Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund
Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund is a private foundation, based in Baltimore, OH. IRS filing data is available for 2020. In 2020, it awarded 1 grant totaling $144K. Net investment income was $11K.
Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund at a glance
In short: Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund gave $144K across 1 grant in 2020 (avg $144K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2020 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2020)
- $144,000
- Grants made (2020)
- 1
- Average grant
- $144,000
- Median grant
- $144,000
- Primary geography
- Ohio (100% of itemized 2020 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2020 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2020; updated September 2026.
Who Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
1 grant across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 1 grant of 1 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2020 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
In 2020 it made 1 grant totaling $144K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 1 individual scholarship Recipients not named | — | $144,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | $-112,706 | $159,472 | $144,000 | 1 | $10,878 | $18,194 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund reported a distributable amount of $18K for 2020 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund's 2020 filing lists 3 officers; all 3 officers listed in 2020 are compensated.
Officers on the 2020 filing
James L. Keller
Trustee
New on the 2020 filing
2 hrs/week
$4K (2020)
Richard Miller
Trustee
New on the 2020 filing
2 hrs/week
$4K (2020)
Stephanie Shook
Trustee
New on the 2020 filing
2 hrs/week
$4K (2020)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2020 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2020 filing was $4K, to James L Keller (Trustee). 3 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund
How much does Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund give each year?
Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund gave $144K across 1 grant in 2020, according to its 2020 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund operate?
Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund has awarded grants in Ohio.
How much is Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund required to give away each year?
Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2020, Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund reported a distributable amount of $18K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
What is Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund's EIN?
Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 31-1117779. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS April 7, 2020)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal year 2020
Other open foundation grants in Ohio
Ohio Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Ohio
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation supports a broad range of nonprofit work, including arts, education, health, basic needs, neighborhoods, and capacity building, primarily in central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely. Most grants are directed by donors and aren’t made through an application process, but some specific programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working on education, housing, community and cultural vibrancy, and related regional needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though amounts vary widely; specific opportunities include awards of up to $35,000 for Resilient Communities and up to $450,000 through the Neighborhood Development Fund. It lists RFP and letter-of-intent opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,408
Total Given
$184.4M
The Cleveland Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Cleveland Foundation funds education, human services, neighborhoods and housing, health, arts and culture, the environment, economic development, and other community priorities, primarily through grants to nonprofits in Cuyahoga, Lake and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $17.5 million, with a median of about $30,700. It accepts applications year-round through its standard grant process, with deadlines determining which cycle an application enters.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
1,016
Total Given
$184.2M
The Scripps Howard Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The foundation supports journalism education and related programs that foster informed, engaged communities, including journalism fellowships and environmental and technology-focused journalism initiatives. In 2024, grants ranged from $25 to $675,706, with a median of $1,250; funding was concentrated in Maryland and Washington, D.C., followed by Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$69.4M
Grants
819
Total Given
$7.4M
Nisource Charitable Foundation
Columbus, OH
The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$43.0M
Grants
683
Total Given
$7.5M
Dayton Foundation Depository
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation Depository funds charitable, educational, civic, religious, and community activities, including arts and culture, health, education, and human services, primarily in the Greater Dayton region. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $12,000; the Foundation’s discretionary program accepts requests of more than $7,500 and up to $75,000, and Greenlight Grants offer $500 to $7,500.
Assets
$42.3M
Grants
677
Total Given
$22.7M
More similar funders
More Funders in Ohio
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Fred N Vanburen Scholarship Fund down — hundreds of funders to go?