Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Juneau, AK EIN: 92-0143399

Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation is a private foundation, based in Juneau, AK. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2023. In 2023, it awarded 5 grants totaling $729K. Net investment income was $177K.

Key facts about Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation

In short: Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation gave $729K across 5 grants in 2023 (avg $146K), mostly in Alaska. Source: 2023 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
92-0143399
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2023
Annual giving (2023)
$728,872
Grants made (2023)
5
Average grant
$145,774
Median grant
$16,000
Primary geography
Alaska (100% of itemized 2023 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2023; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2023 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

—

Annual Giving

$729K

+1163.0% YoY

Grant Count

5

+150.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$146K

+405.2% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation reported a distributable amount of $29K for 2023 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 2593% from 2020 to 2023. Method
  • In 2023 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2023 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

States

Cities

Juneau

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K$800K2 grants2020 1 grant2021 2 grants2022 5 grants2023

From 2020 to 2023, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2021) to $729K (2023). In 2023 it made 5 grants totaling $729K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 3 recipients in 2023

Juneau Community Foundation: $674KJuneau Community Foundation$674KJuneau Pioneer Home: $54K across 3 grantsJuneau Pioneer Home$54K · 3 grantsFriends of the Alaska State Library Archives and Museum: $500Friends of the Alaska StateLibrary Archives and Museum$500

The largest 2023 recipient was Juneau Community Foundation ($674K). Together the top 3 received $729K.

Grant Size Distribution

10 grants across all recorded years

9<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K1$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 9 grants of 10 (90%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Juneau Community Foundation Juneau, AKElder & Hospice Support$673,948
Juneau Pioneer Home Juneau, AKPioneer Home Resident Needs$36,424
Juneau Pioneer Home Juneau, AKResidents Fund$16,000
Juneau Pioneer Home Juneau, AKPioneer Home Staff Training$2,000
Friends of the Alaska State Library Archives and Museum Juneau, AKGeneral Operations$500

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$250K$500K$750K$1M2020 2021 2022 2023
Metric202320222021
Total Assets—$559,937$578,022
Revenue$176,984$58,015$68,501
Expenses$736,921$76,100$6,059
Qualifying Distributions$728,872$57,708$5,135
Net Investment Income$176,984$58,015$65,869
Distributable Amount$29,012$35,221$35,364

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 8, 2024)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2023

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation is led by Chava Lee, Board President on every filing since 2020; none of the 5 officers listed in 2023 report compensation.

Officers on the 2023 filing

  • Chava Lee

    Board President

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ginny Conrad

    Board Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pamela Johnson

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Peggy Metcalf

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard Lee

    Board Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2023. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation

How much does Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation give each year?

Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation gave $729K across 5 grants in 2023, according to its 2023 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2022 it gave $58K across 2 grants.

What is Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation's typical grant size?

Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation's median grant in 2023 was $16,000, and its average grant was $145,774, across 5 grants on its 2023 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation give grants?

Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation gives mostly in Alaska: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2023 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Juneau, AK (5 grants).

Does Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 20% of Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation's 2023 grants with a stated purpose (1 of 5) were for general or operating support, per its 2023 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation's largest grantees?

Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation's largest 2023 grantees include Juneau Community Foundation ($673,948), Juneau Pioneer Home ($54,424 across 3 grants) and Friends of the Alaska State Library Archives and Museum ($500), according to its 2023 IRS Form 990-PF.

How much is Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation required to give away each year?

Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2023, Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation reported a distributable amount of $29K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

What is Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation's EIN?

Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 92-0143399. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2023.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

The Alaska Community Foundation

Anchorage, AK

The Alaska Community Foundation funds charitable programs and public-benefit projects, including community programs, workforce development, and journalism, serving Alaska; some grants target specific regions. Giving varies widely: in 2024, grants ranged from $5,019 to $1,359,483, with a median of $10,750. It offers competitive grant opportunities, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$243.9M

Grants

343

Total Given

$12.3M

Rasmuson Foundation

Anchorage, AK

Rasmuson Foundation supports a broad range of community-identified needs across Alaska, including capital projects, programs, and strategic work by nonprofits, tribes, and local governments. Its typical Tier 1 grants are $5,000–$20,000, though awards range from small grants to more than $250,000; it accepts Tier 1 applications year-round.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$845.4M

Grants

300

Total Given

$17.7M

George & Stephanie Suddock Foundation

Seattle, WA

The foundation supports charitable organizations working in areas including food assistance, youth opportunities, housing, older adults’ well-being, community needs, and health, with most 2024 funding going to Alaska and additional support in Washington. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $506,250, with a median of $40,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$23.7M

Grants

34

Total Given

$2.4M

Richard L and Diane M Block Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The Richard L. and Diane M. Block Foundation funds Alaska youth, arts and cultural organizations, and social services, as well as the First Church of Christ, Scientist, in Boston; it excludes organizations principally engaged in medical services or research. In 2024, grants ranged from $250 to $300,000, with a median of $10,000; the foundation describes an online application process but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$35.4M

Grants

75

Total Given

$1.4M

Allen Birge Charitable Trust

St. Louis, MO

The trust supports a range of causes, including education, land preservation, religious activities, music, social justice, health care, and mental health. In 2025, grants ranged from $500 to $12,000, with a median of $1,500; most funding went to Missouri, with some grants to California, Michigan, and Alabama. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.

Assets

$601K

Grants

18

Total Given

$42K

Princess Cruises Community Foundation

Santa Clarita, CA

To assist communities with issues relating to children and families, environmental concerns and community welfare.

Assets

$443K

Grants

4

Total Given

$41K

Alaska Humanities Forum

Anchorage, AK

The Alaska Humanities Forum funds Alaska-based nonprofit, tribal, and government projects that share underrecognized stories and bring people together through public dialogue; grants are statewide. Typical awards are $5,000 for Dialogues Grants and $10,000 for Stories Grants, but no grant cycles are currently open, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$2.0M

Grants

8

Total Given

$80K

Blue Waters Foundation

Annapolis, MD

Assets

$3.2M

Grants

9

Total Given

$280K

The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$218.3M

Grants

1,431

Total Given

$47.9M

Alfred and Harriet Feinman Foundation

Brooklyn, NY

The Alfred and Harriet Feinman Foundation supports a range of charitable organizations, including those focused on youth, children, libraries, immigrant advocacy, food assistance, and civil legal aid; most 2025 grant dollars went to New York organizations, with grants also reaching several other states and Washington, DC. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $77,676, with a median of $5,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$5.3M

Grants

42

Total Given

$647K

The Avista Foundation

Spokane, WA

The Avista Foundation supports 501(c)(3) nonprofits working in education, basic needs and poverty, and economic and cultural vitality. Its 2025 grants had a median of $1,000, though awards ranged from $20 to $350,000, and it serves communities in eastern Washington, northern Idaho, parts of southern Oregon, Sanders County, Montana, and Juneau, Alaska.

Assets

$10.6M

Grants

577

Total Given

$2.2M

Riley W and Nancy a Pleas Family Foundation

Seattle, WA

Assets

$608K

Grants

48

Total Given

$55K

More Funders in Alaska

Juneau Pioneer Home Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?