Heineman Foundation for Research Educational logo

Heineman Foundation for Research Educational

Private foundation · Grantmaker New York, NY EIN: 13-6082899 Website
Children and youthAdolescentsWomen and girlsArts and culturePerforming arts

The Heineman Foundation for Research Educational is a private foundation based in New York, NY. It makes contributions to preselected charitable organizations and, in 2024, supported organizations working in areas including physical sciences, food access, environmental matters, and artistic expression.

Heineman Foundation for Research Educational at a glance

In short: Heineman Foundation for Research Educational gave $957K across 19 grants in 2024 (avg $50K), top state New York. 26% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2024)
$957,375
-13.0% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
19
+18.8% vs 2023
Average grant
$50,388
-26.8% vs 2023
Median grant
$40,000
Total assets
$17,587,159
+22.2% vs 2023
New grantees (estimate)
26% first-time grantees (5 of 19, 2024; small sample)
Primary geography
New York (29% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

How to apply to Heineman Foundation for Research Educational

Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to Apply

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.

Contact

Mailing address: C/O Bbh Co 140 Broadway Pb-Tax S, New York, NY 10005
Phone: (212) 493-8000
Website: https://heinemanfoundation.org

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who Heineman Foundation for Research Educational funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Heineman-Robicsek Medical Outreach Inc: $144KHeineman-Robicsek MedicalOutreach Inc$144KAmerican Institute of Physics: $118KAmerican Institute of Physics$118KFoodlink Inc: $90KFoodlink Inc$90KClark Fork Coalition: $60KClark Fork Coalition$60KGo Run Missoula: $50KGo Run Missoula$50KPsychotropic Deprescribing Council: $50KPsychotropic DeprescribingCouncil$50KHeineman-Robicsek Foundation: $50KHeineman-Robicsek Foundation$50KNext Edge Arts Inc: $50KNext Edge Arts Inc$50KSocial and Environmental Entrepreneurs: $50KSocial and EnvironmentalEntrepreneurs$50KKBFUS Friends of the Verbier Festival: $40KKBFUS Friends of the VerbierFestival$40K

The largest 2024 recipient was Heineman-Robicsek Medical Outreach Inc ($144K). Together the top 10 received $702K.

Grant Size Distribution

81 grants across all recorded years

37<$50K25$50–100K19$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 37 grants of 81 (46%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2024, grant dollars were distributed among recipients in multiple states. The largest shares went to organizations in New York (29%), North Carolina (20%), Montana (16%), Maryland (14%), and California (10%).

Grant Distribution by State

12states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 19 itemized grants.

Cities

New YorkMissoulaCharlotteCollege ParkBronxChicagoRaleighRochesterVieraAustinCalabasasMiamiWashingtonBurlingtonEast BostonHoneoye FallsLeadvilleSan FranciscoW Dallas

Is Heineman Foundation for Research Educational open to new grantees?

26%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 5 of 19 grantees (26%) were first-time recipients. With only 19 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 5 points. First grants averaged $33K; repeat grants $57K. How we count

Medians: $40K first-time, $45K repeat.

  • 68% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (+2%). Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 113% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M13 grants2020 16 grants2021 17 grants2022 16 grants2023 19 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $774K (2020) to $1.1M (2022). In 2024 it made 19 grants totaling $957K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Heineman-Robicsek Medical Outreach Inc Charlotte, NCGeneral$144,000
American Institute of Physics College Park, MDScientific$118,375
Foodlink Inc Rochester, NYGeneral$90,000
Clark Fork Coalition Missoula, MTGeneral$60,000
Go Run Missoula Missoula, MTGeneral Operating$50,000
Psychotropic Deprescribing Council San Francisco, CAGeneral Operating$50,000
Heineman-Robicsek Foundation Charlotte, NCGeneral Operating$50,000
Next Edge Arts Inc New York, NYGeneral$50,000
Social and Environmental Entrepreneurs Calabasas, CAGeneral Program Operations$50,000
KBFUS Friends of the Verbier Festival New York, NYGeneral Purpose$40,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Heineman Foundation for Research Educational?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2024$17,587,159$4,402,309$1,207,831$957,37519$1,069,515$4,266,663$945,317
2023$14,392,692$500,909$1,288,516$1,100,89016$1,200,832$422,113$921,984
2022$15,180,302$2,265,899$1,368,459$1,140,00017$1,180,385$2,155,308$906,020
2021$14,282,866$1,588,931$1,093,915$937,54216$949,970$1,446,786$1,089,905
2020$13,787,853$454,180$926,597$774,34413—$338,658$928,993

