Kubale Family Foundation
KUBALE FAMILY FOUNDATION is a private foundation based in Seattle, Washington. Its 2025 filing reports 32 grants totaling $21,905 to charitable organizations.
Key facts about Kubale Family Foundation
In short: Kubale Family Foundation gave $22K across 32 grants in 2025 (avg $684.531), top state Washington. 13% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 81-0624963
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $21,905
- Grants made (2025)
- 32
- Average grant
- $685
- Median grant
- $450
- New grantees (estimate)
- 13% first-time grantees (4 of 32, 2025)
- Total assets
- $39,740
- Primary geography
- Washington (23% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$40K
-35.5% YoY
Annual Giving
$22K
+4.8% YoY
Grant Count
32
-11.1% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$684.531
+17.9% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Kubale Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $3K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Kubale Family Foundation open to new grantees?
13%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 4 of 32 grantees (13%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $725; repeat grants $679. How we count
Medians: $750 first-time, $400 repeat.
- 81% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 51% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 744% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for organizations working in areas such as housing, women’s and girls’ well-being, grief support, care for children of incarcerated women, animal welfare, cancer education and research, and children’s education and life skills. These are areas reflected in grantee missions, not a stated mission or formal set of focus areas for the foundation.
For example, Washington Women’s Foundation describes its work as providing long-term, unrestricted capital, organizational support, and networking to social change efforts benefiting women and girls in Washington. SupportWorks Housing says it works to end homelessness through permanent housing and supportive services. Good Grief describes providing grief and resilience support to children, families, schools, and the community.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation made 32 grants totaling $21,905. Grants ranged from $100 to $3,500, with a median grant of $450. The largest grants included $3,500 to Washington Women’s Foundation, $2,500 each to Planned Parenthood and SupportWorks Housing, and $1,200 to St Teresa of Calcutta. Other listed grants included $1,005 to GSWW; $1,000 each to Hour Children, Good Grief, Louisiana Advocates for Immigrants, and Giffords Law Center; and $600 to Mylestone Equine Rescue.
Ready to take the next step with Kubale Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, the largest shares of grant dollars went to recipients in Washington (23%), the District of Columbia (16%), Virginia (15%), Wisconsin (13%), and New Jersey (12%). The listed 2025 recipients also include organizations in New York, Louisiana, and Michigan.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 32 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $15K (2022) to $23K (2023). In 2025 it made 32 grants totaling $22K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Washington Womens Foundation ($4K). Together the top 10 received $15K.
Grant Size Distribution
194 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 194 grants of 194 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Washington Womens Foundation Seattle, WA | General Operating | $3,500 |
| Planned Parenthood Washington DC, DC | General Operating | $2,500 |
| SupportWorks Housing Richmond, VA | General Operating | $2,500 |
| St Teresa of Calcutta Hartland, WI | General Operating | $1,200 |
| GSWW Seattle, WA | General operating | $1,005 |
| Hour Children Long Island City, NY | General Operating | $1,000 |
| Good Grief Morristown, NJ | General Operating | $1,000 |
| Louisiana Advocates for Immigrants Shreveport, LA | General Operating | $1,000 |
| Giffords Law Center Washington DC, DC | General Operating | $1,000 |
| Mylestone Equine Rescue Phillipsburg, NJ | General Operating | $600 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grant sum | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $39,740 | — | $21,905 | $21,905 | 32 |
| 2024 | $61,645 | $70,000 | $20,900 | $20,900 | 36 |
| 2023 | $12,545 | — | $23,375 | $23,300 | 56 |
— = not provided.
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $39,740 | $61,645 | $12,545 |
| Revenue | — | $70,000 | — |
| Expenses | $21,905 | $20,900 | $23,375 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $21,905 | $20,900 | $23,300 |
| Distributable Amount | $2,945 | $797 | $1,663 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS April 19, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 5, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS April 25, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 8, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 7, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 27, 2026)
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Bernard Kubale, Catherine Gelband, Anne Walker, and Caroline Smith as trustees.
Kubale Family Foundation's 2025 filing lists 4 officers; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Anne Walker
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Bernard Kubale
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Caroline Smith
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Catherine Gelband
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 4533 Sunnyside Ave N, Seattle, WA 98103-6938
Phone: (206) 390-5385
Frequently asked questions about Kubale Family Foundation
How much does Kubale Family Foundation give each year?
Kubale Family Foundation gave $22K across 32 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $21K across 36 grants.
What is Kubale Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Kubale Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $450, and its average grant was $685, across 32 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Kubale Family Foundation that year got $725 on average.
Where does Kubale Family Foundation give grants?
Kubale Family Foundation's top state is Washington, with 23% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were District of Columbia (16%) and Virginia (15%). The most frequent recipient cities were Seattle, WA (3 grants), Morristown, NJ (3 grants), Milwaukee, WI (3 grants) and Washington DC, DC (2 grants).
