F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program

Private foundation · Grantmaker Chambersburg, PA EIN: 25-6823291

F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program is a private foundation, based in Chambersburg, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $146K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 7 grants totaling $13K. Net investment income was $12K.

F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program at a glance

In short: F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program gave $13K across 7 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), top state Pennsylvania. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$12,500
+13.6% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
7
-12.5% vs 2024
Average grant
$1,786
+29.9% vs 2024
Median grant
$2,500
Total assets
$146,362
-1.6% vs 2024
Primary geography
Pennsylvania (44% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 6 recipients in 2025

West Virginia University: $4KWest Virginia University$4KShippensburg University: $3K across 2 grantsShippensburg University$3K · 2 grantsQuinnipiac University: $3KQuinnipiac University$3KUniversity of Pittsburgh -: $3KUniversity of Pittsburgh -$3KBridgewater College: $500Bridgewater College$500University of Kentucky: $500University of Kentucky$500

The largest 2025 recipient was West Virginia University ($4K). Together the top 6 received $13K.

Grant Size Distribution

36 grants across all recorded years

36<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 36 grants of 36 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

8states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.

Cities

ShippensburgBridgewaterLexingtonAltoonaAnnvilleCaliforniaHamdenLancasterMorgantownPittsburghCollege ParkWashington DCKutztownNewarkUniversity Park

How F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+14%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 171% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5K$10K$15K3 grants2020 6 grants2021 6 grants2022 9 grants2023 8 grants2024 7 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2020) to $14K (2021). In 2025 it made 7 grants totaling $13K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
West Virginia University Morgantown, WVScholarship$3,500
Shippensburg University Shippensburg, PAScholarship$2,750
Quinnipiac University Hamden, CTScholarship$2,500
University of Pittsburgh - Pittsburgh, PAScholarship$2,500
Bridgewater College Bridgewater, VAScholarship$500
University of Kentucky Lexington, KYScholarship$500
Shippensburg University - Shippensburg, PAScholarship$250
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$146,362$14,868$17,322$12,5007$14,755$12,424$8,615
2024$148,785$13,191$15,658$11,0008$13,255$10,862$8,651
2023$151,775$8,037$15,607$11,0009$13,255$5,583$8,158
2022$158,350$30,763$16,029$11,0006$13,245$5,903$8,351
2021$146,672$21,517$18,358$13,6686$15,908$19,168$8,642
2020$143,095$8,454$9,354$4,8183—$6,107$7,856

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program reported a distributable amount of $9K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program's only listed officer is Farmers Merchant Trust CO, Trustee on every filing since 2020 (compensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Farmers Merchant Trust CO

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    $875 (2020) → $875 (2025)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Farmers Merchant Trust CO — Trustee: $875Farmers Merchant Trust…Trustee$875

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $875, to Farmers Merchant Trust CO (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program

How much does F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program give each year?

F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program gave $13K across 7 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $11K across 8 grants.

What is F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program's typical grant size?

F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program's median grant in 2025 was $2,500, and its average grant was $1,786, across 7 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program give grants?

F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program's top state is Pennsylvania, with 44% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were West Virginia (28%) and Connecticut (20%). The most frequent recipient cities were Shippensburg, PA (2 grants).

Does F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 7 grants with a stated purpose on F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (7 grants).

Who are F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program's largest grantees?

F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program's largest 2025 grantees include West Virginia University ($3,500), Shippensburg University ($3,000 across 2 grants) and Quinnipiac University ($2,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 72% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program?

F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program reported $146K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $15K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $9K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program's EIN?

F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 25-6823291. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 27, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 10, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 10, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 7, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 29, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 6, 2026)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Tulsa Community Foundation

Tulsa, OK

Tulsa Community Foundation supports charitable causes through donor-advised grants and selected funds, including scholarships, emergency assistance, disaster relief, arts and humanities, healthcare, and financial literacy, primarily in the Tulsa metro area and eastern Oklahoma, with some giving elsewhere in the United States. Its 2024 median grant was $18,560; selected field-of-interest funds have application cycles, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

1,066

Total Given

$158.6M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

Adams Elizabeth L Tuw

Buffalo, NY

The foundation supports education and scholarships for individuals, with 2025 grants ranging from $2,000 to $15,000 and a median of $6,000. Recent grants went to recipients in Virginia, Pennsylvania, Florida, and New York. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected charitable organizations.

Assets

$1.7M

Grants

10

Total Given

$83K

Robtjulia Johnston Scholarship

Buffalo, NY

The foundation supports colleges and universities, primarily through scholarships, with some grants for general purposes. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,500 to $12,500, with a median of $5,500; most funding went to Pennsylvania, followed by New York and New Jersey. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.1M

Grants

10

Total Given

$56K

Sergeant Philip German Memorial Fdn CTW

Buffalo, NY

The Sergeant Philip German Memorial Foundation funds scholarships, with 2024 grants ranging from $2,119 to $9,150 and a median of $2,550. Recipients were mainly in Pennsylvania, with others in several states, including South Carolina, Maryland, Arizona, and North Carolina. It accepts written requests to Diane Rimer on an ongoing basis and does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$1.4M

Grants

23

Total Given

$68K

More similar funders

More Funders in Pennsylvania

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

F&M Trust Co Scholarship Program down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?