International Association of Firefighter Local 36
The association represents apporximately 1700 persons before their employer to protect their welfare and rights (including contract negotiations), educating their membership and promoting their general welfare.
Key facts about International Association of Firefighter Local 36
In short: International Association of Firefighter Local 36 reported $18K in grants paid in 2024 (a total; its filing lists no individual grants). Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 52-0886831
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024
- Grants paid (2024)
- $18,000 — reported as a total on the IRS filing, without an itemized list
- Total assets
- $405,716
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$406K
-16.8% YoY
Grants Paid (reported total)
$18K
-96.8% YoY
Revenue
$2.2M
+2.4% YoY
Net Investment Income
$2K
+3.6% YoY
About International Association of Firefighter Local 36
Based on IRS filings
International Association of Firefighter Local 36 is a public charity, based in Washington, DC. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $406K in total assets. In 2024, it reported $18K in grants paid as a total on its IRS filing, without an itemized list. Net investment income was $2K.
Ready to take the next step with International Association of Firefighter Local 36?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2021) to $560K (2023). In 2024 it reported $18K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.
Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
1 grant across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $500K–1M range: 1 grant of 1 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
No grants recorded for 2024.
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $405,716 | $487,908 | $1,149,027 |
| Revenue | $2,150,004 | $2,100,413 | $1,924,283 |
| Expenses | $2,275,182 | $2,824,095 | $1,731,136 |
| Net Investment Income | $2,305 | $2,224 | $308 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 9, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS June 16, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS December 10, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 29, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 31, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
International Association of Firefighter Local 36 is led by David Hoagland See Sch O., President on every filing since 2023; 7 of 51 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
David Hoagland See Sch O.
President
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$54K (2023) → $52K (2024)
Joseph C. Papariello
Exec.vice President & Director
Vice President → Director, 2023
Director → Exec.vice President & Director, 2024
On filings since 2019
20 hrs/week
$37K (2024)
Levi Verner
Director
On filings since 2019
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Andrew Samson
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Antwon Robinson
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ben Dowden
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Benita Bowman
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Bowi Kuhn
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Brian Gray
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Brian Ladd
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Brian Woodburn
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Butch Oliff
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Chad Durbin
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Charles Sviland
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Chas Sannicolas
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Cody Grosch
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Craig Meinhardt
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Daniel Lottes
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Darrick Holland
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Davon McCrae
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Enrico Caruso
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Fred Gordon
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Gerald Bunn
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
James Candleana
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jesse Dubon
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jim Basher
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Josh Otterbacher
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kevin Dennis
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kyle Kendrick
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Nicholas Myatt
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Norman Brooks
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Rasheed Jones
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Raymond Brown
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Rian J. Welch
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Robert Foley
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Robert Myers
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Samuel Brogi
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Scott Leon
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sean Wilson
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Spiro Dimakas
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Steven Prather
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Suzie Solberg
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Thomas Dailey
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ugenia Bagley
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
William Kyrssing
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
William Steele
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Raymond C. Edwards
Vice President
Director → Vice President, 2021
On filings since 2019
20 hrs/week
$2K (2019) → $37K (2024)
Robert Heaney
Treasurer
On filings since 2021
20 hrs/week
$37K (2024)
Alethea V. Brooks
Sergeant at Arms
New on the 2024 filing
20 hrs/week
$37K (2024)
Eugene F. Russell-Roach
Secretrary
New on the 2024 filing
20 hrs/week
$37K (2024)
Joeseph Chisholm
Vice President
New on the 2024 filing
20 hrs/week
$37K (2024)
Former officers (30)
- Former: Alethea Brooks See Sch O. (2023) — Sergeant at Arms
- Former: Eugene Roach See Sch O. (2023) — Secretrary
- Former: Joeseph Chisholm See Sch O. (2023) — Vice President
- Former: Joseph Papariello See Sch O. (2023) — Executive Vice President
- Former: Raymond Edwards See Sch O. (2023) — Vice President
- Former: Robert Heaney See Sch O. (2023) — Treasurer
- Former: Brian Perry (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Charles Dunham (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Dabney S. Hudson (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Darrell B. Wilson (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: David Hoagland (2019–2022) — President
- Former: Francisco A. Iscoa (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: James McKnight (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: James P. Seavey Jr. (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: James Stevens (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: John A. Torres (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Joseph N. Chisholm Jr. (2019–2022) — Vice President
- Former: Kyle Schatzman (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Linwood Armstrong (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Michael Deems (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Richard S. Cunningham (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Spencer Stocking (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Tikeeia Mason (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Vinu Kurian (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Alfred Jeffrey IV (2021–2022) — Director
- Former: Eugene Roach (2021–2022) — Secretary
- Former: Charles S. Hottinger (2019–2021) — Former Director
- Former: Lawrence M. Sheldrake (2019–2021) — Former Treasurer
- Former: Alfred Jeffery IV (2019–2020) — Director
- Former: James E. Gordon (2019–2020) — Secretary
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $52K, to David Hoagland See Sch O (President (See Sch. O)). 7 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about International Association of Firefighter Local 36
How much does International Association of Firefighter Local 36 give each year?
