Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Huntington, IN EIN: 35-1970706

Huntington Memorial Hospital, inc. Works to improve the health of our communities and provides quality health services to all who entrust their care to us.

Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc at a glance

In short: Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc gave $70K across 6 grants in 2024 (avg $12K), mostly in Indiana. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$70,235
+75.6% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
6
+100.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$11,706
-12.2% vs 2023
Median grant
$10,250
Total assets
$108,631,957
+11.4% vs 2023
Primary geography
Indiana (92% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 6 recipients in 2024

Parkview Health Foundation Inc: $22KParkview Health Foundation Inc$22KBoys and Girls Club of Huntington County Inc: $17KBoys and Girls Club ofHuntington County Inc$17KHuntington County Council on Aging Inc: $15KHuntington County Council onAging Inc$15KYouth Services Bureau of Huntington County Inc: $6KYouth Services Bureau ofHuntington County Inc$6KBlessings in a Backpack Inc: $6KBlessings in a Backpack Inc$6KParkview Huntington Family YMCA Inc: $6KParkview Huntington FamilyYMCA Inc$6K

The largest 2024 recipient was Parkview Health Foundation Inc ($22K). Together the top 6 received $70K.

Grant Size Distribution

33 grants across all recorded years

32<$50K$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 32 grants of 33 (97%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.

Cities

HuntingtonFort WayneLouisville

How Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−9%). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K$400K14 grants2019 13 grants2020 6 grants2021 5 grants2022 3 grants2023 6 grants2024

From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $40K (2023) to $338K (2019). In 2024 it made 6 grants totaling $70K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Parkview Health Foundation Inc Fort Wayne, INCommunity Health Improvement Initiatives and Program Funds$22,235
Boys and Girls Club of Huntington County Inc Huntington, INLife Skills Programs for All Young People$16,500
Huntington County Council on Aging Inc Huntington, INHuntington Area Transportion and Programming$14,500
Youth Services Bureau of Huntington County Inc Huntington, INOn Your Way up and Suicide Prevention Programs$6,000
Blessings in a Backpack Inc Louisville, KYResources to provide food for elementary school children who might otherwise go hungry$5,500
Parkview Huntington Family YMCA Inc Huntington, INPrograms that build healthy spirit, mind and body for all in Huntington county$5,500
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$108,631,957$84,461,351$71,575,310$70,2356$2,618,005
2023$97,545,671$78,385,905$70,384,410$40,0003$500,349
2022$84,698,817$68,713,910$65,276,713$56,0085$882,362
2021$89,904,381$74,113,504$60,653,250$77,0346$3,120,465
2020$75,329,589$72,020,084$63,541,313$331,40013$1,877,725
2019$66,868,332$74,698,268$64,183,901$338,37814$1,313,278

About Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc

Based on IRS filings

Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc is a public charity focused on Health, based in Huntington, IN. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $108.6M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 6 grants totaling $70K. Net investment income was $2.6M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc is led by Debra Potempa, Director & Market President on every filing since 2023; 15 of 22 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Debra Potempa

    Director & Market President

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Greg Johnson

    Director & Regional Market President

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Susan Zahn

    Director & Chair

    Director & Secretary → Director & Vice Chair, 2022

    Director & Vice Chair → Director & Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    $5K (2019) → $6K (2024)

  • Derek Dyer

    Director & Treasurer

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    $5K (2019) → $4K (2024)

  • Jennifer Newton

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    $4K (2019) → $4K (2024)

  • Matt Eckert

    Director

    Director & Secretary → Director & Vice Chair, 2021

    Director & Vice Chair → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    $5K (2019) → $5K (2024)

  • Steven Wynder

    Director & Ph Physician

    Former Officer & Ph Physician → Former Officer & Current Ph Physician, 2022

    Former Officer & Current Ph Physician → Director & Ph Physician, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    $13K (2019) → $0 (2024)

  • Barbara Drummond

    Director & Vice Chair

    Director → Director & Secretary, 2022

    Director & Secretary → Director & Vice Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $3K (2020) → $4K (2024)

  • Erich Eller

    Director & Secretary

    Director → Director & Secretary, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $3K (2020) → $5K (2024)

