Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc logo

Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Indianapolis, IN EIN: 41-6022987 Website

The organization operates exclusively for the purpose of education and scientific research knowledge dissemination to the nursing profession.

Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc at a glance

In short: Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc gave $30K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $15K), mostly in California. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$30,000
-24.9% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
2
-33.3% vs 2024
Average grant
$15,000
+12.6% vs 2024
Median grant
$15,000
Total assets
$54,539,677
+0.9% vs 2024
Primary geography
California (67% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 2 recipients in 2025

Myalgic Encephalomyelitis Action Network: $20KMyalgic EncephalomyelitisAction Network$20KUniversity of North Carolina at Charlotte: $10KUniversity of North Carolinaat Charlotte$10K

The largest 2025 recipient was Myalgic Encephalomyelitis Action Network ($20K). Together the top 2 received $30K.

Grant Size Distribution

22 grants across all recorded years

22<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 22 grants of 22 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

13states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.

Cities

ChicagoKansas CityAlingtonAliso ViejoAustinBirminghamBostonCharlotteDenverDuarteJohnson CityLas VegaLos AngelesMinneapolisOrlandoPittsburghSan AntonioSanta Monica

How Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc gives

  • Giving fell 69% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100K6 grants2021 9 grants2022 2 grants2023 3 grants2024 2 grants2025

From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $20K (2023) to $96K (2022). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $30K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Myalgic Encephalomyelitis Action Network Santa Monica, CASigma/ American nurses credentialing center evidence-based practice (EBP) implementation research grant$20,000
University of North Carolina at Charlotte Charlotte, NCSigma/hospice and palliative nurses foundation end-of-life nursing care research grant$10,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$54,539,677$13,883,209$13,355,151$30,0002$2,779,524
2024$54,069,490$14,290,741$14,527,412$39,9613$1,704,226
2023$54,661,262$12,148,095$13,764,330$19,9622$-952,323
2022$54,290,357$14,050,020$13,738,599$95,6549$1,660,897
2021$59,738,882$12,929,804$11,232,121$57,4966$1,088,170

About Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc

Based on IRS filings

Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Indianapolis, IN. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $54.5M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $30K. Net investment income was $2.8M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc is led by Lucas M. Davis, Chief Executive Officer on the 2025 filing; 10 of 21 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Lucas M. Davis

    Chief Executive Officer

    New on the 2025 filing

    20 hrs/week

    $114K (2025)

  • Sandra Bibb

    President

    President Elect → President, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    20 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jennifer Graber

    Rccc Chair

    On filings since 2024

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Julie Adams

    Director Marketing & Communications

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $125K (2021) → $160K (2025)

  • Luann Lambuth

    Director, Awards & Grants

    On filings since 2021

    12 hrs/week

    $183K (2021) → $233K (2025)

  • Matthew Howard

    Director of Scholarship Re

    Director of Scholarship Re → Director of Scholarship Res, 2024

    Director of Scholarship Res → Director of Scholarship Re, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $119K (2021) → $150K (2025)

  • Mirjam P. Lynam

    Director & Constituent Serv

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $132K (2021) → $167K (2025)

  • Timothy Ringlespaugh

    It Director

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $149K (2021) → $167K (2025)

  • Laura Thurman

    Director of Hr & Risk Mg

    Director of Hr & Risk Management → Director of Hr & Risk Mg, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $129K (2024) → $145K (2025)

  • Dustin Sullivan

    Director of Publications

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $131K (2025)

  • Debra Anderson

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Elizabeth Weathers

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Diana Baptiste

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jennifer Saylor

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Thomas Kearns

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Melissa Bolles

    Chief Financial Officer

    On filings since 2023

    20 hrs/week

    $108K (2023) → $185K (2025)

  • Sarah Gray

    Chief Nursing Officer

    Director of Marketplace & Edu Resources → Director of Marketplace An, 2024

    Director of Marketplace An → Chief Nursing Officer, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $143K (2023) → $172K (2025)

  • Gloria Chan

    Vice President

    On filings since 2022

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nancy Rollins Gantz

    Secretary

    On filings since 2022

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Elizabeth Westcott

    President Elect

    On filings since 2024

    12 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kathleen Bradley

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2024

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (13)
  • Former: Elizabeth Madigan (2021–2024) — Prior Chief Executive Officer
  • Former: Ken Dion (2021–2024) — Outgoing President
  • Former: Carole Liske (2021–2023) — Rccc Chair
  • Former: Cynthia Diefenbeck (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Janice Agazio (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Jose Alejandro (2021–2023) — Treasurer
  • Former: Sara Horton-Deutsch (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Joetta Dalton (2021–2022) — Chief Financial Officer
  • Former: Joanne Clavelle (2021) — Director
  • Former: Juana Mercedes Gutierrez Valverde (2021) — Director
  • Former: Karen Gorton (2021) — Vice President
  • Former: Richard Ricciardi (2021) — President
  • Former: Safiya George Dalmida (2021) — Secretary

