Children's Health Care is a public charity based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Its 2024 filing describes a pediatric health system with two hospital facilities and 462 staffed beds, alongside education and research programs. Its stated mission is to champion the health needs of children and families through high-quality, family-centered care, research and education.
Key facts about Children's Health Care
In short: Children's Health Care gave $355K across 13 grants in 2024 (avg $27K), mostly in Minnesota. 69% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 41-1754276
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $354,800
- Grants made (2024)
- 13
- Average grant
- $27,292
- Median grant
- $15,800
- New grantees (estimate)
- 69% first-time grantees (9 of 13, 2024)
- Total assets
- $1,890,955,620
- Primary geography
- Minnesota (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$1.9B
+2.2% YoY
Annual Giving
$355K
+218.4% YoY
Grant Count
13
+44.4% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$27K
+120.5% YoY
Is Children's Health Care open to new grantees?
69%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 9 of 13 grantees (69%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $31K; repeat grants $19K. How we count
Medians: $16K first-time, $15K repeat.
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The mission stated in the organization’s 2024 filing is: “We champion the health needs of children and families. We are committed to improving children's health by providing the highest-quality, family centered care, advanced through research and education.”
The filing describes hospital services, professional education and research. It reports 348 open research studies, including 171 actively recruiting clinical trials, and says the organization received about $5.3 million in 2024 from industry contracts and federal, state and foundation sponsors. That figure is funding received, not grants given.
Children’s Minnesota’s website describes community-health work involving community partnerships, health equity, policy advocacy and connections to social and legal services for families. The website also describes a Community Health Innovation Fund developed with Delta Dental of Minnesota Foundation, with $500,000 in grants for community-led initiatives addressing pediatric physical, dental and mental health disparities. It says selected Minnesota nonprofits were invited to apply for one-year grants and that applications were reviewed in consultation with the foundation, with grantees selected by the Community Advisory Council.
The grantees’ own stated missions illustrate some of the organizations supported: QueerSpace Collective says it provides a safe, empowering space for LGBTQ+ youth; Children’s Dental Services says it works to improve oral health for children from low-income families through accessible treatment and education; and the Minnesota Zoo Foundation says it raises contributed income and supports conservation and animal care programs for the Minnesota Zoo.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the filing reports 13 grants totaling $354,800. Grants ranged from $6,000 to $67,500, with a median of $15,800. Notable recipients included QueerSpace Collective ($67,500), Children’s Dental Services ($62,500), Vietnamese Social Services of Minnesota ($62,500), Greater MSP ($40,000) and the Minnesota Zoo Foundation ($25,000). The listed grant purposes include health education and outreach, expanding dental access, improving health outcomes for Vietnamese communities and a nature wellness day.
Ready to take the next step with Children's Health Care?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
All grant dollars reported in the organization’s 2024 filing went to recipients in Minnesota. The organization’s website says it provides services and maintains facilities within Minnesota.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 13 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $111K (2023) to $355K (2024). In 2024 it made 13 grants totaling $355K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Queerspace Collective ($68K). Together the top 10 received $330K.
