Hayden-Harman Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Alamance, NC EIN: 56-2180022

Hayden-Harman Foundation is a private foundation, based in Alamance, NC. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $13.1M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $2.5M. Net investment income was $1.1M.

Hayden-Harman Foundation at a glance

In short: Hayden-Harman Foundation gave $2.5M across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $2.5M), mostly in North Carolina. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$2,511,780
-9.8% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$2,511,780
-9.8% vs 2024
Median grant
$2,511,780
Total assets
$13,110,093
-8.6% vs 2024
Primary geography
North Carolina (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Hayden-Harman Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K1$500K–1M3$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $1–5M range: 3 grants of 5 (60%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

Cities

BurlingtonAlamance

How Hayden-Harman Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 94% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 466% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$1M$2M$3M1 grant2019 1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $85K (2020) to $2.8M (2024). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $2.5M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
See Attached Schedule Alamance, NCvarious -see attached$2,511,780
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Hayden-Harman Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$13,110,093$1,583,282$3,219,306$2,511,7801$2,935,887$1,130,351$629,635
2024$14,345,878$5,960,557$3,200,796$2,783,8381$2,976,266$1,078,481$672,096
2023$11,072,016$716,728$1,110,834$730,6931$934,425$476,728$503,075
2022$10,469,487$1,607,250$1,742,996$1,296,2801$1,552,486$337,250$514,347
2021$12,332,675$886,433$622,666$238,6301$447,354$580,905$562,071
2020$11,313,683$-177,217$643,986$84,8801—$256,248$486,443
2019$10,223,185$603,699$771,959$380,1271—$603,699$349,927

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Hayden-Harman Foundation reported a distributable amount of $630K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Hayden-Harman Foundation's 2025 filing lists 6 officers; all 6 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Patrick H Harman

    Presidentexecutive Director

    Vice President → President, 2024

    President → Presidentexecutive Director, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $94K (2019) → $109K (2025)

  • David L Harman

    Vice President

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    $7K (2019) → $7K (2025)

  • J Patrick Harman

    Vice Presidenttreasurer

    President → Vice Presidenttreasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    20 hrs/week

    $14K (2019) → $12K (2025)

  • Susan S Harman

    Secretary

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    $7K (2019) → $7K (2025)

  • Alison Harman

    Assistant Secretary

    New on the 2025 filing

    5 hrs/week

    $7K (2025)

  • Meredith Canipe

    Assistant Treasurer

    New on the 2025 filing

    20 hrs/week

    $40K (2025)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Patrick H Harman — PresidentExecutive Director: $109KPatrick H HarmanPresidentExecutive Director$109KMeredith Canipe — Asst Treasurer: $40KMeredith CanipeAsst Treasurer$40KJ Patrick Harman — Vice PresidentTreasurer: $12KJ Patrick HarmanVice PresidentTreasurer$12KDavid L Harman — Vice President: $7KDavid L HarmanVice President$7KSusan S Harman — Secretary: $7KSusan S HarmanSecretary$7KAlison Harman — Asst Secretary: $7KAlison HarmanAsst Secretary$7K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $109K, to Patrick H Harman (PresidentExecutive Director). 6 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Hayden-Harman Foundation

How much does Hayden-Harman Foundation give each year?

Hayden-Harman Foundation gave $2.5M across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $2.8M across 1 grant.

How large is Hayden-Harman Foundation?

Hayden-Harman Foundation reported $13.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $2.9M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $630K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

Where does Hayden-Harman Foundation operate?

Hayden-Harman Foundation has awarded grants in North Carolina.

What is Hayden-Harman Foundation's EIN?

Hayden-Harman Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 56-2180022. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 8, 2025)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 27, 2026)
  3. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 8, 2020)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 11, 2021)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 9, 2022)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 11, 2023)
  7. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 9, 2024)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Hayden-Harman Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in North Carolina

State Employees Credit Union Foundation

Raleigh, NC

The foundation funds capital projects, regional or statewide programs, and organizational capacity building that strengthen North Carolina communities; it favors projects with broad or replicable impact and does not fund operating budgets or shortfalls. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,250 to $1 million, with a median of $2,500. Applications are accepted at any time and typically reviewed semiannually.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$61.0M

Grants

1,806

Total Given

$17.4M

Foundation for the Carolinas

Charlotte, NC

Foundation For The Carolinas funds education and youth development, environmental and wildlife work, health and human services, and animal welfare, with a reported median grant of $25,000 in 2024. Its competitive programs focus on Charlotte-Mecklenburg, the Carolinas, and specific local communities, while donor-advised funds may support eligible nonprofits more broadly; it accepts applications for some competitive grants, but most grants are recommended by fund advisors and have no application process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.9B

Grants

1,605

Total Given

$609.1M

Dogwood Health Trust

Asheville, NC

Dogwood Health Trust funds work in housing, education, economic opportunity, and health and wellness that improves wellbeing in Western North Carolina, including its 18 counties and the Qualla Boundary. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $21 million, with a median of $37,500; application requirements vary by funding opportunity.

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

835

Total Given

$148.2M

The Winston-Salem Foundation

Winston-Salem, NC

The Winston-Salem Foundation funds charitable organizations serving Forsyth County, North Carolina, across areas including education, housing, economic opportunity, civic engagement, arts, health, and human services. Its 2024 median grant was $25,000; specific programs offer grants ranging from small grants of up to $2,000 to capital grants of up to $100,000. The profile describes application-based programs but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$630.1M

Grants

823

Total Given

$90.4M

The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina Inc

Asheville, NC

The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina funds nonprofits and public agencies serving 18 Western North Carolina counties, including the Qualla Boundary, in areas such as cultural resources, education, human services, and natural resources. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though award sizes varied widely; some local opportunities cap grants at $5,000 or $7,500. It provides an online application system, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$481.0M

Grants

793

Total Given

$59.4M

North Carolina Community Foundation Inc

Raleigh, NC

The North Carolina Community Foundation supports charitable organizations and community programs in areas such as human services, education, youth development, health, food and nutrition, and the arts. Its typical grant was $15,000 in 2025; it serves communities statewide, with an emphasis on rural North Carolina, and accepts applications through specific affiliate, giving-circle, and other grant programs.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$569.1M

Grants

732

Total Given

$30.6M

More similar funders

More Funders in North Carolina

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Hayden-Harman Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Hayden-Harman Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?