Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation
Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation is a private foundation, based in Tulsa, OK. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.6M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $88K. Net investment income was $269K.
Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation at a glance
In short: Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation gave $88K across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $22K), mostly in Indiana. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $88,326
- +6.6% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 4
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $22,082
- +6.6% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $14,730
- Total assets
- $1,601,858
- +12.3% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Indiana (50% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 4 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was The Church Finance Council of the Christian Church Disciples of Christ ($44K). Together the top 4 received $88K.
Grant Size Distribution
16 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 15 grants of 16 (94%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
Cities
How Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation gives
- In 2025 it paid out 94% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $80K (2019) to $184K (2023). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $88K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| The Church Finance Council of the Christian Church Disciples of Christ Indianapolis, IN | Religious | $44,136 |
| Donald E & Mary Frances Hayden English Fellowship Endowment Fund Columbia, MO | Educational - Fellowships | $14,730 |
| Donald E Hayden Endowed Fund for the Graduate Program in English Tulsa, OK | Educational | $14,730 |
| Mary Frances Dick Hayden Scholarship Fund Warrensburg, MO | Educational - Scholarships | $14,730 |
Ready to take the next step with Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,601,858 | $286,635 | $112,073 | $88,326 | 4 | $88,326 | $268,632 | $93,957 |
| 2024 | $1,426,595 | $248,582 | $100,918 | $82,870 | 4 | $82,870 | $231,561 | $88,325 |
| 2023 | $1,278,940 | $117,225 | $200,535 | $183,540 | 4 | $183,540 | $101,896 | $82,872 |
| 2022 | $1,362,437 | $122,451 | $18,140 | — | — | — | $105,193 | $86,999 |
| 2021 | $1,258,432 | $120,504 | $98,766 | $80,500 | 4 | $80,500 | $103,317 | $97,005 |
| 2020 | $1,237,271 | $75,946 | $96,432 | $80,050 | 4 | — | $60,325 | $81,631 |
| 2019 | $1,256,911 | $71,399 | $95,958 | $80,050 | 4 | — | $56,123 | $79,330 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation reported a distributable amount of $94K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation's only listed officer is Trust Company Of Oklahoma, Trustee on every filing since 2019 (compensated).
Officers on the 2025 filing
Trust Company Of Oklahoma
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
$13K (2019) → $16K (2025)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $16K, to Trust Company of Oklahoma (Trustee).
Frequently asked questions about Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation
How much does Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation give each year?
Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation gave $88K across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $83K across 4 grants.
What is Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation's typical grant size?
Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $14,730, and its average grant was $22,082, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation give grants?
Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation gives mostly in Indiana: 50% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Missouri (33%) and Oklahoma (17%).
Does Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.
How large is Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation?
Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation reported $1.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $88K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $94K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation's EIN?
Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 30-6101561. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 26, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 11, 2026)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS June 4, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS June 24, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 13, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS July 3, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 13, 2025)
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Oklahoma
Folds of Honor Foundation
Owasso, OK
Folds of Honor funds education scholarships for spouses and children of U.S. military service members and first responders killed or disabled in service, with awards available for K–12 and higher education in the United States and its territories. Awards are up to $5,000 per academic year, based on unmet need, and are paid directly to the school. It accepts scholarship applications through an online portal during its annual application window; it does not make grants to outside applicants.
Assets
$122.3M
Grants
1,551
Total Given
$37.6M
Tulsa Community Foundation
Tulsa, OK
Tulsa Community Foundation supports charitable causes through donor-advised grants and selected funds, including scholarships, emergency assistance, disaster relief, arts and humanities, healthcare, and financial literacy, primarily in the Tulsa metro area and eastern Oklahoma, with some giving elsewhere in the United States. Its 2024 median grant was $18,560; selected field-of-interest funds have application cycles, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,066
Total Given
$158.6M
Oklahoma City Community Foundation Inc
Oklahoma City, OK
The Oklahoma City Community Foundation funds community programs in children’s opportunities, health care, culture and community, older adults, parks and public space, and animal welfare, primarily in Oklahoma City and Central Oklahoma. In 2025, its grants had a median of $18,251; published ranges include up to $40,000 for Opportunities for Children and $30,000 for Culture & Community. Its website lists some programs as open, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
698
Total Given
$63.3M
The Anne and Henry Zarrow Foundation
Tulsa, OK
The foundation supports nonprofits addressing poverty through housing, shelter, basic needs, social services, health and mental healthcare, and community empowerment, along with education, Jewish life, culture, and racial-justice initiatives. It funds primarily in metropolitan Tulsa, with additional support across Oklahoma and in Israel; 2024 grants ranged from $200 to $2.2 million, with a median of about $24,000. It accepts unsolicited requests: eligible nonprofits can email an initial inquiry.
Assets
$281.0M
Grants
476
Total Given
$37.3M
George Kaiser Family Foundation
Tulsa, OK
George Kaiser Family Foundation funds early childhood development and education, family and community well-being, justice, affordable housing, and Tulsa neighborhood and civic initiatives, primarily in Tulsa and Oklahoma. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $20.2 million, with a median of $50,000. It does not accept unsolicited proposals for its general work, though eligible nonprofits may apply through its Accelerator Grants initiative.
Assets
$5.1B
Grants
383
Total Given
$99.9M
Inasmuch Foundation
Oklahoma City, OK
Inasmuch Foundation funds community enhancement, education, human services, and journalism, with priorities including education reform, workforce development, Oklahoma journalism, homelessness prevention, and behavioral health. It focuses on Oklahoma, especially Oklahoma City; its 2024 median grant was $10,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $1.5 million. It accepts requests through open spring and fall application cycles.
Assets
$409.7M
Grants
351
Total Given
$19.5M
More similar funders
More Funders in Oklahoma
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Donald & Mary Frances Hayden Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?