Grant Size Distribution
58 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 55 grants of 58 (95%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Queerspace Collective Minneapolis, MN | Health Education and Outreach | $67,500 |
| Childrens Dental Services Minneapolis, MN | Grant to Expand Dental Access | $62,500 |
| Vietnamese Social Services of MN St. Paul, MN | Improving Health Outcomes for Vietnamese | $62,500 |
| Greater MSP St. Paul, MN | Minnesota Racial Equite Coalition | $40,000 |
| Minnesota Zoo Foundation Apple Valley, MN | Nature Wellness Day | $25,000 |
| RAE Mackenzie Group Inc Minneapolis, MN | Color Career Fair & Celebrate Sistas | $19,000 |
| Childrens MN Foundation Edina, MN | Gala Sponsorship and Memorial | $15,800 |
| State of Minnesota St. Paul, MN | State of Minnesota MLK Celebration | $15,000 |
| Hemophilia Fdtn of MN and Dakotas Mendota Heights, MN | Various Sponsorships | $12,000 |
| Rondald McDonald House Minneapolis, MN | Golf Classic, Brew Love, Gala Sponsorship | $11,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $1,890,955,620 | $1,206,394,087 | $1,145,365,669 | $354,800 |
| 2023 | $1,849,417,742 | $1,138,461,020 | $1,124,141,546 | $111,418 |
| 2022 | $1,731,037,973 | $1,057,316,128 | $1,019,682,232 | $177,523 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,890,955,620 | $1,849,417,742 | $1,731,037,973 |
| Revenue | $1,206,394,087 | $1,138,461,020 | $1,057,316,128 |
| Expenses | $1,145,365,669 | $1,124,141,546 | $1,019,682,232 |
| Net Investment Income | $72,572,936 | $49,987,335 | $18,753,193 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 14, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 12, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 14, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 15, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 17, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Marc Gorelick, MD, as president and CEO; Brenda McCormick as SVP and CFO; and Andrew Pugh as board secretary and SVP CLO. It lists JJ Kuhn as board chair and Archelle Georgiou as vice chair. Other listed board members are William Mize, MD, Linda Hall, Jean Kane, Jim Leslie and Chris Hedberg.
Children's Health Care is led by Marc Gorelick MD, President & CEO on every filing since 2020; 25 of 41 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Marc Gorelick MD
President & CEO
On filings since 2020
47 hrs/week
$1.4M (2020) → $3.7M (2024)
Jenny Soderholm
Foundation President
On filings since 2022
18 hrs/week
$418K (2022) → $226K (2024)
Jj Kuhn
Board Member & Chair
Board Member → Board Member & Chair Elect, 2023
Board Member & Chair Elect → Board Member & Chair, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Meysam Kebriaei MD
Surgical Director & Peds Neurosurgeon
Surgical Director & Neurosurgeon → Staff Physician, 2023
Staff Physician → Surgical Director & Peds Neurosurgeon, 2024
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$964K (2020) → $1.1M (2024)
Andrea Lampland MD
Medical Director Neonatology
Medical Director Neonatology → Medical Director Neonatolo, 2023
Medical Director Neonatolo → Medical Director Neonatology, 2024
On filings since 2021
50 hrs/week
$847K (2021) → $815K (2024)
Anupam Kharbanda MD
Clinical Vice President & Chief of Critical Care
Chief of Critical Care Service → Clinical Vice President & Chief of Critical Care, 2023
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$434K (2020) → $513K (2024)
Brenda McCormick
Senior Vice President & CFO
On filings since 2020
47 hrs/week
$566K (2020) → $945K (2024)
David Lundal
Senior Vice President CIO
Vice President It & CIO → Vice President & Chief Information Officer, 2021
Vice President & Chief Information Officer → Senior Vice President CIO, 2022
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$317K (2020) → $576K (2024)
Emily Chapman MD
Senior Vice President Medical Affairs & CMO
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$677K (2020) → $975K (2024)
James Burroughs
Senior Vice President Govt, Committee Relations & Ceio
Chief Equity & Incl. Officer → Vice President & Chief Diversity Officer, 2021
Vice President & Chief Diversity Officer → Senior Vice President Govt, Committee Relations & Ceio, 2022
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$223K (2020) → $396K (2024)
James Leste
Vice President Operations
Vice President Support Operations → Vice President Operations, 2021
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$341K (2020) → $282K (2024)
Jennifer Olson Market
Former Senior Vice President & COO
Senior Vice President & Chief Operations Officer → Senior Vice President & COO, 2023
Senior Vice President & COO → Former Senior Vice President & COO, 2024
On filings since 2020
$695K (2020) → $695K (2024)
Kyle Halvorson MD
Staff Physician
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$884K (2020) → $1.1M (2024)
Laurin Cathey
Senior Vice President & Chro
Vice President Human Resources → Vice President Chief Hr Officer, 2021
Vice President Chief Hr Officer → Senior Vice President & Chro, 2023
