Hubbard Family Foundation Inc

Private foundation · Grantmaker Indianapolis, IN EIN: 45-4264552

Hubbard Family Foundation Inc is a private foundation based in Indianapolis, Indiana. Its 2025 grants supported organizations including universities, cultural and arts organizations, a church, and other nonprofits.

Hubbard Family Foundation Inc at a glance

In short: Hubbard Family Foundation Inc gave $1.2M across 40 grants in 2025 (avg $31K), mostly in Indiana. 48% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$1,233,000
+45.5% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
40
+17.6% vs 2024
Average grant
$30,825
+23.7% vs 2024
Median grant
$8,000
Total assets
$14,083,608
+11.5% vs 2024
New grantees (estimate)
48% first-time grantees (19 of 40, 2025)
Primary geography
Indiana (58% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

How to apply to Hubbard Family Foundation Inc

Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to Apply

The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.

Contact

Mailing address: 101 W Ohio St 1350, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 684-3150

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who Hubbard Family Foundation Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Depauw University: $400KDepauw University$400KButler University: $150KButler University$150KVail Valley Foundation: $100KVail Valley Foundation$100KAlliance for School Choiceafc Growth Fund: $100KAlliance for School ChoiceafcGrowth Fund$100KFoundation for Excellence in Education Inc (Excelined): $50KFoundation for Excellence inEducation Inc (Excelined)$50KHoover Institution at Stanford Univ: $50KHoover Institution at StanfordUniv$50KIndianapolis Motor Speedway Foundation Inc (IMS Museum): $50KIndianapolis Motor SpeedwayFoundation Inc (IMS Museum)$50KSt Luke's United Methodist Church: $50KSt Luke's United MethodistChurch$50KAmerican Enterprise Institute: $50KAmerican Enterprise Institute$50KVail Health Foundation: $25KVail Health Foundation$25K

The largest 2025 recipient was Depauw University ($400K). Together the top 10 received $1.0M.

Grant Size Distribution

151 grants across all recorded years

130<$50K11$50–100K8$100–250K2$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 130 grants of 151 (86%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, Indiana organizations received 58% of grant dollars, followed by organizations in Colorado (12%), Texas (8%), Florida (5%), and Washington, DC (5%).

Grant Distribution by State

16states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 40 itemized grants.

Cities

IndianapolisDenverBendAuroraEnglewoodWashingtonSan DiegoTallahasseeVailBaltimoreBeverly HillsBrunswickHartfordMiddleburyNew YorkStanfordAvonGreencastleLa JollaArvada

Is Hubbard Family Foundation Inc open to new grantees?

48%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 19 of 40 grantees (48%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $28K; repeat grants $33K. How we count

Medians: $10K first-time, $5K repeat.

  • 53% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving grew 340% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 188% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M20 grants2020 21 grants2021 21 grants2022 35 grants2023 34 grants2024 40 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $120K (2020) to $1.2M (2025). In 2025 it made 40 grants totaling $1.2M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Depauw University Greencastle, INKathryn Fortune Hubbard Endowed Faculty Chair$400,000
Butler University Indianapolis, INFounder's college, men's basketball program, tennis court facility project$150,000
Vail Valley Foundation Avon, COFord Theatre Capital Campaign$100,000
Alliance for School Choiceafc Growth Fund Dallas, TXUnrestricted$100,000
Foundation for Excellence in Education Inc (Excelined) Tallahassee, FLGeneral Operations$50,000
Hoover Institution at Stanford Univ Stanford, CAHoover Education Success Initiative Fund$50,000
Indianapolis Motor Speedway Foundation Inc (IMS Museum) Indianapolis, INIMS Capital Campaign$50,000
St Luke's United Methodist Church Indianapolis, INGeneral Operations$50,000
American Enterprise Institute Washington, DCUnrestricted$50,000
Vail Health Foundation Vail, COGeneral Operations$25,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Hubbard Family Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$14,083,608$521,225$1,284,748$1,233,00040$1,239,750$476,227$659,308
2024$12,630,493$437,918$908,500$847,50034$854,421$367,677$612,846
2023$11,783,924$1,621,074$600,525$546,00035$552,750$959,772$501,653
2022$9,895,016$2,524,988$364,156$280,00021$285,772$399,706$507,650
2021$9,459,161$4,717,527$167,053$145,50021$150,531$2,747,554$364,652
2020$6,202,862$1,078,087$187,806$120,00020—$76,566$230,204

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Hubbard Family Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $659K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No foundation mission statement is provided. Its grants show support for higher education, arts and cultural organizations, and other charitable organizations. For example, DePauw University describes its mission as developing leaders through a commitment to the liberal arts, while the Vail Valley Foundation says it works to enhance quality of life in the Vail Valley through arts, athletics, and education. These are the grantees’ descriptions of their own missions.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation made 40 grants totaling $1,233,000. Grant amounts ranged from $1,000 to $400,000, with a median of $8,000. Notable grants included $400,000 to DePauw University for the Kathryn Fortune Hubbard Endowed Faculty Chair; $150,000 to Butler University for Founder’s College, its men’s basketball program, and a tennis court facility project; and $100,000 to the Vail Valley Foundation for the Ford Theatre capital campaign. Other grants included $100,000 to Alliance for School ChoiceAFC Growth Fund for unrestricted purposes and $50,000 each to Foundation for Excellence in Education Inc. for general operations and to the Hoover Institution at Stanford University for its Hoover Education Success Initiative Fund.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Allan B Hubbard as chairman; Kathryn F Hubbard as secretary, treasurer, and director; and Kathryn H Key, Sara E Hubbard, and William F Hubbard as directors.

