Gardiner Family Foundation
The Gardiner Family Foundation is a private foundation located in Hunting Valley, Ohio. Its 2025 filing lists grants to charitable organizations, including education, religious, arts, youth, and community organizations.
Key facts about Gardiner Family Foundation
In short: Gardiner Family Foundation gave $95K across 31 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), mostly in Ohio. 6% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 34-1633714
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $94,505
- Grants made (2025)
- 31
- Average grant
- $3,049
- Median grant
- $1,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 6% first-time grantees (2 of 31, 2025)
- Total assets
- $52,452
- Primary geography
- Ohio (68% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$52K
-45.9% YoY
Annual Giving
$95K
+6.1% YoY
Grant Count
31
+3.3% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$3K
+2.7% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Gardiner Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $8K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Gardiner Family Foundation open to new grantees?
6%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 2 of 31 grantees (6%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $550; repeat grants $3K. How we count
Medians: $550 first-time, $1K repeat.
- 84% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 30% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for a range of organizations. For example, University School received a grant for K–12 education; Friends of Breakthrough Schools describes its mission as fundraising and advocacy for the operations and growth of Breakthrough Public Schools; and the Cleveland Museum of Art says it seeks to bring the pleasure and meaning of art to the broadest possible audience. Other 2025 recipients include the Big Brothers Big Sisters, which describes its work as creating and supporting one-to-one youth mentoring relationships, and the Rowfant Club, which describes itself as a bibliophilic society dedicated to books.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation made 31 grants totaling $94,505. Grants ranged from $250 to $25,000, with a median of $1,000. The largest grants included $25,000 to ATO for Gamma Upsilon ISU, $13,000 to Church of the Western Reserve, $12,500 to University School, and $12,000 to Ronald McDonald House of Cleveland. Other notable grants included $4,500 to Friends of Breakthrough Schools, $4,000 to Ronald House Birdie Challenge, $3,000 to Greater Cleveland Squash, and $2,500 to the Cleveland Museum of Art.
Ready to take the next step with Gardiner Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 68% of grant dollars went to recipients in Ohio and 28% to recipients in Indiana. Pennsylvania, Florida, and Illinois each accounted for 2% or less of grant dollars.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 31 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $73K (2022) to $96K (2020). In 2025 it made 31 grants totaling $95K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Ato for Gamma Upsilon Isu ($25K). Together the top 10 received $79K.
Grant Size Distribution
139 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 139 grants of 139 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Ato for Gamma Upsilon Isu Indianapolis, IN | To Fund and Support Exempt Purposes | $25,000 |
| Church of the Western Reserve Cleveland, OH | To Fund and Support Exempt Purposes | $13,000 |
| University School Hunting Valley, OH | To Support K-12 Education | $12,500 |
| Ronald McDonald House of Cleveland Cleveland, OH | To support religious progress in local community by performing religious dramas | $12,000 |
| Friends of Breakthrough Schools Cleveland, OH | To Fund and Support Exempt Purposes | $4,500 |
| Ronald House Birdie Challenge Akron, OH | To Fund and Support Exempt Purposes | $4,000 |
| Greater Cleveland Squash Cleveland, OH | To Fund and Support Exempt Purposes | $3,000 |
| Cleveland Museum of Art Cleveland, OH | To Fund and Support Exempt Purposes | $2,500 |
| Blue Coats North Canton, OH | To Fund and Support Exempt Purposes | $1,500 |
| The Rowfant Club Cleveland, OH | To Fund and Support Exempt Purposes | $1,200 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $52,452 | $55,988 | $100,584 | $94,505 |
| 2024 | $96,889 | $57,562 | $94,382 | $89,080 |
| 2023 | $132,884 | $14,417 | $86,354 | $80,620 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $52,452 | $96,889 | $132,884 |
| Revenue | $55,988 | $57,562 | $14,417 |
| Expenses | $100,584 | $94,382 | $86,354 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $96,105 | $90,655 | $82,195 |
| Net Investment Income | $52,658 | $53,469 | $9,279 |
| Distributable Amount | $8,218 | $12,886 | $16,112 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 7, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists William H Gardiner as president, Gary A Gardiner as secretary, Todd E Gardiner as treasurer, and David A Schaefer as assistant secretary.
Gardiner Family Foundation is led by William H. Gardiner, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
William H. Gardiner
President
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David A. Schaefer
Assistant Secretary
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Gary A. Gardiner
Secretary
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Todd E. Gardiner
Treasurer
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Barbara L. Gardiner (2020–2024) — Vice President
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 2925 Som Center Road, Hunting Valley, OH 44022
Phone: (216) 861-3388
Frequently asked questions about Gardiner Family Foundation
How much does Gardiner Family Foundation give each year?