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$321K (2020) → $547K (2024)
Monica Schiller
Vice President Ambulatory Services
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$303K (2020) → $325K (2024)
Pamela Gigi Chawla MD
Vice President Chief of General Peds
Vice President Chief of General Pediatrics → Vice President Chief of General Pediat, 2023
Vice President Chief of General Pediat → Vice President Chief of General Peds, 2024
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$439K (2020) → $411K (2024)
Susan Sencer MD
Vice President Chief of Speciality Peds
Vice President Chief Specialty Pediatrics → Vice President Chief Specialty Pediatr, 2023
Vice President Chief Specialty Pediatr → Vice President Chief of Speciality Peds, 2024
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$420K (2020) → $518K (2024)
Susan Slocum
Chief Investment Officer
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$271K (2020) → $312K (2024)
Andrew Berndt
Vice President Clinical Services
Senior Director Clinical Serv- Neonatal → Vice President Critical Care & Neonatal Svcs, 2022
Vice President Critical Care & Neonatal Svcs → Vice President Clinical Services, 2023
On filings since 2021
50 hrs/week
$160K (2021) → $235K (2024)
Caroline Njau
Senior Vice President Patient Care Svcs & Cno
Senior Vice President Patient Care Svcs & Cno → Senior Vice President Patient Care Svcs, 2023
Senior Vice President Patient Care Svcs → Senior Vice President Patient Care Svcs & Cno, 2024
On filings since 2021
50 hrs/week
$258K (2021) → $620K (2024)
Andrew Pugh
Board Secretary & Senior Vice President Clo
Senior Vice President Chief Legal Officer → Board Secretary & Senior Vice President Clo, 2024
On filings since 2022
48 hrs/week
$506K (2022) → $661K (2024)
Timothy Lander MD
Clinical Vice President & Chief of Surgery
Chief of Surgery → Clinical Vice President & Chief of Surgery, 2023
On filings since 2022
47 hrs/week
$503K (2022) → $500K (2024)
William Mize MD
M.d. Radiology & Board Member
Md Radiology & Board Member → M.d. Radiology & Board Member, 2024
On filings since 2023
47 hrs/week
$763K (2023) → $725K (2024)
Amy Bruzek MD
Staff Physician
New on the 2024 filing
50 hrs/week
$815K (2024)
Brenda Beckwith
Vice President Clinical Services
New on the 2024 filing
37 hrs/week
$173K (2024)
Brianne Roby MD
Staff Physician
New on the 2024 filing
50 hrs/week
$696K (2024)
Jean Kane
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jim Leslie
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Linda Hall
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Archelle Georgiou
Board Member & Vice Chair
Board Member & Board Chair Elect → Board Member & Chair, 2022
Board Member & Chair → Board Member & Vice Chair, 2024
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Brooke Moore
Board Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Chris Hedberg
Board Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Damu McCoy
Board Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Garfield Bowen
Board Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeff Von Gillern
Board Member & Treasurer
Board Member → Board Member & Treasurer, 2023
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Thomas Goodmanson
Board Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Anna Richo
Board Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Shelley Carthen Watson
Board Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
J. Kevin Croston
Board Member
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Matt Van Slooten
Board Member
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rebecca Lieberman
Board Member
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (31)
- Former: Carolyn Smallwood (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Deneen Vojta (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Gary Blackford (2020–2023) — Board Member & Vice Chair
- Former: Jill Schurtz (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Matt Bilunas (2020–2023) — Board Member & Treasurer
- Former: Kristin Peterson (2022–2023) — Former Vice President Acute Care & Clinical Ops
- Former: A. Kade Goepferd (2023) — Chief of Executive Director & Former Board Member
- Former: Sachin Patel (2023) — Staff Physician
- Former: Shilpa Hedge (2023) — Staff Physician
- Former: Angela Goepferd MD (2020–2022) — Chief Education Officer
- Former: Bonnie Speer McGrath (2020–2022) — Former Board Member
- Former: Charles Maxwell (2020–2022) — Former Treasurer
- Former: Henry Chang (2020–2022) — Former Board Member
- Former: Maria Christu (2020–2022) — Former Senior Vice President Advocacy, Health Policy & Clo
- Former: Tracy Pfiefer (2020–2022) — Vice President Ops Mother Baby Clin Svc
- Former: Mark Bergeron MD (2021–2022) — Medical Director Neonatology
- Former: Jill Therien MD (2022) — Medical Director Neonatology
- Former: Alvin Abraham (2020–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Claudia Hines (2020–2021) — Senior Director Clin Svcs-Pediatrics
- Former: Jennifer Soderhelm (2020–2021) — President & Foundation