Hubbard Family Foundation Inc is led by Allan B. Hubbard, Chairman on every filing since 2020; none of the 5 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Allan B. Hubbard

    Chairman

    On filings since 2020

    0.8 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kathryn F. Hubbard

    Secretary, Treasurer & Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.8 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kathryn H. Key

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sara E. Hubbard

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • William F. Hubbard

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Hubbard Family Foundation Inc

How much does Hubbard Family Foundation Inc give each year?

Hubbard Family Foundation Inc gave $1.2M across 40 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $848K across 34 grants.

What is Hubbard Family Foundation Inc's typical grant size?

Hubbard Family Foundation Inc's median grant in 2025 was $8,000, and its average grant was $30,825, across 40 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Hubbard Family Foundation Inc that year got $28K on average.

Where does Hubbard Family Foundation Inc give grants?

Hubbard Family Foundation Inc gives mostly in Indiana: 58% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Colorado (12%) and Texas (8%). The most frequent recipient cities were Indianapolis, IN (9 grants), Denver, CO (6 grants), Bend, OR (5 grants) and Washington, DC (2 grants).

Does Hubbard Family Foundation Inc give general operating support?

Yes: 83% of Hubbard Family Foundation Inc's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (33 of 40) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Hubbard Family Foundation Inc's largest grantees?

Hubbard Family Foundation Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Depauw University ($400,000), Butler University ($150,000) and Vail Valley Foundation ($100,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 53% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Hubbard Family Foundation Inc?

Hubbard Family Foundation Inc reported $14.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.2M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $659K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Hubbard Family Foundation Inc fund?

No foundation mission statement is provided. Its grants show support for higher education, arts and cultural organizations, and other charitable organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Hubbard Family Foundation Inc?

The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Hubbard Family Foundation Inc's EIN?

Hubbard Family Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 45-4264552. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Does Hubbard Family Foundation Inc accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 12, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 7, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS October 28, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 1, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 3, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 5, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Hubbard Family Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Gannett Foundation Inc

New York, NY

Gannett Foundation’s 2025 grants supported a range of organizations, with listed awards generally between $1,500 and $2,500, though the available figures do not establish a typical grant size or geographic focus. The foundation has wound down: its 2026 filing reports no grants or assets, and no current application process or acceptance of unsolicited requests is stated.

Assets

—

Grants

32

Total Given

$65K

McKesson Foundation Inc

Dallas, TX

The McKesson Foundation funds cancer support and care, healthcare workforce pathways, and emergency response, with grants mainly supporting organizations in the United States and Canada. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, though amounts ranged from $10,000 to about $2.47 million. Its filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests, while its application page describes an online application process with stated submission windows.

Assets

$1.6M

Grants

76

Total Given

$16.6M

United Way Worldwide

Alexandria, VA

United Way Worldwide funds community programs focused on youth opportunity, health, financial security, education, and disaster relief, with 2024 grants made across multiple U.S. states and internationally. Its 209 reported grants ranged from $5,100 to $736,333, with a median of $22,675. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$68.0M

Grants

209

Total Given

$11.4M

The Janus Henderson Foundation

Denver, CO

Assets

$3.7M

Grants

336

Total Given

$1.4M

Mile High United Way Inc

Denver, CO

Mile High United Way funds nonprofit and community work focused on children’s development and education, basic needs, and economic opportunity, primarily in seven Metro Denver counties. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,022 to $2,001,772, with a median of $15,026. It offered a competitive Strategic Investment Grants application for the 2025–2027 cycle, but that cycle’s deadline has passed; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$80.2M

Grants

314

Total Given

$24.3M

McKinstry Charitable Foundation

Seattle, WA

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$17K

Grants

322

Total Given

$1.5M

More similar funders

More Funders in Indiana

Cite this profile

Grantable. (2026). Hubbard Family Foundation Inc funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 18, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/hubbard-family-foundation-inc-morg_0a64864cdd204479b962bd0e751c6ca2

BibTeX
@misc{grantable_454264552_2026,
  author       = {{Grantable}},
  title        = {{Hubbard Family Foundation Inc funder profile}},
  howpublished = {GrantGraph},
  year         = {2026},
  url          = {https://grantable.co/funders/hubbard-family-foundation-inc-morg_0a64864cdd204479b962bd0e751c6ca2},
  note         = {Accessed 2026-10-18. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
}

The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.

Figures come from Hubbard Family Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Hubbard Family Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?