John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012

Private foundation · Grantmaker Lancaster, PA EIN: 23-6858178

John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 is a private foundation, based in Lancaster, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $249K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 5 grants totaling $10K. Net investment income was $13K.

John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 at a glance

In short: John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 gave $10K across 5 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Pennsylvania. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$10,000
-16.7% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
5
-16.7% vs 2024
Average grant
$2,000
+0.0% vs 2024
Median grant
$2,000
Total assets
$248,908
+1.2% vs 2024
Primary geography
Pennsylvania (80% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026.

Who John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2025

Student 1: $2KStudent 1$2KStudent 2: $2KStudent 2$2KStudent 3: $2KStudent 3$2KStudent 4: $2KStudent 4$2KStudent 5: $2KStudent 5$2K

The largest 2025 recipient was Student 1 ($2K). Together the top 5 received $10K.

Grant Size Distribution

25 grants across all recorded years

25<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 25 grants of 25 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

Cities

PittsburghClarionUniversity ParkLancasterAshlandMechanicsburgPitsburghShippensburgYorkLynchburg

How John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+0%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 66% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5K$10K$15K3 grants2020 4 grants2021 5 grants2022 5 grants2023 6 grants2024 5 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $7K (2021) to $12K (2024). In 2025 it made 5 grants totaling $10K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Student 1 Mechanicsburg, PAEducation Scholarship$2,000
Student 2 Lancaster, PAEducation Scholarship$2,000
Student 3 Pitsburgh, PAEducation Scholarship$2,000
Student 4 University Park, PAEducation Scholarship$2,000
Student 5 Ashland, VAEducation Scholarship$2,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$248,908$15,007$12,169$10,0005$10,000$13,004$15,082
2024$245,985$23,870$14,088$12,0006$12,000$11,936$14,439
2023$236,265$10,283$11,705$10,0005$10,000$8,578$12,533
2022$237,708$50,458$11,392$10,0005$10,000$2,527$11,217
2021$197,419$14,539$9,096$7,0004$7,000$13,043$11,263
2020$189,036$26,242$11,153$8,5003—$23,639$9,509

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 reported a distributable amount of $15K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012's only listed officer is Fulton Bank NA, Trustee on every filing since 2020 (compensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Fulton Bank NA

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2021) → $2K (2025)

Former officers (1)
  • Former: M&T Trust CO (2020) — Corp Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Fulton Bank NA — Trustee: $2KFulton Bank NATrustee$2K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $2K, to Fulton Bank NA (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012

How much does John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 give each year?

John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 gave $10K across 5 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $12K across 6 grants.

What is John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012's typical grant size?

John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012's median grant in 2025 was $2,000, and its average grant was $2,000, across 5 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 give grants?

John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 gives mostly in Pennsylvania: 80% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Virginia (20%).

Does John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 5 grants with a stated purpose on John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Education Scholarship" (5 grants).

Who are John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012's largest grantees?

John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012's largest 2025 grantees include Student 1 ($2,000), Student 2 ($2,000) and Student 3 ($2,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 60% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012?

John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 reported $249K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $10K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $15K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012's EIN?

John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-6858178. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 23, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 10, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 11, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 13, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 15, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Pennsylvania

The Pittsburgh Foundation

Pittsburgh, PA

The Pittsburgh Foundation funds nonprofits working in basic needs, equity and social justice, environmental action, arts and culture, and economic mobility, with most opportunities for organizations in Allegheny County or primarily serving its residents. Its 2024 grants had a median amount of about $18,600, though awards varied widely. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

1,132

Total Given

$64.0M

The William Penn Foundation

Philadelphia, PA

The William Penn Foundation funds arts and culture, children and families, civic participation, the environment and public spaces, and workforce training, primarily in the Philadelphia region. Its 2024 median grant was $50,000, though awards varied widely. It accepts unsolicited requests through limited open applications and invites letters of inquiry from public charities.

Assets

$3.4B

Grants

1,027

Total Given

$148.8M

Dick's Sporting Goods Foundation

Coraopolis, PA

DICK’S Sporting Goods Foundation primarily funds youth sports participation in under-resourced communities, including equipment, registration costs and facilities, and also supports outdoor access and education. Its 2025 grants ranged from $626 to $2.5 million, with a median of $5,000, and Sports Matter funding has reached all 50 states. Sports Matter opportunities are by invitation only; the foundation says 501(c)(3) grant requests should be submitted in writing.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$34.5M

Grants

964

Total Given

$18.0M

Hillman Family Foundations

Pittsburgh, PA

The 18 independently operated foundations support projects in areas such as arts and culture, health, education, economic development, and community improvement, with a preference for Pittsburgh and southwestern Pennsylvania; each foundation has its own geographic focus. In 2024, grants ranged from $75 to $5 million, with a median of $20,000. The 2024 filing says unsolicited requests are accepted, beginning with a brief letter of intent through the online portal.

Assets

$1.9B

Grants

814

Total Given

$88.8M

Pidc Financing Corporation

Philadelphia, PA

PIDC Financing Corporation administers Pennsylvania business loans for real estate, leasehold improvements, and equipment, as well as partner-funded grants for Philadelphia economic, cultural, civic, historical, storefront, and stormwater projects. Its 2024 filing reports no grants, so no typical giving level is stated; grant partners select recipients, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Community Improvement & Capacity Building

Assets

$6.7M

Grants

774

Total Given

$16.4M

The Philadelphia Foundation

Philadelphia, PA

The Philadelphia Foundation supports economic mobility and other community needs through grants to nonprofits, including workforce development, direct services, and initiatives addressing urgent regional challenges. In 2024, its median grant was $25,500, and its primary service area is Greater Philadelphia; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$704.6M

Grants

715

Total Given

$39.1M

More similar funders

More Funders in Pennsylvania

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

John D Bare Memorial Scholarship 47F114012 down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?