Does Kubale Family Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Kubale Family Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (32 of 32) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Kubale Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Kubale Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Washington Womens Foundation ($3,500), Planned Parenthood ($2,500) and SupportWorks Housing ($2,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 39% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Kubale Family Foundation?
Kubale Family Foundation reported $40K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $22K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $3K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Kubale Family Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Kubale Family Foundation?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Kubale Family Foundation's EIN?
Kubale Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 81-0624963. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Kubale Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Kubale Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Kubale Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health-access initiatives for disproportionately affected populations, including cancer, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation, in the United States and internationally. In 2024, its median grant was $134,090, though awards varied widely; it says application materials are available upon request and advises organizations to contact it about the process, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
Seattle Foundation
Seattle, WA
Seattle Foundation funds community-led work advancing racial and economic equity in Greater Seattle, including housing, economic opportunity, climate justice, democracy, arts, and organizing; some programs support specific medical or performing-arts needs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $7 million, with a median of $6,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through program-specific applications or letters of inquiry.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
5,379
Total Given
$177.9M
Gates Foundation
Seattle, WA
The Gates Foundation funds work on global health, poverty reduction, gender equality, economic opportunity, and U.S. education, primarily in low-income countries and the United States. Its 2024 grants had a median of $500,000, though amounts varied widely. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests; organizations are usually invited to apply, with occasional published funding opportunities.
Assets
$78.7B
Grants
4,974
Total Given
$6.3B
M J Murdock Charitable Trust
Vancouver, WA
The M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust funds nonprofit capacity-building projects, including program and staff expansion, capital improvements, and equipment or technology, across areas such as education, health, arts, and community services. Its 2024 grants ranged from $4,000 to about $1.55 million, with a median of $87,000; it focuses on Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington, and also considers projects with more than half their impact there. Applicants start with an eligibility assessment and, if eligible, submit a Letter of Inquiry; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
797
Total Given
$116.6M
The Avista Foundation
Spokane, WA
The Avista Foundation supports 501(c)(3) nonprofits working in education, basic needs and poverty, and economic and cultural vitality. Its 2025 grants had a median of $1,000, though awards ranged from $20 to $350,000, and it serves communities in eastern Washington, northern Idaho, parts of southern Oregon, Sanders County, Montana, and Juneau, Alaska.
Assets
$10.6M
Grants
577
Total Given
$2.2M
Rei Cooperative Action Fund
Sumner, WA
The REI Cooperative Action Fund supports U.S. nonprofits expanding equitable access to the outdoors, connecting historically excluded communities with outdoor experiences, and advancing research on nature and health. In 2024, grants ranged from $9,342 to $386,438, with a median of $15,000; it funds organizations serving communities across the U.S. and does not accept unsolicited grant requests, though recommendations are considered.
Assets
$11.2M
Grants
561
Total Given
$13.5M
Scholar Fund
Seattle, WA
Scholar Fund supports community organizations and programs addressing childcare, college access, economic hardship, and barriers to resources, with a focus on underserved communities. Its 2023 grants had a median of $23,486 and ranged from $5,036 to $1,313,081; 98% of grant dollars went to Washington recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.2M
Grants
535
Total Given
$23.1M
The Roots and Wings Foundation Inc
Seattle, WA
The Roots & Wings Foundation supports nonprofits helping low-income children and families thrive, especially from pregnancy through age three, in areas including basic needs, early learning, health, and safety and justice. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $2 million, with a median of $55,000, and it funds organizations in Wisconsin, Washington, and nationally. It does not accept unsolicited requests; it identifies potential partners and invites aligned organizations to apply.
Assets
$611.8M
Grants
518
Total Given
$66.6M
The Norcliffe Foundation
Seattle, WA
The Norcliffe Foundation funds Puget Sound nonprofits in areas including human services, education, healthcare, arts and culture, environment, and community projects; it supports programs, operations, capacity building, and capital projects. Grants vary widely, but the median is $20,000 and nearly 60% are $15,000 or less. It serves 11 counties in Washington’s Puget Sound region and accepts applications year-round through its online system.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
454
Total Given
$56.5M
Artsfund
Seattle, WA
ArtsFund supports Washington nonprofit arts and cultural organizations, primarily with unrestricted general operating grants, while some awards fund specific projects or capital needs. Its 2025 grants had a median of $17,500 and ranged from $5,934 to $860,000; Annual Allocations Grants are invitation-only, so unsolicited applications are not accepted for that program.
Assets
$9.6M
Grants
434
Total Given
$10.8M
Innovia Foundation
Spokane, WA
Innovia Foundation funds nonprofits and community projects focused on health and wellbeing, education and youth, economic opportunity, quality of life, and arts and culture, primarily in Eastern Washington and North Idaho. Its 2026 Community Grant awards were capped at $15,000, with most expected to be about $7,500; the application cycle has closed. It accepts applications through its grant programs, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$286.5M
Grants
422
Total Given
$12.7M
More Funders in Washington
Kubale Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?