Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association
Downtown Danville Association is a public charity based in Danville, Virginia, formed in 2000. Its stated mission is to support the long-term viability of Danville’s River District as a center of business and civic life and a source of community pride.
Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association at a glance
- Total assets
- $752,547
- -9.7% vs 2024
- Revenue (2025)
- $511,549
- -29.0% vs 2024
- Net investment income (2025)
- $3,573
- +103.6% vs 2024
- Expenses (2025)
- $638,650
- +1.3% vs 2024
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
How to apply to Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association
- Contact
Mailing address: PO Box 853, Danville, VA 24543
Phone: (434) 791-4470
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
10 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 10 grants of 10 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
States
Cities
How Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association gives
- Giving grew 507% from 2020 to 2023. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2023, annual grant giving ranged from $20K (2020) to $120K (2023). In 2023 it made 10 grants totaling $120K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| The Brick Danville, VA | Economic Assitance | $26,653 |
| Cosmetic Art Store - Pro Product Distributor Danville, VA | Economic Assitance | $21,759 |
| Best Buy Automotive Equipment Temecula, CA | Economic Assitance | $14,000 |
| Urban Fitness LLC Danville, VA | Economic Assitance | $10,752 |
| C&J Wilson Properties Danville, VA | Economic Assitance | $10,000 |
| Bubble Aquatics Danville, VA | Economic Assitance | $9,053 |
| Bliss Hair and Nail Studio Danville, VA | Economic Assitance | $8,940 |
| Freedom Breeder Turlock, CA | Economic Assitance | $7,538 |
| Uncle Al's Danville, VA | Economic Assitance | $6,255 |
| Dustin Haberer Danville, VA | Economic Assitance | $5,087 |
Ready to take the next step with Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $752,547 | $511,549 | $638,650 | — | — | $3,573 |
| 2024 | $832,950 | $720,451 | $630,693 | — | — | $1,755 |
| 2023 | $758,049 | $579,150 | $706,213 | $120,037 | 10 | — |
| 2022 | $879,623 | $708,241 | $494,659 | — | — | — |
| 2021 | $653,012 | $638,534 | $347,760 | — | — | — |
| 2020 | $373,078 | $194,086 | $202,772 | $19,786 | 1 | — |
| 2019 | $366,080 | $493,367 | $274,361 | — | — | — |
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
The organization says it works to attract and retain businesses, residents, and visitors; promote Danville’s quality of life; preserve historic and cultural assets; and make use of the River District’s location along the Dan River. It also says it works in partnership with the City of Danville and other stakeholders.
Grantmaking
The 2023 filing reports 10 grants totaling $120,037. Grantmaking totals and counts are not reported for 2024 or 2025.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Emma Sellers as president, Kunal Atel as vice-president, Austin Bunn as treasurer, and Rachel Covington as past president. It lists Christy Harper, Steven Osborne, Drew Herring, Andrew Hessler, Rachel Timm, and Dr. Danielle Montague as directors.
Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association is led by Diana Schwartz, Executive Director on every filing since 2023; 1 of 11 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Diana Schwartz
Executive Director
On filings since 2023
30 hrs/week
$101K (2023) → $107K (2025)
Emma Sellers
President
Director → Vice President, 2023
Vice President → President, 2024
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Christy Harper
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Steven Osborne
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Andrew Hessler
Director
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Drew Herring
Director
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rachel Timm
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Danielle Montague
Director
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rachel Covington
Past President
Vice President → President, 2020
President → Past President, 2024
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kunal Atel
Vice President
Treasurer → Vice President, 2024
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Austin Bunn
Treasurer
Director → Treasurer, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (21)
- Former: Kelvin Perry (2019–2023) — Past President
- Former: Irving Perez (2022–2023) — Director
- Former: William Crumpton (2022–2023) — Secretary
- Former: Sandra Chinn-Gilstrap (2023) — Director
- Former: Robin Jones (2019–2022) — Past President
- Former: Varun Sadana (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Danielle Ducre (2022) — Director
- Former: Shani Gaylord (2022) — Director
- Former: Stuart Smith (2022) — Vice President
- Former: Billy Crumpton (2019–2021) — Vice President
- Former: Earl Reynolds (2019–2021) — Secretary
- Former: Jerry Amburn (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: John Hamlin (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Phillip Hayes (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Ted Laws (2019–2021) — Treasurer
- Former: Hampton Wilkins (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Kevin Palmer (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Barbara Seamster (2019) — Director
- Former: Leslie Smith-Sturdivant (2019) — Director
- Former: Robert Brooks (2019) — Director
- Former: Von Wellington (2019) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $107K, to Diana Schwartz (Executive Director).
Frequently asked questions about Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association
How large is Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association?
Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association reported $753K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $512K.
What does Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association fund?
The organization says it works to attract and retain businesses, residents, and visitors; promote Danville’s quality of life; preserve historic and cultural assets; and make use of the River District’s location along the Dan River. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association?
Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.
What is Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association's EIN?
Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 54-2023394. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(5)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 14, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 15, 2024)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 30, 2021)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Virginia
Rising Tide Community Loan Fund
Bethlehem, PA
Rising Tide Community Loan Fund primarily provides loans to small and start-up businesses that cannot qualify for bank financing, with a focus on improving economically depressed communities and supporting businesses in low-to-moderate-income areas. Its reported 2025 grant was $6,678 to a Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, organization; the available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$6.0M
Grants
1
Total Given
$7K
NDC Housing & Economic Development Corporation - Group Return
New York, NY
NDC Housing & Economic Development Corporation supports affordable housing, small-business financing, and economic development projects that create jobs and revitalize low-income communities; it describes its work as nationwide, though 98% of its 2024 grant dollars went to New York. Its five grants in 2024 ranged from $20,000 to about $1.46 million, with a median of about $64,000. The available materials do not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$818.6M
Grants
5
Total Given
$2.8M
Noel and Harriette Levine Foundation Inc
New York, NY
The Noel and Harriette Levine Foundation supports cultural, charitable, educational, and health organizations, with most of its 2024 funding going to recipients in New York. Its 12 grants ranged from $5,000 to $300,000, with a median of $25,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.
Assets
$16.8M
Grants
12
Total Given
$522K
Economic Development Corporation of Kansas City Missouri
Kansas City, MO
The Economic Development Corporation of Kansas City supports economic development in Kansas City, Missouri, including neighborhood revitalization, business growth, and entrepreneurship. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,000 to $1 million, with a median of $10,500; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$8.0M
Grants
22
Total Given
$1.4M
David B Kriser Foundation Inc
New York, NY
The foundation supports charitable organizations in health care, education, arts and culture, and land conservation, with most funding going to New York recipients. In 2025, it made 34 grants totaling $319,854; the median grant was $2,500. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$6.7M
Grants
34
Total Given
$320K
Teiger Foundation
New York, NY
The Teiger Foundation funds curator-led contemporary visual art projects and programming, including exhibitions, community-engaged projects, digital exhibitions, and performance, through eligible U.S. art and cultural institutions. Its typical grant is about $50,000, with published program awards ranging up to $150,000; it supports projects in the United States and its territories. The foundation states that it does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.
Assets
$159.5M
Grants
85
Total Given
$6.2M
More similar funders
More Funders in Virginia
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Downtown Danville Association DBA River District Association down — hundreds of funders to go?