Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation
The Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation is a private foundation based in Omaha, Nebraska. In 2025, it gave grants to charitable organizations including food-access, education, health, youth-support, and community organizations.
Key facts about Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation
In short: Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation gave $252K across 36 grants in 2025 (avg $7K), mostly in Nebraska. 17% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 20-1162883
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $252,000
- Grants made (2025)
- 36
- Average grant
- $7,000
- Median grant
- $5,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 17% first-time grantees (6 of 36, 2025)
- Total assets
- $3,855,903
- Primary geography
- Nebraska (56% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$3.9M
+1.6% YoY
Annual Giving
$252K
-7.3% YoY
Grant Count
36
+9.1% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$7K
-15.0% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation reported a distributable amount of $236K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation open to new grantees?
17%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 6 of 36 grantees (17%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $5K; repeat grants $7K. How we count
Medians: $5K first-time, $5K repeat.
- 75% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−6%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 107% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for a range of organizations. For example, Food Bank for the Heartland says its mission is to eliminate hunger in the Heartland by ensuring consistent access to healthy foods through community partnerships. Bellevue University describes its work as providing career-oriented, cost-effective, open-access education. Project Harmony says it works to protect and support children and to help end child abuse and neglect.
Other 2025 recipients include organizations whose stated missions involve rescuing and distributing perishable food, supporting university activities, mentoring youth, and building homes and communities.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2025, the foundation reported 36 grants totaling $252,000. Grant amounts ranged from $2,500 to $23,500, with a median of $5,000. The largest awards included $23,500 to Food Bank for the Heartland, $20,000 to Middlebury College, and $15,000 each to Bellevue University and the University of Minnesota Foundation. Other notable grants included $10,000 each to UC Health Memorial Hospital, Friends of Pinal County Animal Shelter, Nebraska Public Media Foundation, and Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States. The listed purposes for these largest grants were unrestricted gifts.
Ready to take the next step with Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, Nebraska accounted for 56% of grant dollars, followed by Arizona (15%), Colorado (8%), Vermont (8%), and Minnesota (6%). The grants also included recipients in other states, such as New York.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 36 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $244K (2020) to $272K (2024). In 2025 it made 36 grants totaling $252K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Food Bank for the Heartland ($24K). Together the top 10 received $131K.
Grant Size Distribution
182 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 182 grants of 182 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Food Bank for the Heartland Omaha, NE | Unrestricted Gift | $23,500 |
| Middlebury College Middlebury, VT | Unrestricted Gift | $20,000 |
| Bellevue University Bellevue, NE | Unrestricted Gift | $15,000 |
| University of Minnesota Foundation Minneapolis, MN | Unrestricted Gift | $15,000 |
| Uc Health Memorial Hospital Colorado Springs, CO | Unrestricted Gift | $10,000 |
| Friends of Pinal County Animal Shelter CASA Grande, AZ | Unrestricted Gift | $10,000 |
| Nebraska Public Media Fdn Lincoln, NE | Unrestricted Gift | $10,000 |
| Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United S Coolidge, AZ | Unrestricted Gift | $10,000 |
| Parkinson's Nebraska Omaha, NE | Unrestricted Gift | $8,500 |
| Saving Grace Perishable Food Rescue Omaha, NE | Unrestricted Gift | $8,500 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $3,855,903 | $379,598 | $315,763 | $252,000 |
| 2024 | $3,794,545 | $301,246 | $337,908 | $271,700 |
| 2023 | $3,830,348 | $247,468 | $334,593 | $260,000 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $3,855,903 | $3,794,545 | $3,830,348 |
| Revenue | $379,598 | $301,246 | $247,468 |
| Expenses | $315,763 | $337,908 | $334,593 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $253,615 | $276,745 | $267,167 |
| Net Investment Income | $321,670 | $242,908 | $181,980 |
| Distributable Amount | $236,283 | $237,441 | $223,222 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 3, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 12, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS April 26, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 11, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 2, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 7, 2026)
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Edward Batchelder, Anne Batchelder Pratt, Mary Batchelder Bequette, and Lucia Bell as directors, and John K Boyer as secretary.
Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation's 2025 filing lists 5 officers; none of the 5 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Anne Batchelder Pratt
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Edward Batchelder
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lucia Bell
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mary Batchelder Bequette
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John K. Boyer
Secretary
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 409 South 17Th Street Suite 500, Omaha, NE 68102
Phone: (402) 393-1850
Frequently asked questions about Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation
How much does Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation give each year?
Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation gave $252K across 36 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $272K across 33 grants.
What is Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation's typical grant size?
Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $5,000, and its average grant was $7,000, across 36 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation that year got $5K on average.
Where does Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation give grants?
Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation gives mostly in Nebraska: 56% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Arizona (15%) and Colorado (8%). The most frequent recipient cities were Omaha, NE (18 grants), Coolidge, AZ (2 grants), Colorado Springs, CO (2 grants) and Phoenix, AZ (2 grants).
Does Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (36 of 36) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation's largest grantees?
Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Food Bank for the Heartland ($23,500), Middlebury College ($20,000) and Bellevue University ($15,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 23% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation?
Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation reported $3.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $254K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $236K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for a range of organizations. For example, Food Bank for the Heartland says its mission is to eliminate hunger in the Heartland by ensuring consistent access to healthy foods through community partnerships. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation's EIN?
Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-1162883. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Sherwood Foundation
Omaha, NE
The Sherwood Foundation funds equity and social-justice work in Nebraska, with a focus on urban and rural community partnerships and early childhood education; it supports operating, program, and capital needs. Its 2025 grants had a median of $90,000, though awards varied widely. It does not accept unsolicited requests and uses an invitation-only application process.
Assets
$977.8M
Grants
790
Total Given
$296.3M
The Lozier Foundation
Omaha, NE
The Lozier Foundation funds education, women and girls, North Omaha initiatives, and human services, with a focus on underrepresented communities in the Omaha metro area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $450 to $2 million, with a median of about $38,000; it does not accept unsolicited funding requests and contributes to preselected organizations.
Assets
$437.1M
Grants
450
Total Given
$49.2M
The Hawks Foundation
Omaha, NE
The Hawks Foundation funds libraries, mental health, child and family services, arts, education, health care, and community projects, with most 2024 grant dollars going to Nebraska and smaller shares to New York, Iowa, Texas, and Massachusetts. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $6,949,615, with a median of $40,000; the foundation says giving is not restricted to preselected organizations, but it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$413.1M
Grants
141
Total Given
$32.6M
Gilbert M and Martha H Hitchcock Foundation
Omaha, NE
The Gilbert M. and Martha H. Hitchcock Foundation funds education, healthcare, religious institutions, journalism, social services, historic preservation, museums, the arts, conservation, and animal welfare, primarily in the greater Omaha and Council Bluffs area. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $184,000, with a median of $15,000. It accepts grant requests by email through November 30; complete requests are considered by June 1 of the following year.
Assets
$13.6M
Grants
74
Total Given
$1.6M
Robert B Daugherty Foundation
Omaha, NE
The Robert B. Daugherty Foundation funds tax-exempt organizations’ charitable, scientific, cultural, religious, and educational work, with preference for projects addressing community needs in Nebraska, especially greater Omaha. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,000 to $4.81 million, with a median of $77,500. It accepts applications through an online process; no deadline is listed.
Assets
$839.7M
Grants
120
Total Given
$37.9M
Greater Horizons
Kansas City, MO
Greater Horizons is a donor-advised fund provider whose donor-directed grants support eligible U.S. public charities across a broad range of causes; international organizations may also qualify with additional review and fees. In 2024, grants had a median of $15,000, with itemized awards ranging from $5,001 to $10,073,050, and recipients were located across the United States, especially in California, Texas, Nebraska, New York, and Kansas. It describes a grant-request process for donors, not an application process for organizations, so unsolicited requests are not stated as accepted.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
3,282
Total Given
$212.2M
Union Pacific Foundation
Omaha, NE
The Union Pacific Foundation funds 501(c)(3) nonprofits in Union Pacific communities, prioritizing safety, workforce development, community vitality, environmental sustainability, and local needs. Its annual local grants are typically $5,000–$30,000, though awards overall ranged from $5,000 to $600,000 in 2025; it prioritizes local operating communities, with the most 2025 funding going to Nebraska. It accepts online applications during designated periods and says it does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$75K
Grants
441
Total Given
$8.2M
The Susan Thompson Buffett Foundation
Omaha, NE
The foundation funds Nebraska college scholarships and charitable organizations, particularly in reproductive and international health; its 2025 grants had a median of about $603,000, with awards ranging from $3,425 to $80.5 million. Its grants reach organizations in the U.S. and internationally, while scholarships are limited to eligible Nebraska students attending Nebraska public colleges. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$2.7B
Grants
417
Total Given
$1.5B
Nebraska Community Foundation
Lincoln, NE
Nebraska Community Foundation supports local priorities that strengthen Nebraska communities, including economic development, quality of life, arts, and community facilities, primarily through affiliated funds. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,250 to $956,500, with a median of $17,139; its work is statewide, and 93% of 2025 grant dollars went to Nebraska recipients. The information describes application routes for specific library programs and affiliated funds but does not state whether NCF accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$277.7M
Grants
409
Total Given
$16.7M
Lincoln Community Foundation Inc
Lincoln, NE
The Lincoln Community Foundation funds nonprofit operations, programs, and capital projects in arts and culture, community improvement, education and youth, environment and animals, and health and human services in Lincoln/Lancaster County, Nebraska. Open Door Grants are capped at $20,000, and eligible nonprofits may apply once per calendar year. The foundation accepts applications throughout the year and reviews them monthly.
Assets
$250.9M
Grants
379
Total Given
$21.9M
National Arbor Day Foundation
Lincoln, NE
The National Arbor Day Foundation funds tree planting, urban and municipal forestry, forest restoration, and environmental education, with grants supporting nonprofits and communities. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,000 to $1.71 million, with a median of $37,500, and went to recipients across the United States. It describes an application and review process but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$136.3M
Grants
181
Total Given
$11.6M
Weitz Family Foundation
Omaha, NE
The Weitz Family Foundation supports nonprofits working in arts, education, health, human services, and public benefit, with an emphasis on equity and racial justice; most funding goes to Nebraska, especially Omaha. Its 2025 grants ranged from $15 to $606,500, with a median of $50,000; Beloved Community applicants may request up to $20,000, while Capacity Building grants start at $21,000. Although it offers annual application opportunities, the foundation states that it does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$19.6M
Grants
171
Total Given
$19.4M
More Funders in Nebraska
Clifton B & Anne S Batchelder Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?