International Association of Firefighter Local 36 reported $18K in grants paid in 2024 on its 2024 IRS Form 990, as a total without an itemized list of grants. In 2023 it gave $560K across 1 grant.
How large is International Association of Firefighter Local 36?
International Association of Firefighter Local 36 reported $406K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $2.2M.
Where does International Association of Firefighter Local 36 operate?
International Association of Firefighter Local 36 has awarded grants in District of Columbia.
What is International Association of Firefighter Local 36's EIN?
International Association of Firefighter Local 36's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-0886831. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching International Association of Firefighter Local 36 by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in International Association of Firefighter Local 36's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in District of Columbia
NCRC Community Development Fund Inc
Washington, DC
NCRC Community Development Fund supports affordable housing and homeownership, small businesses—especially minority-owned, women-owned, and low-income businesses—and certain nonprofit programs that provide capital or services to underserved communities. Its listed awards range from $5,000 to $50,000, though typical giving is not stated; it serves communities across the U.S., with some programs focused on Illinois. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$55.6M
Grants
2,666
Total Given
$149.3M
National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
Washington, DC
The National Fish and Wildlife Foundation funds competitive projects that conserve or restore fish, wildlife, plants, and habitats, including habitat restoration, species recovery, and coastal and watershed resilience; it does not fund advocacy or litigation. It works across all 50 states and U.S. territories, with a 2024 median grant of $81,584 and awards ranging from $5,169 to $29 million. Applications are made through specific grant programs and their requests for proposals; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.
Assets
$3.6B
Grants
1,286
Total Given
$464.4M
Greater Washington Community Foundation
Washington, DC
The Greater Washington Community Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives across areas including education, health, human services, arts, economic development, and workforce development, with a focus on equity and economic justice. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $9.1 million, with a median of $20,000; it centers its work on DC, Montgomery and Prince George’s counties, and Northern Virginia. It accepts applications through scheduled competitive grant rounds and some solicited, invite-only opportunities; donor-recommended grants are not open to applicants.
Assets
$518.3M
Grants
1,417
Total Given
$116.9M
Corporation for Public Broadcasting
Washington, DC
The Corporation for Public Broadcasting supported public radio and television stations, programming, infrastructure, and related services across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median of $22,300, though awards ranged widely; CPB’s 2025 filing was marked as its final return, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
—
Grants
555
Total Given
$175.8M
AARP
Washington, DC
AARP funds organizations working on aging-related issues, including technology access, caregiving, legal services, research, and community programs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,020 to $7.4 million, with a median of $15,000; reported grant dollars were concentrated in New York, Washington, DC, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether AARP accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$13.1B
Grants
688
Total Given
$35.8M
City First Enterprises Inc
Washington, DC
City First Enterprises supports affordable housing, small businesses, nonprofits, commercial real estate, clean energy, and homeownership through lending and some grant programs, primarily in the Washington, DC, Maryland, and Virginia region. Its typical grant size is not specified; one DC-administered program offers eligible businesses up to $500,000 in down-payment assistance. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$86.3M
Grants
2
Total Given
$769K
Frontstream Global Fund
Washington, DC
FrontStream Global Fund distributes donations raised through workplace giving, corporate philanthropy, and other fundraising activities to donor-designated IRS-recognized 501(c)(3) charities across the United States. Its 2025 grants had a median of $13,714 and ranged from $5,003 to $358,589. It distributes funds according to donor recommendations; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the information provided.
Assets
$421K
Grants
556
Total Given
$13.4M
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
Washington, DC
PhRMA funds advocacy, public education, and health-related organizations and initiatives aligned with its biopharmaceutical policy goals; its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts varied widely. Grants went mainly to organizations in Washington, DC, Connecticut, California, Virginia, and New York. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$349.0M
Grants
461
Total Given
$41.4M
The Pew Charitable Trusts
Washington, DC
The Pew Charitable Trusts funds evidence-based work in public policy, research, health, communities, civic life, and conservation, with a particular commitment to Philadelphia and grants across the United States and internationally. Its 2025 median grant was $75,000, though awards ranged widely; applications are invited through specific opportunities, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$1.5B
Grants
535
Total Given
$140.6M
National Children's Alliance Inc
Washington, DC
National Children’s Alliance funds Children’s Advocacy Centers, multidisciplinary teams, and state chapters to build or expand services for children affected by abuse, including equipment and technology needs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,131 to $375,352, with a median of $34,579, and support organizations at the state and local levels across the United States. It solicits applications through RFPs and an online process; equipment and technology applications are accepted on a rolling basis while funding is available.
Assets
$17.2M
Grants
458
Total Given
$24.4M
The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz
Washington, DC
The Cafritz Foundation funds 501(c)(3) public charities serving the District of Columbia, Prince George’s or Montgomery Counties, Arlington or Fairfax Counties, or Alexandria or Falls Church, in arts and humanities, community services, education, environment, and health. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $1.2 million, with a median of $35,000, and it accepts unsolicited requests for general operating and project support; capital requests require an invitation.
Assets
$636.1M
Grants
451
Total Given
$23.7M
More Funders in District of Columbia
International Association of Firefighter Local 36 down — hundreds of funders to go?