Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc

Private foundation · Grantmaker Rutland, VT EIN: 26-1548756

Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc is a private foundation based in Rutland, Vermont. Its 2025 filing lists 11 charitable grants totaling $273,600 to organizations in Vermont, Massachusetts, and New York.

Key facts about Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc

In short: Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc gave $274K across 11 grants in 2025 (avg $25K), top state Massachusetts. 55% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
26-1548756
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$273,600
Grants made (2025)
11
Average grant
$24,873
Median grant
$10,000
New grantees (estimate)
55% first-time grantees (6 of 11, 2025)
Total assets
$4,507,235
Primary geography
Massachusetts (37% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$4.5M

+13.4% YoY

Annual Giving

$274K

+31.1% YoY

Grant Count

11

+57.1% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$25K

-16.5% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $207K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc open to new grantees?

55%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 6 of 11 grantees (55%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $23K; repeat grants $27K. How we count

Medians: $8K first-time, $15K repeat.

  • 45% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving fell 39% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 132% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The foundation’s filings do not state a mission. Its 2025 grants went to charitable organizations including libraries, arts organizations, and groups working in areas such as community services, health, and public information. Fractured Atlas describes its mission as making the journey from inspiration to practice more accessible and equitable for artists and creatives. Salem Art Works says it supports emerging and established artists in creating new and progressive works and promotes understanding and appreciation of contemporary art.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation gave 11 grants totaling $273,600. Grants ranged from $500 to $100,000, with a median of $10,000. Notable grants included $100,000 to SHARE RESOURCES INC, $75,000 to Fractured Atlas, $40,000 to Carving Studiio and Sculpture Cente, $20,000 to Bartlett Foundation, and $15,000 to Salem Art Works Inc.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The foundation’s 2025 grant dollars were distributed among recipients in Massachusetts (37%), New York (33%), and Vermont (31%).

Grant Distribution by State

6states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 11 itemized grants.

Cities

RutlandWellsWest RutlandSalemNew YorkBurlingtonHolyokeMontpelierPhiladelphiaWashingtonBarreFlorenceHancockIndianapolisPittsfieldShelburneWallingford

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K14 grants2019 13 grants2020 8 grants2021 9 grants2022 16 grants2023 7 grants2024 11 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $209K (2024) to $451K (2022). In 2025 it made 11 grants totaling $274K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Share Resources Inc: $100KShare Resources Inc$100KFractured Atlas: $75KFractured Atlas$75KCarving Studiio and Sculpture Cente: $40KCarving Studiio and SculptureCente$40KBartlett Foundation: $20KBartlett Foundation$20KSalem Art Works Inc: $15KSalem Art Works Inc$15KRutland Free Library: $10KRutland Free Library$10KWonderfeet: $5KWonderfeet$5KVT Digger: $5KVT Digger$5KWells Volunteer Fire Department: $2KWells Volunteer FireDepartment$2KLake Saint Catherine Association: $1KLake Saint CatherineAssociation$1K

The largest 2025 recipient was Share Resources Inc ($100K). Together the top 10 received $273K.

Grant Size Distribution

51 grants across all recorded years

38<$50K10$50–100K3$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 38 grants of 51 (75%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Share Resources Inc Holyoke, MACharitable$100,000
Fractured Atlas New York, NYCharitable$75,000
Carving Studiio and Sculpture Cente West Rutland, VTCharitable$40,000
Bartlett Foundation Hancock, VTCharitable$20,000
Salem Art Works Inc Salem, NYCharitable$15,000
Rutland Free Library Rutland, VTCharitable$10,000
Wonderfeet Rutland, VTCharitable$5,000
VT Digger Montpelier, VTCharitable$5,000
Wells Volunteer Fire Department Wells, VTCharitable$2,000
Lake Saint Catherine Association Wells, VTCharitable$1,100

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2025 $4,507,235 $346,099 $399,065 $273,600 (11)
2024 $3,973,113 $224,405 $329,501 $208,620 (7)
2023 $3,393,851 $540,449 $402,954 $397,359 (16)
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$250K$500K$750K$1M2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$4,507,235$3,973,113$3,393,851
Revenue$346,099$224,405$540,449
Expenses$399,065$329,501$402,954
Qualifying Distributions$273,600$208,620$397,359
Net Investment Income$345,099$274,289$789,046
Distributable Amount$206,559$190,031$174,778

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 12, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 22, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 16, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 15, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS June 4, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 10, 2025)
  7. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 10, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists William Carris as Executive Di, Barbara T Carris as Vice Preside, and Jennifer Carris Swetland as President.

Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc is led by Jennifer Carris Swetland, President since 2025 (on filings since 2019); 1 of 3 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Jennifer Carris Swetland

    President

    Board Member → President, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • William Carris

    Executive Di

    President & Treasurer → President, 2023

    President → Executive Di, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    $96K (2024) → $108K (2025)

  • Barbara T. Carris

    Vice President

    Vice President & Secretary → Vice President, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

William Carris — Executive Di: $108KWilliam CarrisExecutive Di$108K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $108K, to William Carris (Executive Di).

Contact

Mailing address: C/O William Carris, Rutland, VT 05702
Phone: (802) 773-9111

Frequently asked questions about Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc

How much does Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc give each year?

Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc gave $274K across 11 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $209K across 7 grants.

What is Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc's typical grant size?

Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc's median grant in 2025 was $10,000, and its average grant was $24,873, across 11 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc that year got $23K on average.

Where does Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc give grants?

Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc's top state is Massachusetts, with 37% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were New York (33%) and Vermont (31%). The most frequent recipient cities were Rutland, VT (2 grants) and Wells, VT (2 grants).