  • Allison Meyer

    Director & Ph Physician

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $12K (2023) → $0 (2024)

  • Robert Kemp

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $3K (2023) → $5K (2024)

  • Trent Wolfe

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $4K (2023) → $5K (2024)

  • Bryan Hall

    Hmhos Pharmacy Manager

    Hmhos Manager Pharmacy → Hmhos Pharmacy Manager, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $155K (2019) → $234K (2024)

  • Cynthia Marshall

    Hmhos Or Manager

    Hmhos Manager Or → Hmhos Or Manager - Committee Hosp, 2022

    Hmhos Or Manager - Committee Hosp → Hmhos Or Manager, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $110K (2019) → $157K (2024)

  • Douglas Selig

    Hmhos Vice President Patient Care Svcs

    Director & Hmhos President → Director, Partial Yr & Current Hmhos Vice President, 2023

    Director, Partial Yr & Current Hmhos Vice President → Hmhos Vice President Patient Care Svcs, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $218K (2019) → $353K (2024)

  • Juli Johnson

    Former Officer, Current Ph Cn & Pse

    Director-Partial Yr & Ph Cne → Former Officer & Current Ph Cne, 2022

    Former Officer & Current Ph Cne → Former Officer, Current Ph Cn & Pse, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    $259K (2019) → $0 (2024)

  • Steven Homrich

    Hmhos Pharmacist

    On filings since 2019

    31 hrs/week

    $116K (2019) → $130K (2024)

  • Todd Sider

    Hmhos Associate CMO

    Hmhos CMO Community Hospitals → Hmhos CMO Community Hospital, 2022

    Hmhos CMO Community Hospital → Hmhos Associate CMO, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    22 hrs/week

    $147K (2020) → $106K (2024)

  • Alison Pershing

    Former Key Employee & Current Wbhos Or Manager

    Hmhos Vice President Pat Care Svcs → Hmhos Vice President Patient Care Svcs, 2022

    Hmhos Vice President Patient Care Svcs → Former Key Employee & Current Wbhos Or Manager, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    $84K (2021) → $147K (2024)

  • Abbey Spice

    Hmhos Nursing Svcs Manager

    New on the 2024 filing

    27 hrs/week

    $110K (2024)

  • Jeanne' Wickens

    Ph Chief Financial Officer & Prtl Yr

    Ph Chief Financial Officer → Ph Chief Financial Officer & Prtl Yr, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stanton Risser

    Ph Associate Chief Financial Officer

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (16)
  • Former: Edward Strubel III (2019–2023) — Hmhos Pharmacist
  • Former: Michael Packnett (2019–2023) — Former Officer & Retired Ph CEO
  • Former: Jeremiah Ashe (2021–2023) — Director & Hmhos Contracted Physician
  • Former: Tami Smith (2023) — Hmhos Registered Nurse
  • Former: John Nelson (2019–2022) — Director & Chair
  • Former: Julie Utendorf (2019–2022) — Director & Ph Physician
  • Former: Chad Daugherty (2021–2022) — Director-Partial Yr
  • Former: Colleen Rupp (2022) — Hmhos House Supervisor
  • Former: Michael Oberg (2022) — Hmhos Paremedic - Committee Hosp
  • Former: Amy Maher (2021) — Hmhos Rn
  • Former: Angela Hormann (2019–2020) — Hmhos Manager Reh
  • Former: Charles Daugherty (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Rowena Yu-Mendador (2019–2020) — Director & Ph Physician
  • Former: Scott Amburgey (2019–2020) — Former Hc Employee & Current
  • Former: Darlene Stanley (2019) — Director & Vice Chair
  • Former: Paula Opheim (2019) — Hmhos Pharmacist

