David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Washington, DC EIN: 83-2704531

David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Washington, DC. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2024. In 2024, it awarded 5 grants totaling $351K. Net investment income was $219K.

David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation at a glance

In short: David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation gave $351K across 5 grants in 2024 (avg $70K), mostly in District of Columbia. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2024)
$350,500
+92.1% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
5
-16.7% vs 2023
Average grant
$70,100
+130.5% vs 2023
Median grant
$20,000
Primary geography
District of Columbia (66% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2024

Georgetown Day School: $200KGeorgetown Day School$200KEntertainment Industry Foundation: $100KEntertainment IndustryFoundation$100KDana Farber Cancer Institute: $20KDana Farber Cancer Institute$20KWashington Performing Arts: $18KWashington Performing Arts$18KGeorge Washington Scholarship: $13KGeorge Washington Scholarship$13K

The largest 2024 recipient was Georgetown Day School ($200K). Together the top 5 received $351K.

Grant Size Distribution

27 grants across all recorded years

17<$50K1$50–100K8$100–250K1$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 17 grants of 27 (63%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

5states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

Cities

WashingtonLos AngelesMemphisBostonSilver SpringSanta Monica

How David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−2%). Method
  • In 2023 it paid out 101% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K4 grants2019 5 grants2020 5 grants2021 6 grants2022 6 grants2023 5 grants2024

From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $183K (2023) to $454K (2020). In 2024 it made 5 grants totaling $351K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Georgetown Day School Washington, DCGeneral Operating Expenses$200,000
Entertainment Industry Foundation Los Angeles, CAGeneral Operating Expenses$100,000
Dana Farber Cancer Institute Boston, MAGeneral Operating Expenses$20,000
Washington Performing Arts Washington, DCGeneral Operating Expenses$18,000
George Washington Scholarship Washington, DCGeneral Operating Expenses$12,500
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2024—$400,791$368,263$350,5005$350,500$218,847—
2023$3,850,410$28,021$207,602$182,5006$184,148$32,974$183,027
2022$3,600,755$-9,172$433,052$368,0006$369,731—$178,933
2021$4,538,956$260,119$384,744$358,0005$359,687$235,874$216,120
2020$4,370,644$22,246$479,880$454,0005—$55,414$222,944
2019$4,714,199$111,184$375,661$355,0004—$95,523$230,896

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation is led by David Alden, President since 2024 (on filings since 2019) — the only officer listed, and uncompensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • David Alden

    President

    Trustee → President, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Dina Al-Sabah (2019–2023) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation

How much does David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation give each year?

David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation gave $351K across 5 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $183K across 6 grants.

What is David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation's typical grant size?

David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $20,000, and its average grant was $70,100, across 5 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation give grants?

David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation gives mostly in District of Columbia: 66% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were California (29%) and Massachusetts (6%). The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (3 grants).

Does David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (5 of 5) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation's largest grantees?

David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Georgetown Day School ($200,000), Entertainment Industry Foundation ($100,000) and Dana Farber Cancer Institute ($20,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 91% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

What is David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation?

David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Washington, DC.

What is David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation's EIN?

David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 83-2704531. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(2)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 2, 2020)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in District of Columbia

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

Silicon Valley Community Foundation

Mountain View, CA

Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.3B

Grants

3,576

Total Given

$3.2B

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

NCRC Community Development Fund Inc

Washington, DC

NCRC Community Development Fund supports affordable housing and homeownership, small businesses—especially minority-owned, women-owned, and low-income businesses—and certain nonprofit programs that provide capital or services to underserved communities. Its listed awards range from $5,000 to $50,000, though typical giving is not stated; it serves communities across the U.S., with some programs focused on Illinois. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$55.6M

Grants

2,666

Total Given

$149.3M

Greater Washington Community Foundation

Washington, DC

The Greater Washington Community Foundation supports nonprofits working across areas such as economic opportunity, education, health, arts, and human services, with an emphasis on equity and economic justice. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, and it generally funds organizations serving DC, Montgomery County, Prince George’s County, and specified Northern Virginia communities; it offers scheduled open competitive grant rounds as well as invite-only opportunities.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$518.3M

Grants

1,417

Total Given

$116.9M

National Fish and Wildlife Foundation

Washington, DC

The National Fish and Wildlife Foundation makes competitive grants for science-based projects that conserve or restore fish, wildlife, plants, and habitats; it does not fund advocacy or litigation. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $106,500, and it supports projects across all 50 states and U.S. territories. Applications are competitive and program-specific; whether pre-proposals are required varies by program.

Assets

$3.6B

Grants

1,286

Total Given

$464.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in District of Columbia

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

David Alden and Dina Al-Sabah Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?