HARRY F DUNCAN FOUNDATION INC is a private foundation based in Towson, Maryland. Its 2025 grants supported organizations and projects in areas including community facilities, disaster relief, health, food assistance, the arts, and scholarships.
Key facts about Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc
In short: Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc gave $256K across 27 grants in 2025 (avg $9K), mostly in Missouri. 20% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 52-6054187
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $256,000
- Grants made (2025)
- 27
- Average grant
- $9,481
- Median grant
- $5,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 20% first-time grantees (4 of 20, 2025)
- Total assets
- $3,901,333
- Primary geography
- Missouri (71% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$3.9M
+6.9% YoY
Annual Giving
$256K
-39.2% YoY
Grant Count
27
-15.6% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$9K
-27.9% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $453K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc open to new grantees?
20%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 4 of 20 grantees (20%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $38K; repeat grants $5K. How we count
Medians: $23K first-time, $4K repeat.
- 80% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving fell 29% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 60% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The available information does not state a mission for the foundation. Its 2025 grants show support for a range of charitable organizations and purposes. For example, Andrew County Ministries describes its work as coordinating church-led assistance for families in Andrew County, Missouri, including food, utility, and family assistance. Miami Lighthouse for the Blind says it provides education, training, research, and vision-related services to promote independence for people who are blind or visually impaired. Chapman Partnership describes its mission as helping residents overcome homelessness and achieve long-term self-sufficiency.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation made 27 grants totaling $256,000. Individual grants ranged from $2,000 to $100,000, with a median of $5,000. The largest awards included $100,000 to Community Foundation of NW Missouri for an aquatic center, $25,000 to Andrew County Rotary Club for a performance pavilion in Duncan Park, and $20,000 each to United Ways of Texas for Texas flood relief and Andrew County Museum for operations. Other listed grants included $10,000 to Sinai Hospital of Baltimore for the Dr. Reichmister Endowment and $10,000 to the American Red Cross for a hurricane relief fund.
Ready to take the next step with Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, Missouri received 71% of grant dollars, followed by Texas (8%), Maryland (6%), Florida (5%), and Iowa (4%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 27 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $256K (2025) to $488K (2023). In 2025 it made 27 grants totaling $256K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Community Foundation of NW Missouri ($100K). Together the top 10 received $205K.
Grant Size Distribution
168 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 163 grants of 168 (97%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Community Foundation of NW Missouri St Joseph, MO | Aquatic Center | $100,000 |
| Andrew County Rotary Club Savannah, MO | Performance Pavillion in Duncan Park | $25,000 |
| United Ways of Texas Austin, TX | Texas Flood Relief | $20,000 |
| Andrew County Museum Savannah, MO | Operations | $20,000 |
| Sinai Hospital of Baltimore Baltimore, MD | Dr. Reichmister Endowment | $10,000 |
| American Red Cross Boone, IA | Hurricane Relief Fund | $10,000 |
| Andrew County Ministries Savannah, MO | Food Relief for Children | $5,000 |
| Doctors Without Borders USA Hagerstown, MD | Operations | $5,000 |
| Miami Lighthouse for the Blind Miami, FL | Operations | $5,000 |
| Seraphic Fire & Firebird Orchestra Coral Gables, FL | Youth Initiative | $5,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Grant total | Number of grants |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $256,000 | 27 |
| 2024 | $421,000 | 32 |
| 2023 | $488,000 | 32 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $3,901,333 | $3,649,937 | $3,661,422 |
| Revenue | $582,073 | $481,308 | $449,247 |
| Expenses | $330,677 | $492,793 | $542,548 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $272,500 | $437,500 | $503,000 |
| Net Investment Income | $530,933 | $434,285 | $410,699 |
| Distributable Amount | $453,340 | $420,928 | $360,971 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS April 15, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 8, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 7, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS February 12, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS February 10, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 20, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The officers and directors listed on the 2025 filing are Anneliese H Duncan, President/Treasurer; Louis F Friedman, Vice President; and Phyllis C Friedman, Secretary.
Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc is led by Anneliese H. Duncan, President & Treasurer on every filing since 2020; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Anneliese H. Duncan
President & Treasurer
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Louis F. Friedman
Vice President
On filings since 2020
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Phyllis C. Friedman
Secretary
On filings since 2020
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 409 Washington Avenue Suite 900, Towson, MD 21204
Phone: (410) 494-0100
Frequently asked questions about Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc
How much does Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc give each year?
Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc gave $256K across 27 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $421K across 32 grants.
What is Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc's typical grant size?
Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc's median grant in 2025 was $5,000, and its average grant was $9,481, across 27 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc that year got $38K on average.
Where does Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc give grants?
Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc gives mostly in Missouri: 71% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Texas (8%) and Maryland (6%). The most frequent recipient cities were Savannah, MO (5 grants), Columbia, MO (3 grants) and Miami, FL (2 grants).
Does Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 27 grants with a stated purpose on Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Duncan American Dream Scholarship" (11 grants) and "Operations" (7 grants).
Who are Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc's largest grantees?
Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Community Foundation of NW Missouri ($100,000), Andrew County Rotary Club ($25,000) and United Ways of Texas ($20,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 57% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc?
Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc reported $3.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $273K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $453K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc fund?
The available information does not state a mission for the foundation. Its 2025 grants show support for a range of charitable organizations and purposes. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc's EIN?
Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-6054187. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
$16.6M
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
Annie E Casey Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.3B
Grants
1,462
Total Given
$93.1M
The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg
Owings Mills, MD
The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation funds direct services, programs, general operations, and capital projects in housing, health, jobs, education, and aging for low-income and vulnerable people. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000; its Small Grants Program offers up to $50,000 over two years, with funding focused on Baltimore, Hawaiʻi, Israel, and Northeastern Pennsylvania. It awards grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.8B
Grants
872
Total Given
$127.8M
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
Johns Hopkins University funds education, research, clinical practice, and related programs, with many large awards listed as sub-awards; its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000. Grants went mainly to recipients in California and Maryland, among other states, but no geographic restriction or policy on unsolicited requests is stated.
Assets
$25.3B
Grants
813
Total Given
$594.1M
The Keith Campbell Foundation
Bethesda, MD
The Keith Campbell Foundation funds environmental work and more equitable, livable communities, including watershed advocacy, agriculture, drinking water, and water management, with a focus on California and the Chesapeake region and select counties in Maryland and Pennsylvania. Its 2024 grants ranged from $40 to $1.5 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests through two grant cycles each year, though prior grantees cannot apply through that process.
Assets
$420.2M
Grants
688
Total Given
$27.9M
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
Bethesda, MD
The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related community and patient-support programs, primarily through opportunities for academic and industry investigators. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,800 to $12.9 million, with a median grant of about $150,000; the profile does not specify a geographic limit or whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.0B
Grants
624
Total Given
$189.6M
Baltimore Community Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
Baltimore Community Foundation funds stronger schools and neighborhoods, including kindergarten readiness, student mental health, school climate, neighborhood improvement, and community development, primarily in Baltimore City and Baltimore County. In 2024 it made 604 grants totaling $29.3 million, with a median grant of about $19,800. It accepts applications for certain programs through its online portal.
Assets
$314.3M
Grants
604
Total Given
$29.3M
Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore
Baltimore, MD
Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore supports charitable, educational, religious, health, cultural, humanitarian, and social-service needs of the Jewish community locally, nationally, in Israel, and worldwide. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,020 to $15,250,570, with a median of $18,750. The information describes grant recommendations by current fundholders but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$446.7M
Grants
515
Total Given
$53.0M
Nora Roberts Foundation
Glenn Dale, MD
The Nora Roberts Foundation prioritizes literacy and also funds the arts, children, social justice, and the environment, supporting eligible public-serving nonprofits and programs across the United States, with priority for specified nearby counties and Washington, DC. Typical grants are about $5,000 for local groups and $3,000 for non-local groups; it recommends first-time applicants request $3,000–$5,000. Its 2024 filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations, though its website describes an application process.
Assets
$118.6M
Grants
466
Total Given
$7.5M
The Abell Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
The Abell Foundation funds nonprofits, government agencies, and fiscally sponsored projects addressing Baltimore City needs, including education, health, workforce development, community development, criminal justice, the environment, and the arts. Its 2024 grants ranged from $188 to $300,000, with a median of $20,000. It accepts unsolicited requests: applications of $10,000 or less are reviewed on a rolling basis, while larger requests are considered at five annual Board meetings.
Assets
$296.4M
Grants
391
Total Given
$13.4M
The Jewish Federation of Greater
North Bethesda, MD
The Jewish Federation of Greater Washington funds Jewish organizations and programs focused on community connection, learning, inclusion, family engagement, and support for people in need, primarily in DC, Suburban Maryland, and Northern Virginia, with some national and international giving. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,001 to $3.3 million, with a median of $20,000. It invites proposals when specific funding opportunities are open; none are currently listed.
Assets
$388.5M
Grants
360
Total Given
$34.1M
More Funders in Maryland
Harry F Duncan Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?