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Luann Lambuth — Director, Awards and Grant: $233KLuann LambuthDirector, Awards and Grant$233KMelissa Bolles — Chief Financial Officer: $185KMelissa BollesChief Financial Officer$185KSarah Gray — Chief Nursing Officer: $172KSarah GrayChief Nursing Officer$172KMirjam P Lynam — Director, Constituent Serv: $167KMirjam P LynamDirector, Constituent Serv$167KTimothy Ringlespaugh — It Director: $167KTimothy RinglespaughIt Director$167KJulie Adams — Director Marketing & Commu: $160KJulie AdamsDirector Marketing & Commu$160KMatthew Howard — Director of Scholarship Re: $150KMatthew HowardDirector of Scholarship Re$150KLaura Thurman — Director of HR and Risk MG: $145KLaura ThurmanDirector of HR and Risk MG$145KDustin Sullivan — Director of Publications: $131KDustin SullivanDirector of Publications$131KLucas M Davis — Chief Executive Officer: $114KLucas M DavisChief Executive Officer$114K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $233K, to Luann Lambuth (Director, Awards and Grant). 10 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc

How much does Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc give each year?

Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc gave $30K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $40K across 3 grants.

How large is Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc?

Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc reported $54.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $13.9M.

What is Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc?

Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Indianapolis, IN. It holds $54.5M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc operate?

Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc has awarded grants in Alabama, California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, Nevada, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas.

What is Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc's EIN?

Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-6022987. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 9, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 7, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 12, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS November 7, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

The Ovarian Cancer Research Fund Inc

New York, NY

Ovarian Cancer Research Alliance funds research on ovarian and related gynecologic cancers, including early detection, treatment, recurrence, and health equity, through grants to eligible nonprofit research institutions. Its 2024 grants ranged from $75,000 to $900,000, with a median of about $325,000; LOIs are open to researchers worldwide, though funding is limited to specified nonprofit institutions. It accepts requests through grant programs with an LOI and peer-review process, with full proposals by invitation.

Assets

$38.1M

Grants

14

Total Given

$5.7M

Conquer Cancer Foundation of the American Society of Clinical Oncology

Alexandria, VA

Conquer Cancer funds cancer research, professional education, and quality-care initiatives, with awards to universities, hospitals, and cancer centers in the U.S. and through international programs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $50,000 to $7.68 million, with a median of $100,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Medical Research

Assets

$120.7M

Grants

39

Total Given

$17.4M

Brightfocus Foundation

Clarksburg, MD

BrightFocus Foundation funds basic, translational, and clinical research on Alzheimer’s disease, macular degeneration, and glaucoma, including innovative and early-stage projects, worldwide. Its 2025 grants ranged from $15,240 to $409,500, with a median of $200,000. It accepts applications through online program opportunities and Requests for Proposals.

Assets

$65.1M

Grants

57

Total Given

$13.3M

Alzheimer's Disease & Related Disorders Association Inc

Chicago, IL

The Alzheimer’s Association funds Alzheimer’s and dementia research, including basic, clinical, social and behavioral studies, and supports care, prevention, early detection, awareness, and advocacy. In 2025, its 79 grants ranged from $10,000 to $13.3 million, with a median of $270,750; research opportunities are open to U.S. and international researchers.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$523.7M

Grants

79

Total Given

$73.3M

The Susan G Komen Breast Cancer Foundation Inc

Dallas, TX

The Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation funds breast cancer research and programs supporting education, patient navigation, financial assistance, and access to care. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,681 to $945,992, with a median of $158,660, and it funds work in the United States and 24 other countries. Research applications require an LOI, and full applications are by invitation; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$178.9M

Grants

61

Total Given

$16.1M

The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Philadelphia, PA

CHOP primarily funds pediatric research at universities, hospitals, and research organizations, and also supports employee-led health projects in communities served by CHOP and its Care Network in Pennsylvania and New Jersey. In 2025, it awarded 138 grants totaling about $50.3 million; the median grant was about $115,000, with awards ranging from about $5,800 to $14 million. The profile does not state whether CHOP accepts unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$9.1B

Grants

138

Total Given

$50.3M

More similar funders

More Funders in Indiana

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Honor Society of Nursing Sigma Theta Tau International Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?