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Heineman Foundation for Research Educational reported a distributable amount of $945K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The available information does not state a mission for the foundation. Its 2024 grants included support for a range of organizations. For example, the American Institute of Physics describes its work as advancing the physical sciences; Foodlink says it uses food to end hunger and build healthier communities; and the Clark Fork Coalition’s mission statement refers readers to its Schedule O for a full description.

Other 2024 recipients included Next Edge Arts, which says it advances contemporary concert music and other artistic expression, and Social and Environmental Entrepreneurs, which says it empowers and facilitates projects addressing social and environmental matters. These are the recipient organizations’ descriptions of their own work.

Grantmaking

In 2024, the foundation made 19 grants totaling $957,375. Grant amounts ranged from $10,000 to $144,000, with a median grant of $40,000. The largest awards included $144,000 to Heineman-Robicsek Medical Outreach Inc. for general purposes, $118,375 to the American Institute of Physics for scientific purposes, $90,000 to Foodlink for general purposes, and $60,000 to the Clark Fork Coalition for general purposes.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists the following officers and directors:

  • Directors: Maria Bergendahl, Marilyn Heineman, June C. Heineman-Morris, Anders Bergendahl, Michael Schur, M.D., Molly Cummings, Ann R. Podlipny, and Stephan Paternot
  • Treasurer: Laurie Heineman
  • Secretary: Crista C. Bergendahl

Heineman Foundation for Research Educational is led by Alexander Bergendahl, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 21 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Alexander Bergendahl

    President

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anders Bergendahl

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ann R. Podlipny

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bettina Enriquez Bergendahl

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • C. David Bergendahl

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • June C. Heineman-Morris

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Madeleine Paternot

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Maria Bergendahl

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marilyn Heineman

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Schur M. D.

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Molly Cummings

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stephan Paternot

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Daniel Schur

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Hunter Morris

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Husbands

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kaylum Smith

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    No compensation reported

  • Lida Running Crane

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Magda Podlipny

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anna Paternot

    Vice President

    Treasurer → Vice President, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Crista C. Bergendahl

    Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Laurie Heineman

    Treasurer

    Vice President → Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (4)
  • Former: Agnes Gautier Esq. (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Jame A. Rose (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Joan Heineman-Schur (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Simon M. D. Rose (2020–2021) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Heineman Foundation for Research Educational

How much does Heineman Foundation for Research Educational give each year?

Heineman Foundation for Research Educational gave $957K across 19 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $1.1M across 16 grants.

What is Heineman Foundation for Research Educational's typical grant size?

Heineman Foundation for Research Educational's median grant in 2024 was $40,000, and its average grant was $50,388, across 19 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Heineman Foundation for Research Educational that year got $33K on average.

Where does Heineman Foundation for Research Educational give grants?

Heineman Foundation for Research Educational's top state is New York, with 29% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were North Carolina (20%) and Montana (16%). The most frequent recipient cities were Missoula, MT (4 grants), New York, NY (4 grants), Charlotte, NC (2 grants) and College Park, MD (2 grants).

Does Heineman Foundation for Research Educational give general operating support?

Yes: 95% of Heineman Foundation for Research Educational's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (18 of 19) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Heineman Foundation for Research Educational's largest grantees?

