Ferguson Family Foundation
Ferguson Family Foundation is a private foundation, based in Richmond, VA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $377K in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 10 grants totaling $36K. Net investment income was $37K.
Key facts about Ferguson Family Foundation
In short: Ferguson Family Foundation gave $36K across 10 grants in 2024 (avg $4K), mostly in North Carolina. 50% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 54-2014183
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $36,420
- Grants made (2024)
- 10
- Average grant
- $3,642
- Median grant
- $205
- New grantees (estimate)
- 50% first-time grantees (5 of 10, 2024)
- Total assets
- $377,091
- Primary geography
- North Carolina (99% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$377K
-0.9% YoY
Annual Giving
$36K
+436.8% YoY
Grant Count
10
-9.1% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$4K
+490.4% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Ferguson Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $28K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Ferguson Family Foundation open to new grantees?
50%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 5 of 10 grantees (50%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $292; repeat grants $7K. How we count
Medians: $50 first-time, $3K repeat.
- 50% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving grew 581% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 128% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Ready to take the next step with Ferguson Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 10 itemized 2024 grant dollars.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $1K (2020) to $36K (2024). In 2024 it made 10 grants totaling $36K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Banner Elk Presbyterian Church ($17K). Together the top 10 received $36K.
Grant Size Distribution
43 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 43 grants of 43 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Banner Elk Presbyterian Church Banner Elk, NC | Religous | $16,810 |
| High Country Charitable Foundation Banner Elk, NC | General | $15,100 |
| Lees-McRae College Banner Elk, NC | Educational | $2,900 |
| Elk River Helping Hands Banner Elk, NC | Disaster Emergency Assistance | $1,000 |
| The Tuckahoe Garden Club of Richmond, VA | Encourage Knowledge of Gardening | $310 |
| Garden Club of Virginia Richmond, VA | General | $100 |
| Goochland Christmas Mother Goochland, VA | General | $50 |
| Feeding Avery Newland, NC | To Provide Food Assistance | $50 |
| Bolling Haxall House Foundation Richmond, VA | Maintain Historical Landmark | $50 |
| Ashville Area Habitat for Humanity Ashville, NC | Home Ownership for Low Income Famili | $50 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $377,091 | $380,403 | $373,701 |
| Revenue | $43,890 | $19,259 | $27,196 |
| Expenses | $47,202 | $12,557 | $21,106 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $36,420 | $6,785 | $15,350 |
| Net Investment Income | $37,087 | $13,657 | $21,782 |
| Distributable Amount | $28,350 | $24,890 | $24,224 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Ferguson Family Foundation's 2024 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Dee B. Ferguson
Trustee
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
James G. Ferguson Jr.
Trustee
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Ferguson Family Foundation
How much does Ferguson Family Foundation give each year?
Ferguson Family Foundation gave $36K across 10 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $7K across 11 grants.
What is Ferguson Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Ferguson Family Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $205, and its average grant was $3,642, across 10 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Ferguson Family Foundation that year got $292 on average.
Where does Ferguson Family Foundation give grants?
Ferguson Family Foundation gives mostly in North Carolina: 99% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Banner Elk, NC (4 grants) and Richmond, VA (3 grants).
Does Ferguson Family Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 30% of Ferguson Family Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (3 of 10) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Ferguson Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Ferguson Family Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Banner Elk Presbyterian Church ($16,810), High Country Charitable Foundation ($15,100) and Lees-McRae College ($2,900), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 96% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Ferguson Family Foundation?
Ferguson Family Foundation reported $377K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $36K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $28K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Ferguson Family Foundation's EIN?
Ferguson Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 54-2014183. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching Ferguson Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Ferguson Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Community Foundation Inc
Richmond, VA
The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, as well as other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from $5,100 to $1.795 million; most funding went to Virginia, especially the Richmond area. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$852.4M
Grants
917
Total Given
$61.8M
Tesco Foundation
Richmond, VA
The foundation supports 501(c)(3) public charities in areas including economic development, education, arts, community development, and historic preservation, with nearly all 2024 funding going to Virginia. Grants ranged from $100 to $25,000, with a median of $1,500; it accepts written applications year-round.
Assets
$3.9M
Grants
71
Total Given
$248K
The Kenneth and Bettie Christopher
Richmond, VA
Assets
$170K
Grants
38
Total Given
$117K
The Chericoke Foundation
Richmond, VA
The Chericoke Foundation supports educational, charitable, scientific, and religious purposes, with grants also reaching organizations focused on trees, gardens, history, and horticulture. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $15,000, with a median of $1,000; most funding went to Virginia, with the rest going to North Carolina. The foundation states that applicants may contact Alice H. Siegel in any form, and it has no deadline.
Assets
$996K
Grants
27
Total Given
$70K
The Winston-Salem Foundation
Winston-Salem, NC
The Winston-Salem Foundation funds nonprofits and community groups serving Forsyth County, North Carolina, across areas including education, housing, health, arts, community development, and human services. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000; specific programs offer up to $2,000 for small grants, $30,000 for civic engagement and inclusion, and $15,000 through The Women’s Fund. It accepts applications through its grants portal for listed programs, subject to their requirements and deadlines.
Assets
$630.1M
Grants
823
Total Given
$88.8M
Wilbur Moreland Havens Charitable
Richmond, VA
The foundation funded education, housing, environmental work, history, and social services, giving mainly to organizations in Virginia, with some support in Maryland. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,000 to $25,000, with a median of $15,000. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$3.2M
Grants
38
Total Given
$497K
Jack Kent Cooke Foundation
Lansdowne, VA
The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education for exceptionally promising students with financial need, through student scholarships and grants to organizations serving them. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; 86% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients, with others across multiple states and Washington, D.C. The available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited organizational requests.
Assets
$940.1M
Grants
1,419
Total Given
$25.1M
Donors Trust Inc
Alexandria, VA
Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
919
Total Given
$282.1M
America's Charities
Chantilly, VA
America’s Charities distributes workplace-giving contributions to member nonprofits working in areas such as education, health, hunger, human rights, and disaster relief; it also manages emergency assistance for eligible employees. In 2024, reported grants ranged from $5,017 to $1,379,226, with a median of $9,674, and recipients were concentrated in California, Virginia, D.C., Maryland, and Pennsylvania. These disbursements are donor-directed contributions rather than competitive grants; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$36.2M
Grants
808
Total Given
$16.4M
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation
Richmond, VA
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within Dominion’s operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts online applications during spring and fall grant cycles.
Assets
—
Grants
773
Total Given
$16.4M
Foster Foundation
Brookneal, VA
Assets
$18.6M
Grants
686
Total Given
$1.3M
More Funders in Virginia
Ferguson Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?