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Douglas Selig — HMHOS VP Patient Care Svcs: $353KDouglas SeligHMHOS VP Patient Care Svcs$353KBryan Hall — HMHOS Pharmacy MGR: $234KBryan HallHMHOS Pharmacy MGR$234KCynthia Marshall — HMHOS or MGR: $157KCynthia MarshallHMHOS or MGR$157KAlison Pershing — Former Key Employee/Current WBHOS or MGR: $147KAlison PershingFormer Key Employee/Current…$147KSteven Homrich — HMHOS Pharmacist: $130KSteven HomrichHMHOS Pharmacist$130KAbbey Spice — HMHOS Nursing Svcs MGR: $110KAbbey SpiceHMHOS Nursing Svcs MGR$110KTodd Sider — HMHOS Associate CMO: $106KTodd SiderHMHOS Associate CMO$106KSusan Zahn — Director/Chair: $6KSusan ZahnDirector/Chair$6KMatt Eckert — Director: $5KMatt EckertDirector$5KErich Eller — Director/Secretary: $5KErich EllerDirector/Secretary$5KRobert Kemp — Director: $5KRobert KempDirector$5KTrent Wolfe — Director: $5KTrent WolfeDirector$5KDerek Dyer — Director/Treasurer: $4KDerek DyerDirector/Treasurer$4KJennifer Newton — Director: $4KJennifer NewtonDirector$4KBarbara Drummond — Director/Vice Chair: $4KBarbara DrummondDirector/Vice Chair$4K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $353K, to Douglas Selig (HMHOS VP Patient Care Svcs). 15 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc

How much does Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc give each year?

Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc gave $70K across 6 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $40K across 3 grants.

What is Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc's typical grant size?

Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc's median grant in 2024 was $10,250, and its average grant was $11,706, across 6 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.

Where does Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc give grants?

Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc gives mostly in Indiana: 92% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest state was Kentucky (8%). The most frequent recipient cities were Huntington, IN (4 grants).

Does Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.

Who are Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc's largest grantees?

Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc's largest 2024 grantees include Parkview Health Foundation Inc ($22,235), Boys and Girls Club of Huntington County Inc ($16,500) and Huntington County Council on Aging Inc ($14,500), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 76% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc?

Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc reported $108.6M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $84.5M.

What is Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc?

Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc is a public charity focused on Health, based in Huntington, IN. It holds $108.6M in total assets as of 2024.

What is Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc's EIN?

Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 35-1970706. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS March 12, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 7, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 2, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 9, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 5, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 6, 2025)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Huntington County Community Fdtn Inc

Huntington, IN

The Huntington County Community Foundation funds charitable projects and programs in areas such as education, arts and culture, community development, health, and human services that benefit Huntington County, Indiana. In 2024, its 28 grants ranged from $5,191 to $531,627, with a median of $14,218. It offers several grant programs with different application routes; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$28.9M

Grants

28

Total Given

$1.3M

Mueller-Scherger Foundation

Pittsburgh, PA

Assets

$2.3M

Grants

7

Total Given

$118K

AWS Foundation Inc

Fort Wayne, IN

AWS Foundation funds nonprofit programs, capital needs, and operations that support people with intellectual, developmental, and physical disabilities, primarily in Northeast Indiana. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $500,000, with a median of $45,600. The available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Human Services

Assets

$130.1M

Grants

90

Total Given

$6.5M

Parkview Huntington Hospital Foundation Inc

Huntington, IN

To serve as the primary fundraising entity for huntington memorial hospital, inc. Funds are used for the continued improvement of the hospital's facilities, equipment, programs & services in accordance with the needs of the community where the hospital is located.

Assets

—

Grants

6

Total Given

$111K

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce and local economic development, disaster resilience, conservation, clean water, and economic opportunity in North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000; applications for grants of $20,000 or less are accepted year-round, after applicants discuss proposals with a state representative.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

Parkview Health System Inc

Fort Wayne, IN

Parkview Health System funds collaborative programs that address community health needs, including health-care access, mental health, substance use, maternal and child health, and other social drivers of health, with priority for underserved populations in northeast Indiana and northwest Ohio. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,100 to $2.8 million, with a median of $40,000; its mini-grants offer up to $5,000. It accepts unsolicited applications through online forms, with mini-grant requests accepted year-round and reviewed quarterly; program-support applications have a stated application window.

Assets

$2.5B

Grants

23

Total Given

$5.6M

More similar funders

More Funders in Indiana

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Huntington Memorial Hospital Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?