Just so Charitable Foundation
Just so Charitable Foundation is a private foundation, based in Boston, MA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $402K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 9 grants totaling $32K. Net investment income was $41K.
Just so Charitable Foundation at a glance
In short: Just so Charitable Foundation gave $32K across 9 grants in 2025 (avg $4K), top state Wisconsin. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $32,184
- +15.9% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 9
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $3,576
- +15.9% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $4,000
- Total assets
- $401,694
- +1.2% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Wisconsin (20% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Just so Charitable Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 9 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Vetsmarquette University ($6K). Together the top 9 received $32K.
Grant Size Distribution
46 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 46 grants of 46 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.
Cities
How Just so Charitable Foundation gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+0%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 95% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $16K (2020) to $32K (2025). In 2025 it made 9 grants totaling $32K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Vetsmarquette University Milwaukee, WI | The General Purposes of | $6,296 |
| Texas a & M University College Station, TX | The General Purposes of | $6,296 |
| The Piney Woods School Piney Woods, MS | The General Purposes of | $4,592 |
| Boys & Girls Clubs of Larimer County Fort Collins, CO | The General Purposes of | $4,000 |
| K9S for Warriors Ponte Vedra, FL | General Purposes of | $4,000 |
| GARY SINISE Foundation Nashville, TN | The General Purposes of | $4,000 |
| McDougall Research and Education Fund Santa Rosa, CA | The General Purposes of | $1,000 |
| Wounded Warrior Project Topeka, KS | The General Purposes of | $1,000 |
| USA Swimming Foundation Colorado Springs, CO | General Purposes of | $1,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Just so Charitable Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $401,694 | $40,897 | $36,308 | $32,184 | 9 | $34,019 | $40,576 | $35,892 |
| 2024 | $397,105 | $65,441 | $30,475 | $27,760 | 9 | $29,630 | $64,649 | $35,055 |
| 2023 | $362,139 | $20,719 | $30,870 | $27,996 | 11 | $29,866 | $20,301 | $29,630 |
| 2022 | $372,290 | $32,331 | $35,492 | $32,036 | 12 | $33,851 | $31,272 | $29,810 |
| 2021 | $375,451 | $41,416 | $28,759 | $24,096 | 5 | $25,874 | $32,888 | $33,814 |
| 2020 | $362,794 | $-361 | $27,164 | $16,154 | 7 | — | — | $25,846 |
| 2019 | $395,035 | $26,619 | $34,619 | $23,000 | 9 | — | $19,173 | $22,579 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Just so Charitable Foundation reported a distributable amount of $36K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Just so Charitable Foundation's 2025 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Jonathan Cushman
Trustee
On filings since 2019
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Susan Cushman
Trustee
On filings since 2019
15 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (2)
- Former: NY Private Trust CO Final Year (2021) — Trustee
- Former: NEW York Private Trust Company (2019–2020) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Just so Charitable Foundation
How much does Just so Charitable Foundation give each year?
Just so Charitable Foundation gave $32K across 9 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $28K across 9 grants.
What is Just so Charitable Foundation's typical grant size?
Just so Charitable Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $4,000, and its average grant was $3,576, across 9 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Just so Charitable Foundation give grants?
Just so Charitable Foundation's top state is Wisconsin, with 20% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Texas (20%) and Colorado (16%).
Does Just so Charitable Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Just so Charitable Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (9 of 9) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Just so Charitable Foundation's largest grantees?
Just so Charitable Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Vetsmarquette University ($6,296), Texas a & M University ($6,296) and The Piney Woods School ($4,592), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 53% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Just so Charitable Foundation?
Just so Charitable Foundation reported $402K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $34K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $36K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is Just so Charitable Foundation's EIN?
Just so Charitable Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 65-6270560. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(3)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 30, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 8, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Just so Charitable Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
McKesson Foundation Inc
Dallas, TX
The McKesson Foundation funds cancer support and care, healthcare workforce pathways, and emergency response, with grants mainly supporting organizations in the United States and Canada. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, though amounts ranged from $10,000 to about $2.47 million. Its filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests, while its application page describes an online application process with stated submission windows.
Assets
$1.6M
Grants
76
Total Given
$16.6M
United Way Worldwide
Alexandria, VA
United Way Worldwide funds community programs focused on youth opportunity, health, financial security, education, and disaster relief, with 2024 grants made across multiple U.S. states and internationally. Its 209 reported grants ranged from $5,100 to $736,333, with a median of $22,675. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.
Assets
$68.0M
Grants
209
Total Given
$11.4M
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
Synchrony Foundation
Stamford, CT
In 2024, Synchrony Foundation supported charitable organizations across workforce development, education, financial assistance, and giving, with grants ranging from $150 to $2.6 million and a median of $10,000. Its largest shares of grant funding went to Connecticut, New York, and South Carolina, followed by the District of Columbia and New Jersey; it does not accept unsolicited requests and funds preselected organizations only.
Assets
$72.3M
Grants
394
Total Given
$20.5M
Edwards Lifesciences Foundation
Irvine, CA
Edwards Lifesciences Foundation funds access to care for underserved structural heart patients, along with health, education, and economic-opportunity programs in communities where Edwards employees live and work; some specific projects outside the U.S. may also be eligible. Its 2024 grants had a median of $7,500, though awards ranged widely; it describes an annual application cycle but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$81.4M
Grants
224
Total Given
$9.0M
America's Charities
Chantilly, VA
AMERICA’S CHARITIES routes donor-directed workplace giving to member charities and provides emergency assistance to eligible employees and people affected by disasters; its reported grants are fiscal-agent disbursements, not awards selected through an application process. In 2025 it reported 808 grants totaling $16.4 million, ranging from $5,000 to $515,354 (median $9,664), to recipients across the United States, with the largest shares going to Pennsylvania, California, Washington, D.C., Virginia, and Arizona. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$36.2M
Grants
808
Total Given
$16.4M
More similar funders
More Funders in Massachusetts
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Just so Charitable Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Just so Charitable Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?