Egbert M Freese Foundation
The Egbert M. Freese Foundation is organized and will be operated exclusively for charitable, education, religious, literary or scientific purposes including seven-eighths of the annual income shall be used for the upkeep and maintenance of City of Galion facilities, including by not limited to parks, that benefit the people of the city of Galion. One-eighth of the annual net income shall be held, managed and disposed of as scholarships for residents of the City of Galion who are high school graduates seeking post-secondary school education and training.
Egbert M Freese Foundation at a glance
In short: Egbert M Freese Foundation gave $475K across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $475K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $474,982
- -0.9% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 1
- +0.0% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $474,982
- -0.9% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $474,982
- Total assets
- $9,530,614
- +3.6% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- Ohio (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who Egbert M Freese Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was City of Galion ($475K).
Grant Size Distribution
4 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $250–500K range: 3 grants of 4 (75%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
How Egbert M Freese Foundation gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−8%). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $471K (2022) to $514K (2021). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $475K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| City of Galion Galion, OH | Upkeep and maintenance of City of Galion facilities. | $474,982 |
Ready to take the next step with Egbert M Freese Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $9,530,614 | $933,693 | $611,176 | $474,982 | 1 | $933,693 |
| 2023 | $9,202,097 | $404,447 | $603,558 | $479,338 | 1 | $404,447 |
| 2022 | $9,400,829 | $222,069 | $596,464 | $470,841 | 1 | $222,069 |
| 2021 | $9,775,286 | $868,185 | $634,165 | $513,958 | 1 | $868,185 |
About Egbert M Freese Foundation
Based on IRS filings
Egbert M Freese Foundation is a public charity, based in Galion, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $9.5M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $475K. Net investment income was $934K.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Egbert M Freese Foundation is led by Grant B. Garverick, President on every filing since 2021; none of the 5 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Grant B. Garverick
President
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Erik Flick
Co-Treasurer
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Heath Watkins
Vice Chairman
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jennifer Kuns
Secretary
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
William Stepro
Co-Treasurer
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Egbert M Freese Foundation
How much does Egbert M Freese Foundation give each year?
Egbert M Freese Foundation gave $475K across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $479K across 1 grant.
How large is Egbert M Freese Foundation?
Egbert M Freese Foundation reported $9.5M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $934K.
Where does Egbert M Freese Foundation operate?
Egbert M Freese Foundation has awarded grants in Ohio.
What is Egbert M Freese Foundation's EIN?
Egbert M Freese Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-1901855. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(5)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS October 6, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS October 9, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 1, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 10, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024
Other open foundation grants in Ohio
Ohio Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Egbert M Freese Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Ohio
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation supports a broad range of nonprofit work, including arts, education, health, basic needs, neighborhoods, and capacity building, primarily in central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely. Most grants are directed by donors and aren’t made through an application process, but some specific programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working on education, housing, community and cultural vibrancy, and related regional needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though amounts vary widely; specific opportunities include awards of up to $35,000 for Resilient Communities and up to $450,000 through the Neighborhood Development Fund. It lists RFP and letter-of-intent opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,408
Total Given
$184.4M
The Cleveland Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Cleveland Foundation funds education, human services, neighborhoods and housing, health, arts and culture, the environment, economic development, and other community priorities, primarily through grants to nonprofits in Cuyahoga, Lake and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $17.5 million, with a median of about $30,700. It accepts applications year-round through its standard grant process, with deadlines determining which cycle an application enters.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
1,016
Total Given
$184.2M
The Scripps Howard Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The foundation supports journalism education and related programs that foster informed, engaged communities, including journalism fellowships and environmental and technology-focused journalism initiatives. In 2024, grants ranged from $25 to $675,706, with a median of $1,250; funding was concentrated in Maryland and Washington, D.C., followed by Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$69.4M
Grants
819
Total Given
$7.4M
Nisource Charitable Foundation
Columbus, OH
The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$43.0M
Grants
683
Total Given
$7.5M
Dayton Foundation Depository
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation Depository funds charitable, educational, civic, religious, and community activities, including arts and culture, health, education, and human services, primarily in the Greater Dayton region. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $12,000; the Foundation’s discretionary program accepts requests of more than $7,500 and up to $75,000, and Greenlight Grants offer $500 to $7,500.
Assets
$42.3M
Grants
677
Total Given
$22.7M
More similar funders
More Funders in Ohio
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Egbert M Freese Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Egbert M Freese Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?