Isiaq Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Davidsonville, MD EIN: 84-4008596

Isiaq Family Foundation is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Davidsonville, MD. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $80K in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 6 grants totaling $162K.

Key facts about Isiaq Family Foundation

In short: Isiaq Family Foundation gave $162K across 6 grants in 2024 (avg $27K), mostly in District of Columbia. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
84-4008596
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$161,715
Grants made (2024)
6
Average grant
$26,953
Median grant
$2,108
Total assets
$80,254
Primary geography
District of Columbia (90% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$80K

+3625.8% YoY

Annual Giving

$162K

Grant Count

6

Avg Grant Size

$27K

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Isiaq Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $536 for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Isiaq Family Foundation gives

  • In 2024 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Isiaq Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.

Cities

RiverdaleStaten IslandWashingtonMattesonGlen BurnieGlen DaleLaurel

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K$200K0 grants2020 0 grants2021 6 grants2022 0 grants2023 6 grants2024

From 2022 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $18K (2022) to $162K (2024). In 2024 it made 6 grants totaling $162K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 3 recipients in 2024

NCNMO: $146KNCNMO$146KAcaosa: $10KAcaosa$10KAnsar-Ud-Deen Society: $1KAnsar-Ud-Deen Society$1K

The largest 2024 recipient was NCNMO ($146K). Together the top 3 received $157K.

Organizations only. It also paid 3 grants to individuals ($4,715), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

12 grants across all recorded years

11<$50K$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 11 grants of 12 (92%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
NCNMO Washington, DCCharitable$146,000
Acaosa Matteson, ILCharitable$10,000
3 grants to individuals Recipients not named —$4,715
Ansar-Ud-Deen Society Riverdale, MDCharitable$1,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
$0$100K$200K$300K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$80,254$2,154$1,029
Revenue$240,000$5,000$5,000
Expenses$161,900$3,875$23,971
Qualifying Distributions$161,715$3,875$20,000
Distributable Amount$536$98$498

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Isiaq Family Foundation is led by Kafayat Isiaq, Executive Director on every filing since 2020; none of the 3 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Kafayat Isiaq

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Aminah Isiaq

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Kola Isiaq

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Isiaq Family Foundation

How much does Isiaq Family Foundation give each year?

Isiaq Family Foundation gave $162K across 6 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

What is Isiaq Family Foundation's typical grant size?

Isiaq Family Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $2,108, and its average grant was $26,953, across 6 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Isiaq Family Foundation give grants?

Isiaq Family Foundation gives mostly in District of Columbia: 90% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Illinois (6%).

Does Isiaq Family Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on Isiaq Family Foundation's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charitable" (3 grants).

Who are Isiaq Family Foundation's largest grantees?

Isiaq Family Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include NCNMO ($146,000), Acaosa ($10,000) and Ansar-Ud-Deen Society ($1,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 3 grants to individuals ($4,715), which are not listed by name. Together they received 97% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Isiaq Family Foundation?

Isiaq Family Foundation reported $80K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $162K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $536 (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Isiaq Family Foundation?

Isiaq Family Foundation is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Davidsonville, MD. It holds $80K in total assets as of 2024.

What is Isiaq Family Foundation's EIN?

Isiaq Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 84-4008596. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Isiaq Family Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Isiaq Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Maryland

Annie E Casey Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.3B

Grants

1,462

Total Given

$93.1M

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg

Owings Mills, MD

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation funds direct services, programs, general operations, and capital projects in housing, health, jobs, education, and aging for low-income and vulnerable people. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000; its Small Grants Program offers up to $50,000 over two years, with funding focused on Baltimore, Hawaiʻi, Israel, and Northeastern Pennsylvania. It awards grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.8B

Grants

872

Total Given

$127.8M

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds education, research, clinical practice, and related programs, with many large awards listed as sub-awards; its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000. Grants went mainly to recipients in California and Maryland, among other states, but no geographic restriction or policy on unsolicited requests is stated.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

