Community in Action logo

Community in Action

Public charity · Grantmaker Ontario, OR EIN: 26-4061084 Website

To operate programs to alleviate poverty and enhance the public health and welfare by opening to everyone the opportunity for education and training, the opportunity to work and the opportunity to live in decency and dignity.

Community in Action at a glance

Total assets
$4,661,212
+13.3% vs 2024
Revenue (2025)
$6,728,790
+20.5% vs 2024
Net investment income (2025)
$20,755
+101.7% vs 2024
Expenses (2025)
$6,237,502
+20.1% vs 2024
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

How to apply to Community in Action

Who Community in Action funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

3 grants across all recorded years

1<$50K1$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K1$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 3 (33%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

OntarioBurns

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K$800K4 grants2019 3 grants2020 3 grants2021 0 grants2022 0 grants2023 0 grants2024 0 grants2025

From 2019 to 2021, annual grant giving ranged from $305K (2019) to $724K (2021). In 2021 it made 3 grants totaling $724K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Harney County Senior Center Burns, ORServices to Seniors$619,960
Origins Faith Community Ontario, ORShelter from Weather$92,327
Project Dove Ontario, OREmergency Shelter$11,290
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Community in Action?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$4,661,212$6,728,790$6,237,502——$20,755
2024$4,112,727$5,585,351$5,191,501——$10,288
2023$3,645,586$6,302,739$5,407,110——$2,453
2022$2,870,959$6,588,152$6,462,417——$524
2021$2,722,454$5,860,304$5,322,876$723,5773$-180
2020$2,245,340$3,180,092$3,020,335$387,0593$207
2019$1,878,571$2,809,709$2,711,138$305,3704$603

About Community in Action

Based on IRS filings

Community in Action is a public charity, based in Ontario, OR. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $4.7M in total assets. Net investment income was $21K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Community in Action is led by Jody Warnock, Executive Director since 2025 (on filings since 2024); 1 of 9 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Jody Warnock

    Executive Director

    Executive Di → Executive Director, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $101K (2024) → $124K (2025)

  • Ron Verini

    Chair

    Director → Treasurer, 2021

    Treasurer → Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Don Hodge

    Vice Chair

    Director → Board Member, 2021

    Board Member → Vice Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pete Runnels

    Secretary & Treasurer

    Secretary → Secretary & Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lynn McClintock

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Eddie Melendez

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jim Maret

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kayla Spencer

    Board Member

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tom Vialpando

    Board Member

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (8)
  • Former: Maria Romero (2019–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Barbara J. Higinbotham (2022–2023) — Executive Di
  • Former: Lou Wettstein (2019–2022) — Chair
  • Former: Ramon Palomo (2019–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Shana Withee (2019–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Barb Higinbotham (2019–2021) — Executive Di
  • Former: Brian Wolfe (2019–2020) — Treasurer
  • Former: George Heinz (2019–2020) — Vice President

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Jody Warnock — Executive Director: $124KJody WarnockExecutive Director$124K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $124K, to Jody Warnock (Executive Director).

Frequently asked questions about Community in Action

How large is Community in Action?

Community in Action reported $4.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $6.7M.

Where does Community in Action operate?

Community in Action has awarded grants in Oregon.

What is Community in Action's EIN?

Community in Action's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 26-4061084. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(3)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS March 17, 2022)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS December 30, 2019)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS December 22, 2020)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Community in Action's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Oregon

Womens Foundation of Oregon

Portland, OR

Women's foundation of Oregon supports communities, programs, and individuals that improve the lives and opportunities of women and girls. We do this through direct grants, research, and policy advocacy.

Assets

$3.6M

Grants

9

Total Given

$176K

The Collins Foundation

Portland, OR

The Collins Foundation funds Oregon organizations working on equity and community well-being, including efforts in education, health, arts and culture, environmental protection, and child development. Its 2024 grants had a median of $40,000; single-year GO Grants are typically $25,000–$100,000, averaging $75,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$234.9M

Grants

209

Total Given

$10.8M

Im Eleanor Lloyd Dees Foundation

Los Angeles, CA

The foundation funds organizations working in areas including wildlife and animal welfare, reproductive health, poverty alleviation, and racial justice, with grants across multiple states and the largest share going to California. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,000 to $25,000, with a median of $3,000. It gives only to preselected charities and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.8M

Grants

22

Total Given

$138K

Lamb Weston Charitable Foundation

Eagle, ID

The foundation funds 501(c)(3) community programs, employee matching gifts, and scholarships for employees’ children, with recent grants supporting food banks and hunger relief. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,000 to $795,172, with a median of $40,565, and supported communities where Lamb Weston operates and employees live and work, including Idaho, Minnesota, Washington, and Oregon. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.9M

Grants

11

Total Given

$1.3M

Association of Oregon Community Mental Health Programs

Salem, OR

AOCMHP funds suicide prevention and mental health initiatives, as well as projects that reduce social isolation among rural older adults. Its typical grant was about $20,000 in 2025, while its ROAM grants are $8,000–$15,000; its programs focus on Oregon, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.4M

Grants

16

Total Given

$395K

The Oregon Community Foundation

Portland, OR

The Oregon Community Foundation funds Oregon nonprofits and community-serving projects across education, health, arts and culture, housing, economic and community vitality, and the environment. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to nearly $8 million; applications are accepted through specific grant programs and cycles, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

2,149

Total Given

$171.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in Oregon

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Community in Action's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Community in Action down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?