Gardiner Family Foundation gave $95K across 31 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $89K across 30 grants.
What is Gardiner Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Gardiner Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $3,049, across 31 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Gardiner Family Foundation that year got $550 on average.
Where does Gardiner Family Foundation give grants?
Gardiner Family Foundation gives mostly in Ohio: 68% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Indiana (28%). The most frequent recipient cities were Cleveland, OH (16 grants), Indianapolis, IN (2 grants) and Hunting Valley, OH (2 grants).
Who are Gardiner Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Gardiner Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Ato for Gamma Upsilon Isu ($25,000), Church of the Western Reserve ($13,000) and University School ($12,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 53% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Gardiner Family Foundation?
Gardiner Family Foundation reported $52K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $96K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $8K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Gardiner Family Foundation fund?
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for a range of organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Gardiner Family Foundation?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Gardiner Family Foundation's EIN?
Gardiner Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-1633714. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Gardiner Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Gardiner Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Gardiner Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Lozick Family Foundation
Pepper Pike, OH
The Lozick Family Foundation funds charitable organizations in areas including health care, education, housing, and community support, with most 2024 grant dollars going to Ohio and Florida. Its 334 grants ranged from $100 to $3,532,500, with a median of $5,250. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.
Assets
$278.7M
Grants
334
Total Given
$15.0M
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation supports education, affordable housing, arts and culture, community well-being, neighborhood development, and basic needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, while specific opportunities range from small awards to grants of up to $450,000. It offers open RFP and LOI opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside those opportunities.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,408
Total Given
$184.4M
The Cleveland Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Cleveland Foundation funds nonprofits working on community needs and long-term priorities, including education, health, arts and culture, economic development, neighborhoods, and human services in Cuyahoga, Lake, and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $30,700, though amounts varied widely. Its general application is open year-round, so it accepts unsolicited requests through that process.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
1,016
Total Given
$184.2M
The Scripps Howard Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Scripps Howard Foundation supports journalism education and related programs, including fellowships and investigative and open-source reporting, with 2024 grants concentrated in Maryland, Washington, D.C., Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. Its median 2024 grant was $1,250, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$69.4M
Grants
819
Total Given
$7.4M
Nisource Charitable Foundation
Columbus, OH
The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$43.0M
Grants
683
Total Given
$7.5M
Dayton Foundation Depository
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation supports eligible nonprofits working in arts and culture, health, education, human services and community building, including capacity building, capital projects and program expansions, primarily in Greater Dayton and nearby counties. Its 2025 itemized grants ranged from $5,020 to $1,792,990, with a median of $12,000. It accepts applications for its discretionary grant program through an online portal.
Assets
$42.3M
Grants
677
Total Given
$22.7M
The Dayton Foundation
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation supports nonprofit projects in areas such as education, arts and culture, health, human services and the environment that benefit Greater Dayton. Greenlight grants range from $500 to $7,500, discretionary grants are above $7,500 and up to $75,000, and its 2025 grant median was $14,550. Organizations can apply through its grants portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$771.2M
Grants
589
Total Given
$32.6M
Timken Co Charitable & Educational Fund
North Canton, OH
The Fund supports approved nonprofits delivering measurable, lasting improvements in communities where Timken operates, including community services, housing, food access, education, and workforce programs. Typical grants are $500–$10,000, with larger requests requiring board preapproval; eligible communities include locations in Ohio, North Carolina, Colorado, Illinois, and South Carolina. It says it gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.1M
Grants
436
Total Given
$2.5M
Jewish Federation of Cleveland
Cleveland, OH
The Jewish Federation of Cleveland funds social-welfare, religious, educational, security, and community programs, with a focus on Cleveland and Ohio as well as Jewish needs in Israel and around the world. Its 2025 grants had a median of $22,250, though amounts varied widely; the available information does not specify whether it accepts unsolicited institutional requests.
Assets
$680.2M
Grants
425
Total Given
$72.7M
Toledo Community Foundation Inc
Toledo, OH
Greater Toledo Community Foundation funds a broad range of community programs, including education, health, social services, arts and culture, and environmental work, mainly in northwest Ohio and southeast Michigan. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $15,500, though amounts varied widely; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$246.9M
Grants
406
Total Given
$17.8M
More Funders in Ohio
Gardiner Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?