Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom
Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom is a private foundation, based in Richfield, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $91K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 3 grants totaling $4K. Net investment income was $510.
Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom at a glance
In short: Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom gave $4K across 3 grants in 2025 (avg $1K), mostly in Minnesota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $4,400
- -55.1% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 3
- -25.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $1,467
- -40.1% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $1,000
- Total assets
- $91,484
- -6.5% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Minnesota (77% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 3 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was House of Prayer Lutheran Church ($2K). Together the top 3 received $4K.
Grant Size Distribution
19 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 19 grants of 19 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.
Cities
How Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom gives
- Giving fell 35% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 171% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $3K (2021) to $10K (2024). In 2025 it made 3 grants totaling $4K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| House of Prayer Lutheran Church Richfield, MN | General Purposes | $2,400 |
| Normandale Community College Founda Bloomington, MN | General Purposes | $1,000 |
| University of North Dakota Foundati Grand Forks, ND | General Purposes | $1,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $91,484 | $-1,717 | $4,634 | $4,400 | 3 | $4,400 | $510 | $2,578 |
| 2024 | $97,835 | $-2,304 | $10,509 | $9,800 | 4 | $9,800 | — | $2,916 |
| 2023 | $110,648 | $-236 | $7,689 | $7,000 | 4 | $7,000 | — | $3,900 |
| 2022 | $118,573 | $-3,077 | $7,521 | $6,775 | 4 | $6,775 | — | $4,799 |
| 2021 | $129,171 | $-85 | $3,774 | $3,300 | 4 | $3,300 | — | $4,629 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom reported a distributable amount of $3K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom is led by Ernest A. Lindstrom, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Ernest A. Lindstrom
President
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Monica Lindstrom Nelson
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kristin A. Thompson
Director
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeanne E. Lindstrom
Vice President
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Kristin A. Lindstrom (2020–2023) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom
How much does Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom give each year?
Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom gave $4K across 3 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $10K across 4 grants.
What is Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom's typical grant size?
Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $1,467, across 3 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom give grants?
Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom gives mostly in Minnesota: 77% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was North Dakota (23%).
Does Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (3 of 3) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
How large is Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom?
Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom reported $91K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $4K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $3K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom's EIN?
Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-5992006. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Live grants for the work Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom funds
Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
Meyerhoff Charitable Trust
Waterloo, IA
The Meyerhoff Charitable Trust funds scholarships for college-bound students, paying awards directly to the college or university they attend; in 2025, grants ranged from $700 to $16,200, with a median of $1,000. Its giving is concentrated in Iowa, with smaller amounts going to Minnesota and Illinois. The trust lists an application form and attachments, with a March 1 annual deadline.
Assets
$769K
Grants
14
Total Given
$47K
IBM International Foundation
Armonk, NY
The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$357.7M
Grants
16
Total Given
$11.7M
A L Steinke Perpetual Scholarship
Eagan, MN
A L Steinke Perpetual Scholarship funds scholarships for students whose families would have difficulty paying for higher education, with grants mainly going to students in South Dakota and Minnesota, as well as nearby states. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $6,625, with a median of $1,250; applicants are instructed to submit a letter, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$975K
Grants
25
Total Given
$52K
La Amundson Ohana Foundation
Sleepy Eye, MN
The foundation supports health care, business, and technical trades, including scholarships and donations to schools and community organizations, with stated geographic restrictions in Minnesota, North Dakota, Montana, and Iowa. In 2024, its grants ranged from $2,000 to $175,000, with a median of $5,000. The filing says a sample application is attached and giving is not limited to preselected organizations; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$16.6M
Grants
67
Total Given
$764K
The Jennifer Novak Foundation
Medina, MN
Assets
$675K
Grants
6
Total Given
$53K
The Eagle Foundation
Chaska, MN
The Eagle Foundation funds educational institutions, youth and addiction services, and other organizations, with 2024 grants ranging from $1,815 to $300,000 and a median of $5,000. Most funding went to Minnesota, with additional grants in North Dakota, Iowa, Florida, and Wisconsin. The filing says applicants should submit a detailed description of their organization and proposed activities; it does not explicitly state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$26.1M
Grants
101
Total Given
$1.4M
More similar funders
More Funders in Minnesota
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Ernie and Jeanne Lindstrom down — hundreds of funders to go?