Hardiman Family Foundation Inc
Hardiman Family Foundation Inc is a private foundation based in Baltimore, Maryland. It makes grants to qualified exempt cultural, educational, and environmental organizations.
Key facts about Hardiman Family Foundation Inc
In short: Hardiman Family Foundation Inc gave $201K across 30 grants in 2025 (avg $7K), mostly in Maryland. 14% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 52-1755621
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $201,000
- Grants made (2025)
- 30
- Average grant
- $6,700
- Median grant
- $4,250
- New grantees (estimate)
- 14% first-time grantees (4 of 29, 2025)
- Total assets
- $4,010,095
- Primary geography
- Maryland (75% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$4.0M
+11.1% YoY
Annual Giving
$201K
+11.7% YoY
Grant Count
30
+3.4% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$7K
+7.9% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Hardiman Family Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $184K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Hardiman Family Foundation Inc open to new grantees?
14%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 4 of 29 grantees (14%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $5K; repeat grants $7K. How we count
Medians: $3K first-time, $5K repeat.
- 86% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 41% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 109% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation’s filing describes its direct charitable activity as making grants to qualified exempt cultural, educational, and environmental organizations. Its 2025 grantees illustrate these areas: the Baltimore Museum of Art says it connects art to Baltimore and Baltimore to the world, while the Sun Valley Center for the Arts says it enriches its community through arts and educational experiences. Educational grantees include Johns Hopkins University, whose stated mission includes education and research, and the Fund for Educational Excellence, which works to support effective and adequate education for children in Baltimore City public schools.
Other recipients include community foundations. The Baltimore Community Foundation says it works to improve quality of life in the Baltimore region through grantmaking and civic leadership; Spur Community Foundation says it seeks to inspire effective philanthropy for the Wood River Valley.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation made 30 grants totaling $201,000. Awards ranged from $1,250 to $25,000, with a median of $4,250. Giving totaled $180,000 across 29 grants in 2024 and $142,500 across 25 grants in 2023.
Among the largest 2025 grants were $25,000 each to the Baltimore Museum of Art and United Way of Central Maryland, both for annual funds. The Sun Valley Center for the Arts received $15,000 for its annual fund; an individual recipient Loyola Academy received $15,000 for a scholarship; and the Baltimore Community Foundation received $15,000 for its annual fund. Other notable awards included $10,000 each to the Chesapeake Bay Foundation and Chesapeake Bay Outward Bound, both for annual funds.
How to Apply
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.
Ready to take the next step with Hardiman Family Foundation Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 75% of grant dollars went to recipients in Maryland, 16% to Idaho, 4% to Tennessee, 2% to California, and 1% to North Carolina.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 30 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $128K (2020) to $201K (2025). In 2025 it made 30 grants totaling $201K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Baltimore Museum of Art ($25K). Together the top 10 received $130K.
Organizations only. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($15,000), which are not listed by name.
Grant Size Distribution
143 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 143 grants of 143 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Baltimore Museum of Art Baltimore, MD | Annual Fund | $25,000 |
| United Way of Central Maryland Baltimore, MD | Annual Fund | $25,000 |
| Sun Valley Center for the Arts Sun Valley, ID | Annual Fund | $15,000 |
| 1 individual scholarship Recipients not named | — | $15,000 |
| Baltimore Community Foundation Baltimore, MD | Annual Fund | $15,000 |
| Chespeake Bay Foundation Annapolis, MD | Annual Fund | $10,000 |
| Chesapeake Bay Outward Bound Baltimore, MD | Annual Fund | $10,000 |
| Christo Rey Jesuit High School Baltimore, MD | Annual Fund | $7,500 |
| Spur Community Foundation Ketchum, ID | Annual Fund | $7,500 |
| Roland Park Community Foundation Baltimore, MD | Annual Fund | $7,500 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Grant total | Number of grants |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $201,000 | 30 |
| 2024 | $180,000 | 29 |
| 2023 | $142,500 | 25 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $4,010,095 | $3,609,724 | $3,166,986 |
| Revenue | $828,468 | $605,116 | $270,378 |
| Expenses | $227,294 | $200,253 | $157,766 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $201,000 | $180,000 | $142,500 |
| Net Investment Income | $507,223 | $478,246 | $158,394 |
| Distributable Amount | $183,831 | $169,259 | $139,256 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS April 30, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 10, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 4, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 9, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 29, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 7, 2026)
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Katherine M. Hardiman as president, Joseph R. Hardiman as vice president, Katherine H. Peters as secretary, and Elizabeth G. Hardiman as treasurer.
Hardiman Family Foundation Inc is led by Katherine M. Hardiman, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Katherine M. Hardiman
President
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Elizabeth G. Hardiman
Treasurer
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joseph R. Hardiman
Vice President
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Katherine H. Peters
Secretary
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 2 Wyndhurst Avenue Apt 2, Baltimore, MD 21210
Phone: (410) 336-6414
Frequently asked questions about Hardiman Family Foundation Inc
How much does Hardiman Family Foundation Inc give each year?
Hardiman Family Foundation Inc gave $201K across 30 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $180K across 29 grants.
What is Hardiman Family Foundation Inc's typical grant size?
Hardiman Family Foundation Inc's median grant in 2025 was $4,250, and its average grant was $6,700, across 30 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Hardiman Family Foundation Inc that year got $5K on average.
Where does Hardiman Family Foundation Inc give grants?
Hardiman Family Foundation Inc gives mostly in Maryland: 75% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Idaho (16%). The most frequent recipient cities were Baltimore, MD (17 grants) and Ketchum, ID (3 grants).
