Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment
Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment is a private foundation, based in Kansas City, MO. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $452K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 9 grants totaling $18K. Net investment income was $27K.
Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment at a glance
In short: Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment gave $18K across 9 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Kansas. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $18,400
- -4.7% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 9
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $2,044
- -4.7% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $1,000
- Total assets
- $452,199
- +0.5% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Kansas (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 7 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Presbyterian Manors ($4K). Together the top 7 received $16K.
Organizations only. It also paid 2 individual scholarships ($2,000), which are not listed by name.
Grant Size Distribution
43 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 43 grants of 43 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.
Cities
How Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−8%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 93% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $18K (2025) to $21K (2021). In 2025 it made 9 grants totaling $18K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Presbyterian Manors Wichita, KS | General Operating | $4,100 |
| First Presbyterian Church Salina, KS | General Operating | $4,100 |
| Logan County Hospital Oakley, KS | General Operating | $3,200 |
| Wichita State University Wichita, KS | Scholarship Recipient | $2,000 |
| University of Kansas Lawrence, KS | Scholarship | $1,000 |
| Kansas Wesleyan University Salina, KS | Scholarship Recipient | $1,000 |
| Bethany College Lindsborg, KS | Scholarship Recipient | $1,000 |
| 2 individual scholarships Recipients not named | — | $2,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $452,199 | $31,206 | $28,802 | $18,400 | 9 | $23,123 | $27,069 | $24,942 |
| 2024 | $449,804 | $63,448 | $27,780 | $19,300 | 9 | $23,823 | $59,413 | $23,200 |
| 2023 | $413,937 | $8,013 | $28,940 | $20,989 | 7 | $25,140 | $7,873 | $22,671 |
| 2022 | $433,770 | $25,555 | $29,479 | $20,100 | 8 | $24,688 | $21,394 | $25,227 |
| 2021 | $438,220 | $39,295 | $30,060 | $21,300 | 10 | — | $35,213 | $25,764 |
| 2020 | $429,353 | $32,633 | $30,114 | $21,002 | 6 | — | $28,716 | $24,595 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment reported a distributable amount of $25K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment's only listed officer is UMB Bank N A, Trust Officer on every filing since 2020 (compensated).
Officers on the 2025 filing
UMB Bank N A
Trust Officer
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
$7K (2020) → $7K (2025)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $7K, to UMB Bank N a (Trust Officer).
Frequently asked questions about Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment
How much does Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment give each year?
Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment gave $18K across 9 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $19K across 9 grants.
What is Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment's typical grant size?
Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $2,044, across 9 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment give grants?
Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment gives mostly in Kansas: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Wichita, KS (2 grants) and Salina, KS (2 grants).
Does Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment give general operating support?
Yes: 33% of Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (3 of 9) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship Recipient" (5 grants).
Who are Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment's largest grantees?
Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment's largest 2025 grantees include Presbyterian Manors ($4,100), First Presbyterian Church ($4,100) and Logan County Hospital ($3,200), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 2 individual scholarships ($2,000), which are not listed by name. Together they received 62% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment?
Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment reported $452K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $23K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $25K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment's EIN?
Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 48-6318731. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Margaret Nelson Castle College Scholarship Trust
Smith Center, KS
Assets
$171K
Grants
10
Total Given
$12K
The Pete Henry Foundation
Colby, KS
The Pete Henry Foundation primarily funds academic and technical-training scholarships, along with some community and educational projects, mostly in Kansas, especially northwest Kansas. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $101,173, with a median of $4,950; application materials are available on its website, and the listed deadline is March 1.
Assets
$6.7M
Grants
47
Total Given
$525K
Kenneth Cook Trust
Eagan, MN
The Kenneth Cook Trust supports general operating costs and scholarships for care, charitable, and educational organizations. In 2025, it made 13 grants totaling $69,477, with a median award of $1,219 and grants ranging from $611 to $28,947; recipients were in Kansas, Illinois, Virginia, and Missouri. The trust does not limit giving to preselected organizations; contact Robert Dunehoo for application materials.
Assets
$1.3M
Grants
13
Total Given
$69K
Paul Brassfield Foundation Inc
Hill City, KS
The Paul Brassfield Foundation funds scholarships for graduating high school students from Graham, Rooks, Norton, and Ellis counties in Kansas who plan to attend college, graduate school, or technical school. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,000 to $7,300; students apply through the scholarship committee at an eligible school, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$4.5M
Grants
11
Total Given
$75K
David and Mary P Rush Educational Trust
Hays, KS
The trust funds scholarships and other educational support, primarily in Kansas; scholarship applicants must be full-time students who graduated from a Graham County, Kansas, high school and meet its stated eligibility criteria. In 2026, it awarded grants of $4,000–$72,000, with a median of $5,000. It provides an application form and a May 1 deadline, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$3.1M
Grants
15
Total Given
$257K
Farmers Alliance Companies Charitable Foundation
McPherson, KS
The foundation supports education and charitable organizations, with 86% of its 2025 grant dollars going to Kansas recipients. Its 17 grants totaled $84,000, with a median grant of $1,500 and awards ranging from $1,500 to $37,000. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.2M
Grants
17
Total Given
$84K
More similar funders
More Funders in Missouri
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Hilda Smith Permanent Scholarship Endowment down — hundreds of funders to go?