The Keith Campbell Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Keith Campbell Foundation funds environmental work and more equitable, livable communities, including watershed advocacy, agriculture, drinking water, and water management, with a focus on California and the Chesapeake region and select counties in Maryland and Pennsylvania. Its 2024 grants ranged from $40 to $1.5 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests through two grant cycles each year, though prior grantees cannot apply through that process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$420.2M

Grants

688

Total Given

$27.9M

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related community and patient-support programs, primarily through opportunities for academic and industry investigators. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,800 to $12.9 million, with a median grant of about $150,000; the profile does not specify a geographic limit or whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$5.0B

Grants

624

Total Given

$189.6M

Baltimore Community Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

Baltimore Community Foundation funds stronger schools and neighborhoods, including kindergarten readiness, student mental health, school climate, neighborhood improvement, and community development, primarily in Baltimore City and Baltimore County. In 2024 it made 604 grants totaling $29.3 million, with a median grant of about $19,800. It accepts applications for certain programs through its online portal.

Assets

$314.3M

Grants

604

Total Given

$29.3M

Nora Roberts Foundation

Glenn Dale, MD

The Nora Roberts Foundation prioritizes literacy and also funds the arts, children, social justice, and the environment, supporting eligible public-serving nonprofits and programs across the United States, with priority for specified nearby counties and Washington, DC. Typical grants are about $5,000 for local groups and $3,000 for non-local groups; it recommends first-time applicants request $3,000–$5,000. Its 2024 filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations, though its website describes an application process.

Assets

$118.6M

Grants

466

Total Given

$7.5M

Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore

Baltimore, MD

Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore supports charitable, educational, religious, health, cultural, humanitarian, and social-service needs of the Jewish community locally, nationally, in Israel, and worldwide. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,020 to $15,250,570, with a median of $18,750. The information describes grant recommendations by current fundholders but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$446.7M

Grants

515

Total Given

$53.0M

Enterprise Community Partners Inc

Columbia, MD

Enterprise Community Partners funds affordable housing and community development, including housing access and resilience, partner capacity, resident services, and community infrastructure, nationwide. Its 2025 grants had a median of $45,000, though awards ranged from $5,500 to $13.6 million.

Community Improvement & Capacity Building

Assets

$941.1M

Grants

347

Total Given

$61.8M

The Abell Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

The Abell Foundation funds nonprofits, government agencies, and fiscally sponsored projects addressing Baltimore City needs, including education, health, workforce development, community development, criminal justice, the environment, and the arts. Its 2024 grants ranged from $188 to $300,000, with a median of $20,000. It accepts unsolicited requests: applications of $10,000 or less are reviewed on a rolling basis, while larger requests are considered at five annual Board meetings.

Assets

$296.4M

Grants

391

Total Given

$13.4M

The Jewish Federation of Greater Washington Inc

North Bethesda, MD

The Jewish Federation of Greater Washington funds Jewish organizations and programs focused on community connection, learning, inclusion, family engagement, and support for people in need, primarily in DC, Suburban Maryland, and Northern Virginia, with some national and international giving. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,001 to $3.3 million, with a median of $20,000. It invites proposals when specific funding opportunities are open; none are currently listed.

Assets

$388.5M

Grants

360

Total Given

$34.1M

Allegis Group Foundation Inc

Hanover, MD

The Allegis Group Foundation supports education, youth life skills, workforce and career development, employment access for underserved adults, veterans and people with disabilities, and employee-linked volunteerism. In 2025 it made 269 grants, with a median award of $2,500 and amounts ranging from $50 to $1,111,750; the largest shares went to organizations in Virginia, Maryland, Georgia, New York, and Washington, DC. It accepts applications by letter and has no stated deadline.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.4M

Grants

269

Total Given

$4.5M

More Funders in Maryland

Isiaq Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?