The dctc foundation's mission is to foster student success and elevate the academic experience at Dakota county technical college by securing resources through strong partnerships with employers, alumni, and the community.
Key facts about Dakota County Technical College Foundation
In short: Dakota County Technical College Foundation gave $255K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $128K), mostly in Minnesota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 41-1488605
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $255,103
- Grants made (2025)
- 2
- Average grant
- $127,552
- Median grant
- $127,552
- Total assets
- $8,389,737
- Primary geography
- Minnesota (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$8.4M
+10.2% YoY
Annual Giving
$255K
-56.9% YoY
Grant Count
2
+0.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$128K
-56.9% YoY
How Dakota County Technical College Foundation gives
- Giving fell 54% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About Dakota County Technical College Foundation
Based on IRS filings
Dakota County Technical College Foundation is a public charity focused on Academics, based in Rosemount, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $8.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $255K. Net investment income was $42K.
Focus Areas
Ready to take the next step with Dakota County Technical College Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $212K (2021) to $592K (2024). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $255K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Dakota County Technical College ($255K across 2 grants).
Grant Size Distribution
13 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 5 grants of 13 (38%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Dakota County Technical College Rosemount, MN | Equipment | $153,756 |
| Dakota County Technical College Rosemount, MN | Program Support | $101,347 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $8,389,737 | $7,615,309 | $7,035,895 |
| Revenue | $588,108 | $846,862 | $1,438,777 |
| Expenses | $756,644 | $1,058,703 | $932,342 |
| Net Investment Income | $42,030 | $53,334 | $88,644 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 22, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS January 14, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS March 2, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 15, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS February 8, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 26, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS October 3, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Dakota County Technical College Foundation is led by Kimberly Anne Shaff, Foundation Executive Director since 2021 (on filings since 2020); none of the 13 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Kimberly Anne Shaff
Foundation Executive Director
Interim Foundation Executive Director → Foundation Executive Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
20 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Stephen Engel
Chair
Board Member → Chair, 2022
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Dan Sjolseth
Board Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jim Bjorklund
Board Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ryan O'Gara
Board Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Scott Kadrlik
Treasurer
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeannette Appold
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeff Schoenecker
Board Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mike Westereng
Secretary
Board Member → Secretary, 2024
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Maggie Borer
Board Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Branko Tambah
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joel Bahma
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kirstin Sersland
Vice Chair
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (11)
- Former: Kathy Funston (2022–2024) — Board Member
- Former: Angela Liedke (2019–2023) — Secretary
- Former: Joel Trinkle (2019–2023) — Vice Chair
- Former: Ann Byre (2019–2022) — Secretary
- Former: Emily Fox-Williams (2019–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Lowell Stolte (2019–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Scott Manwarren (2019–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Amy Diede MD (2019–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Bernard Kolnberger (2019–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Kerry Sutherland (2019) — Board Member
- Former: Michelle Boe (2019) — Foundation Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Dakota County Technical College Foundation
How much does Dakota County Technical College Foundation give each year?
Dakota County Technical College Foundation gave $255K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $592K across 2 grants.
How large is Dakota County Technical College Foundation?
Dakota County Technical College Foundation reported $8.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $588K.
What is Dakota County Technical College Foundation?
Dakota County Technical College Foundation is a public charity focused on Academics, based in Rosemount, MN. It holds $8.4M in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Dakota County Technical College Foundation operate?
Dakota County Technical College Foundation has awarded grants in Minnesota.
What is Dakota County Technical College Foundation's EIN?
Dakota County Technical College Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-1488605. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Dakota County Technical College Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Dakota County Technical College Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Minnesota
The Minneapolis Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Minneapolis Foundation supports civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education equity, community safety, health, and the environment. In 2025, its grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; 77% of grant dollars went to Minnesota recipients. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; current opportunities are closed, and some programs are invitation-based.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
1,565
Total Given
$121.7M
Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation
St. Paul, MN
The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic development, health and human services, youth and education, arts and culture, democracy, and nonprofit capacity, serving the East Metro and communities statewide. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000, while the Management Improvement Fund offers up to $15,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through open application programs, though some opportunities are invite-only.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
1,473
Total Given
$107.2M
The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$218.3M
Grants
1,431
Total Given
$47.9M
First Children's Finance
Minneapolis, MN
First Children’s Finance funds and supports child care businesses and community projects that expand access to quality early care, including facility improvements, technology, and provider support. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,283 to $50,000, with a median award of $11,839; grantmaking is mainly in Minnesota, Vermont, and Wisconsin, while its lending spans ten states.
Assets
$7.0M
Grants
80
Total Given
$1.1M
C K Blandin Foundation
Grand Rapids, MN
The C K Blandin Foundation funds community wealth-building, rural placemaking and small-community efforts, including work on housing, civic engagement, community spaces and food systems. It primarily supports rural Minnesota, especially Itasca County and nearby communities, and its 2024 median grant was $2,900, though awards ranged from $50 to $335,000.
Assets
$506.3M
Grants
931
Total Given
$15.8M
Otto Bremer Trust
St. Paul, MN
The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
180
Total Given
$57.2M
The McKnight Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The McKnight Foundation funds nonprofit organizations, research, and community initiatives in arts and culture, food systems, climate and energy, neuroscience, and equitable communities, primarily in Minnesota and the Midwest, with some work in Africa and South America and beyond. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,150 to $10 million, with a median of $100,000; prospective applicants are asked to contact program staff first, who provide proposal instructions if they determine funding may be considered.
Assets
$2.7B
Grants
790
Total Given
$145.9M
Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund
Duluth, MN
The Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund awards scholarships to eligible students pursuing mathematics, science, engineering, or medical fields, primarily serving students from northern Minnesota. Recent awards were typically $2,500, with grants ranging from $2,500 to $3,000. It accepts applications through its scholarship programs; high-school applications are due January 15, and the college-transfer pathway also has an application process.
Assets
$18.4M
Grants
566
Total Given
$1.5M
Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN
The Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota funds spiritual, educational, and social needs through grants for education, capital improvements, assistance programs, and other charitable purposes. Its 2025 grants had a median of $16,124, and at least half of grants over any three-year period are intended for Minnesota organizations; 86% of 2025 grant dollars went to Minnesota. Its Social Impact and Educational Impact programs are invitation-only, while other CCF-directed programs may offer open, competitive applications.
Assets
$751.7M
Grants
504
Total Given
$43.9M
Communitygiving
St Cloud, MN
CommunityGiving supports nonprofits, schools, government entities, students, and community initiatives through partner foundations, donor-directed funds, competitive grants, and scholarships. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $680,477, with a median of $15,528; most funding went to Minnesota, though its network also includes Derby, Kansas. Competitive grant applications are accepted through online systems for specific opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$282.6M
Grants
426
Total Given
$16.7M
Wells Fargo Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Wells Fargo Foundation funds nonprofits working on financial opportunity, affordable housing, and small-business growth, with giving at national and local levels. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $8 million, with a median of $35,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations are invited to apply.
Assets
$8.6M
Grants
1,376
Total Given
$157.4M
Neighborhood Development Center Inc
Saint Paul, MN
Neighborhood Development Center supports entrepreneurs and neighborhood revitalization through business financing, training, services, and affordable commercial space, primarily in Saint Paul and Minneapolis, with grants going to Minnesota recipients. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $207,211, with a median of $13,500. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; a specific small-business grant RFP described was a past cycle.
Assets
$55.3M
Grants
571
Total Given
$10.2M
More Funders in Minnesota
Dakota County Technical College Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?