → Director, 2023

    Director → Incoming Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    0.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jean Danforth

    Former Director

    Director → Former Director, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    0.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Susan Deshon

    Former Chairperson

    Chair → Chairperson, 2022

    Chairperson → Former Chairperson, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lester McNary

    Former Treasurer

    Treasurer → Former Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (7)
  • Former: Will Garvin (2022) — Director
  • Former: Les McNary (2019–2021) — Treasurer
  • Former: Jill Harding (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: John Burpee (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Debbie Wilson (2019–2020) — Executive Director
  • Former: Bob Ellsberg (2019) — Director
  • Former: Cheri Folk (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Cynthia Thompson — Executive Director: $57KCynthia ThompsonExecutive Director$57K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $57K, to Cynthia Thompson (Executive Director).

Frequently asked questions about Lewis & Clark National Park Association

How much does Lewis & Clark National Park Association give each year?

Lewis & Clark National Park Association gave $11K across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $21K across 1 grant.

How large is Lewis & Clark National Park Association?

Lewis & Clark National Park Association reported $355K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $102K.

What is Lewis & Clark National Park Association?

Lewis & Clark National Park Association is a public charity focused on Arts, Culture & Humanities, based in Astoria, OR. It holds $355K in total assets as of 2024.

Where does Lewis & Clark National Park Association operate?

Lewis & Clark National Park Association has awarded grants in Oregon.

What is Lewis & Clark National Park Association's EIN?

Lewis & Clark National Park Association's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 93-6036653. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS February 14, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS July 29, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS July 6, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 6, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS July 26, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS July 29, 2025)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Lewis & Clark National Park Association's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Oregon

The Oregon Community Foundation

Portland, OR

The Oregon Community Foundation funds Oregon nonprofits and community-serving projects across education, health, arts and culture, housing, economic and community vitality, and the environment. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to nearly $8 million; applications are accepted through specific grant programs and cycles, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

2,149

Total Given

$171.4M

Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation

Wilsonville, OR

The Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation supports Oregon nonprofits working in education, community, arts and creativity, health, and well-being, often through unrestricted operating grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,000, though awards ranged widely; it also has a Washington Fund for organizations serving Washington and/or Oregon. Its primary grant programs open in January and June; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Human Services

Assets

$374.9M

Grants

663

Total Given

$20.5M

The Roundhouse Foundation

Sisters, OR

The Roundhouse Foundation supports innovative arts and culture, environmental stewardship, social services, and education projects that benefit rural Oregon and Tribal communities. Its typical grant is around $10,000 overall; Open Call awards are usually about $2,501–$30,000, and Small Grants range from $500–$2,500.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$344.5M

Grants

621

Total Given

$15.6M

OCF Joseph E Weston Public Foundation

Portland, OR

The foundation supports nonprofits serving children, working-poor people, people with disabilities, seniors, and people experiencing homelessness, and also awards school scholarships. It primarily funds Oregon, with grants and scholarships also serving Southwest Washington; in 2024, grants ranged from $5,500 to $3,487,608, with a median of $21,500. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$637.5M

Grants

531

Total Given

$23.3M

Meyer Memorial Trust

Portland, OR

Meyer Memorial Trust funds community-led work advancing racial, social, and economic justice, including efforts in education, climate, community economies, and support for Black, Native, immigrant, and refugee communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, and 93% of grant dollars went to Oregon recipients. It offers open and invited opportunities, but says it will not open a general application call in 2026; check its website for current opportunities.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$901.2M

Grants

388

Total Given

$45.2M

Micro Enterprise Services of Oregon

Portland, OR

MESO supports under-resourced entrepreneurs through business development, education, and access to capital, including support for childcare businesses and providers. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,000 to $2.55 million, with a median of $72,560; reported grants went to Oregon recipients, while its services also reach the Portland metro area, Beaverton, and southwest Washington. The profile does not state whether MESO accepts unsolicited requests.

Employment

Assets

$17.4M

Grants

38

Total Given

$12.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in Oregon

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Lewis & Clark National Park Association's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Lewis & Clark National Park Association down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?