Does Hardiman Family Foundation Inc give general operating support?
Yes: 97% of Hardiman Family Foundation Inc's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (29 of 30) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Hardiman Family Foundation Inc's largest grantees?
Hardiman Family Foundation Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Baltimore Museum of Art ($25,000), United Way of Central Maryland ($25,000) and Sun Valley Center for the Arts ($15,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($15,000), which are not listed by name. Together they received 32% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Hardiman Family Foundation Inc?
Hardiman Family Foundation Inc reported $4.0M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $201K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $184K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Hardiman Family Foundation Inc fund?
The foundation’s filing describes its direct charitable activity as making grants to qualified exempt cultural, educational, and environmental organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Hardiman Family Foundation Inc?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Hardiman Family Foundation Inc's EIN?
Hardiman Family Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-1755621. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Hardiman Family Foundation Inc accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Hardiman Family Foundation Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Hardiman Family Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Maryland
Baltimore Community Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
Baltimore Community Foundation supports schools, neighborhoods, and community projects, including work on kindergarten readiness, student well-being, neighborhood vitality, and arts and culture. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $19,800, with amounts varying widely, and its strategic school and neighborhood grants focus on Baltimore City and Baltimore County. It invites applications through its online portal for specified grant programs.
Assets
$314.3M
Grants
604
Total Given
$29.3M
The Ford Foundation
New York, NY
The Ford Foundation funds organizations and initiatives working to reduce inequality and advance social justice, including work on civic engagement, civil rights, climate justice, disability rights, and technology and society. In 2024, its grants ranged from $45 to $15 million, with a median of $100,000, supporting work in the U.S. and internationally. It says most grants are identified by the foundation and it does not accept unsolicited proposals by mail, email, or phone; limited opportunities may be offered separately.
Assets
$17.5B
Grants
4,007
Total Given
$844.7M
Community Foundation of New Jersey
Morristown, NJ
The Community Foundation of New Jersey supports a broad range of causes, including arts, education, health, human services, and the environment, through donor-directed and other charitable funds. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of $19,759, with awards ranging widely; its current health grant opportunity serves Morris and Somerset counties. Eligible New Jersey nonprofits may apply to specific grant opportunities, subject to each opportunity’s guidelines.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,321
Total Given
$93.8M
Annie E Casey Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.3B
Grants
1,462
Total Given
$93.1M
The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg
Owings Mills, MD
The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation funds direct services, programs, general operations, and capital projects in housing, health, jobs, education, and aging for low-income and vulnerable people. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000; its Small Grants Program offers up to $50,000 over two years, with funding focused on Baltimore, Hawaiʻi, Israel, and Northeastern Pennsylvania. It awards grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.8B
Grants
872
Total Given
$127.8M
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
Johns Hopkins University funds a broad range of education, research, health, and community-related work, with 2025 grants ranging from $5,500 to nearly $95 million and a median of $100,000; many of the largest awards were sub-awards. Its grants went to organizations across the U.S., with the largest shares in California and Maryland, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$25.3B
Grants
813
Total Given
$594.1M
The Keith Campbell Foundation
Bethesda, MD
The Keith Campbell Foundation funds nonprofits working for equitable, livable communities, especially on watershed health, clean water, agriculture, and related community needs, with a focus on the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays and California’s San Francisco Bay watershed. Giving varies widely: 2024 grants ranged from $40 to $1.5 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts unsolicited requests, with two application cycles per year.
Assets
$420.2M
Grants
688
Total Given
$27.9M
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
Bethesda, MD
The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related training and clinical programs. In 2024, its grants had a median of about $150,000, with awards ranging from $2,800 to nearly $12.9 million; it supports work nationwide. Applications are submitted through specific funding opportunities, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$5.0B
Grants
624
Total Given
$189.6M
Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore
Baltimore, MD
Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore supports Jewish life and related charitable, educational, religious, health, humanitarian, cultural, and social-service needs in Baltimore, nationally, in Israel, and worldwide. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,020 to $15.25 million, with a median of $18,750; the profile describes specific funding opportunities and donor-advised fund recommendations but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$446.7M
Grants
515
Total Given
$53.0M
Nora Roberts Foundation
Glenn Dale, MD
The Nora Roberts Foundation prioritizes literacy and also supports the arts, children, social justice, and the environment. It gives mainly in Maryland and nearby parts of Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, and Washington, DC, while also making grants nationwide; typical grants are about $3,000–$5,000. Its 2025 filing says it funds preselected organizations only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$118.6M
Grants
466
Total Given
$7.5M
The Abell Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
The Abell Foundation funds nonprofits, government agencies, and fiscally sponsored projects addressing health, education, community development, workforce, justice and addiction, the environment, and arts, as well as Baltimore-focused research and catalytic business investments. Its giving is focused on Baltimore City, with a typical grant of about $20,000 (2024 median; awards ranged from $188 to $300,000). It accepts applications: requests of $10,000 or less are reviewed on a rolling basis, while larger requests go through five annual board meetings.
Assets
$296.4M
Grants
391
Total Given
$13.4M
The Jewish Federation of Greater Washington Inc
North Bethesda, MD
The Federation funds Jewish communal organizations and programs, including services for people in need, Jewish learning and engagement, youth and family programs, inclusion, community security, and work connecting the region with Israel and Jewish communities abroad. In 2025 it made 360 grants, with a median award of $20,000; grants ranged from $5,001 to $3.3 million, primarily supporting organizations in Greater Washington as well as national and international partners. It issues requests for proposals when opportunities are available; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$388.5M
Grants
360
Total Given
$34.1M
More Funders in Maryland
Hardiman Family Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?