Does Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 11 grants with a stated purpose on Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charitable" (11 grants).

Who are Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc's largest grantees?

Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Share Resources Inc ($100,000), Fractured Atlas ($75,000) and Carving Studiio and Sculpture Cente ($40,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 79% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc?

Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc reported $4.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $274K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $207K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc fund?

The foundation’s filings do not state a mission. Its 2025 grants went to charitable organizations including libraries, arts organizations, and groups working in areas such as community services, health, and public information. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc's EIN?

Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 26-1548756. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Does Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

MKM Foundation

Wilmington, DE

MKM Foundation’s 2024 filing reports one $2 million grant for general support to a Chicago recipient, with all grant dollars going to Illinois that year. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected charitable organizations.

Assets

$23.2M

Grants

1

Total Given

$2.0M

The Triskeles Foundation

Glenmoore, PA

The Triskeles Foundation supported education, equity and environmental health, housing, arts, and social movements, with 2020 grants ranging from $32,400 to $380,000 and averaging about $24,700. Its grantees were in several states, including Pennsylvania, California, Florida, and New York. The foundation ceased operations and dissolved in 2020; the profile does not state whether it accepted unsolicited requests.

Assets

—

Grants

1

Total Given

$14K

Vermont Humanities Council

Montpelier, VT

Vermont Humanities Council funds humanities-focused community and curriculum projects, public programs, and literacy initiatives, primarily for Vermont audiences. Its grants include Project Grants up to $5,000, Rapid Response Grants up to $1,000, and Partnership Grants up to $30,000 over three years; it accepts applications from eligible organizations and groups with a nonprofit fiscal agent.

Assets

$3.2M

Grants

19

Total Given

$165K

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce development, local economic development and recovery, disaster resilience, conservation, and economic opportunity in communities across North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. It reports more than $30 million in annual charitable grants; awards vary widely, with a 2024 median of $25,000, and applications of $20,000 or less are accepted on a rolling basis. Applicants should contact their local Foundation representative before applying.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

Stockton Rush Bartol Foundation

Philadelphia, PA

The Stockton Rush Bartol Foundation funds accessible, inclusive arts education for youth, families, and communities, especially programs led by teaching artists and small, community-rooted arts organizations. It focuses on Philadelphia and typically gives about $1,000–$11,000 per grant, with a 2024 median of $6,000. Its 2023 filing says eligible organizations can apply online; applications are due May 1, and a site visit is required before applying for the organizational grant.

Assets

$6.3M

Grants

44

Total Given

$185K

Malcolm Gibbs Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The Malcolm Gibbs Foundation supports youth programs, education, reproductive health, civil rights, and the arts, with 2025 grants concentrated in New York, Massachusetts, Washington, DC, California, and Alabama. Its 83 grants ranged from $250 to $110,000, with a median of $5,000. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$16.9M

Grants

83

Total Given

$727K

Brooklyn Community Foundation

Brooklyn, NY

Brooklyn Org funds nonprofits working to advance racial justice and address poverty, inequality, and community needs, with a priority on BIPOC-led organizations in low-income Brooklyn communities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $20,000 to $100,000, with a median of $45,000; it focuses primarily on Brooklyn. Its General Operating Support program accepts applications at any time, though selected organizations are invited to submit a full proposal.

Assets

$142.0M

Grants

93

Total Given

$4.7M

The Summit Foundation Inc

Philadelphia, PA

The Summit Foundation Inc funds preselected charitable organizations, including work in reproductive rights, community support, environmental causes, and Jewish organizations. In 2025, grants ranged from $500 to $265,000, with a median of $3,026; funding was concentrated in Ohio, California, Georgia, New York, and Colorado. It does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$16.5M

Grants

104

Total Given

$1.4M

Mid Atlantic Arts Inc

Baltimore, MD

Mid Atlantic Arts funds arts organizations, presenters, artists, and community projects, including touring and presenting, fellowships and residencies, folk and traditional arts, and accessibility initiatives. Its 2025 grants had a median of $10,000 (ranging from $5,104 to $1 million); it primarily serves Delaware, D.C., Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Virginia, and West Virginia, with some programs open more broadly. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Arts, Culture & Humanities

Assets

$19.7M

Grants

129

Total Given

$3.4M

Solidaire Network Inc

Oakland, CA

Solidaire Network funds social justice movements working on racial, gender, climate and economic justice, including rapid-response protection and movement infrastructure. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,662 to $200,000, with a median of $50,000, and went to organizations across the U.S.; it says it is not accepting new grant applications, though its movement protection fund is described as open.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$17.5M

Grants

135

Total Given

$7.9M

Independence Public Media

Philadelphia, PA

INDEPENDENCE PUBLIC MEDIA OF funds community-owned media, storytelling, journalism, archives, movement-building, and equitable internet projects, especially those led by or serving communities affected by systemic oppression, in Greater Philadelphia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $375,000, with a median of $20,000. It accepts proposals through open calls and invited proposals; the Community Voices Open Call is scheduled to open August 18, 2026.

Arts, Culture & Humanities

Assets

$120.8M

Grants

176

Total Given

$6.2M

Berkshire Bank Foundation Inc

Pittsfield, MA

Berkshire Bank Foundation supports nonprofits working on small-business growth, financial inclusion, affordable housing, and additional needs including health, food access, youth, and the arts. Recent grants ranged from $50 to $33,333, with a median of $2,500; it serves communities in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont, though all 2024 grant dollars went to Massachusetts. It accepts written applications from eligible 501(c)(3) public charities, with quarterly deadlines on December 15, March 15, June 15, and September 15.

Assets

$17.1M

Grants

478

Total Given

$2.0M

More Funders in Vermont

Huntington Tracy Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?