Heineman Foundation for Research Educational's largest 2024 grantees include Heineman-Robicsek Medical Outreach Inc ($144,000), American Institute of Physics ($118,375) and Foodlink Inc ($90,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 37% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Heineman Foundation for Research Educational?

Heineman Foundation for Research Educational reported $17.6M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.1M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $945K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Heineman Foundation for Research Educational fund?

The available information does not state a mission for the foundation. Its 2024 grants included support for a range of organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Heineman Foundation for Research Educational?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Heineman Foundation for Research Educational's EIN?

Heineman Foundation for Research Educational's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 13-6082899. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Does Heineman Foundation for Research Educational accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Heineman Foundation for Research Educational's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in New York

Gannett Foundation Inc

New York, NY

Gannett Foundation’s 2025 grants supported a range of organizations, with listed awards generally between $1,500 and $2,500, though the available figures do not establish a typical grant size or geographic focus. The foundation has wound down: its 2026 filing reports no grants or assets, and no current application process or acceptance of unsolicited requests is stated.

Assets

—

Grants

32

Total Given

$65K

The Ford Foundation

New York, NY

The Ford Foundation funds organizations and initiatives working to reduce inequality and advance social justice, including work on civic engagement, civil rights, climate justice, disability rights, and technology and society. In 2024, its grants ranged from $45 to $15 million, with a median of $100,000, supporting work in the U.S. and internationally. It says most grants are identified by the foundation and it does not accept unsolicited proposals by mail, email, or phone; limited opportunities may be offered separately.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$17.5B

Grants

4,007

Total Given

$844.7M

The New York Community Trust

New York, NY

The New York Community Trust funds nonprofit programs in areas such as arts, education, health, the environment, workforce development, and youth development, including projects that improve services, build organizational capacity, or advance policy and systems change. Its competitive grants mainly serve New York City, Long Island, and Westchester, with some national and international environmental funding; the 2024 median grant was $20,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$3.5B

Grants

2,748

Total Given

$193.8M

The Simons Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The Simons Foundation funds research and public engagement in mathematics and the physical, life, autism, and neuroscience sciences. In 2024, it made 1,727 grants, with a median award of $72,000 and amounts ranging from $1,480 to $20 million, supporting organizations in the U.S. and internationally. It states that it funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.5B

Grants

1,727

Total Given

$272.0M

Local Initiatives Support Corporation

New York, NY

LISC funds affordable housing, community development, small businesses, and related efforts that strengthen inclusive communities, providing grants as well as loans, equity, and technical assistance across the country. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $40,000, though amounts varied widely. Application access is program-specific: for its Rhode Island child care facilities planning grants, applicants are instructed to consult program staff before submitting a request.

Assets

$1.6B

Grants

1,119

Total Given

$102.8M

Wellspring Philanthropic Fund Inc

New York, NY

Wellspring Philanthropic Fund supports human rights and social and economic justice, including work on climate, the environment, civic engagement, and Jewish causes, in the United States and internationally. Its 2024 grants had a median of $200,000, with amounts ranging from $500 to $9.75 million. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests; it plans to end grantmaking by the end of 2028.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$134.4M

Grants

1,101

Total Given

$326.0M

More Funders in New York

Cite this profile

Grantable. (2026). Heineman Foundation for Research Educational funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 11, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/heineman-foundation-for-research-educational-morg_1c7b3d6439c849abbd28a63025104684

BibTeX
@misc{grantable_136082899_2026,
  author       = {{Grantable}},
  title        = {{Heineman Foundation for Research Educational funder profile}},
  howpublished = {GrantGraph},
  year         = {2026},
  url          = {https://grantable.co/funders/heineman-foundation-for-research-educational-morg_1c7b3d6439c849abbd28a63025104684},
  note         = {Accessed 2026-10-11. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
}

The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.

Figures come from Heineman Foundation for Research Educational's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Heineman Foundation for Research Educational down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?