- Former: Joseph Petronio MD (2020–2021) — Surgical Director & Peds Neurosurg
- Former: Kelly Lemieux (2020–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Martin L. Bassett (2020–2021) — Board Vice Chair
- Former: Trevor Sawallish (2020–2021) — Senior Vice President & COO
- Former: Anne Louise Boisclair-Fahey (2021) — Interim Cno
- Former: Deneen Votja (2021) — Board Member
- Former: Gloria Drake (2020) — Senior Director Clin Svcs-Perioperative
- Former: Kathleen Penson (2020) — Senior Director Clin Svcs-Critical Care
- Former: Pamala Vanhazinga (2020) — Senior Vice President Patient Care Svcs & Cno
- Former: Sivakumar Chinnadurai MD (2020) — Staff Physician
- Former: Thomas George MD (2020) — System Medical Director Neonatology
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $3.7M, to Marc Gorelick MD (President and CEO). 25 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: 2525 Chicago Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1844
Phone: (612) 813-6000
Website: https://childrensmn.org
Frequently asked questions about Children's Health Care
How much does Children's Health Care give each year?
Children's Health Care gave $355K across 13 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $111K across 9 grants.
What is Children's Health Care's typical grant size?
Children's Health Care's median grant in 2024 was $15,800, and its average grant was $27,292, across 13 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Children's Health Care that year got $31K on average.
Where does Children's Health Care give grants?
Children's Health Care gives mostly in Minnesota: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Minneapolis, MN (6 grants) and St. Paul, MN (4 grants).
Does Children's Health Care give general operating support?
Not in 2024: none of the 13 grants with a stated purpose on Children's Health Care's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.
Who are Children's Health Care's largest grantees?
Children's Health Care's largest 2024 grantees include Queerspace Collective ($67,500), Childrens Dental Services ($62,500) and Vietnamese Social Services of MN ($62,500), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 54% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Children's Health Care?
Children's Health Care reported $1.9B in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.2B.
What does Children's Health Care fund?
The mission stated in the organization’s 2024 filing is: “We champion the health needs of children and families. We are committed to improving children's health by providing the highest-quality, family centered care, advanced through research and education.” See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Children's Health Care?
Children's Health Care has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check childrensmn.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.
What is Children's Health Care's EIN?
Children's Health Care's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-1754276. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Children's Health Care by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Children's Health Care's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Minneapolis Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Minneapolis Foundation supports civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education equity, community safety, health, and the environment. In 2025, its grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; 77% of grant dollars went to Minnesota recipients. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; current opportunities are closed, and some programs are invitation-based.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
1,565
Total Given
$121.7M
Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation
St. Paul, MN
The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic development, health and human services, youth and education, arts and culture, democracy, and nonprofit capacity, serving the East Metro and communities statewide. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000, while the Management Improvement Fund offers up to $15,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through open application programs, though some opportunities are invite-only.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
1,473
Total Given
$107.2M
Otto Bremer Trust
St. Paul, MN
The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
180
Total Given
$57.2M
Andersen Corporate Foundation
Bayport, MN
Andersen Corporate Foundation funds housing, education, healthcare, hunger relief, and other basic needs in communities where Andersen employees live and work, especially in Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Iowa. Grants are typically around $10,000, though awards vary; a current program listing gives a range of $5,000–$50,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; giving is by invitation only.
Assets
$54.6M
Grants
162
Total Given
$2.5M
Mortenson Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Mortenson Family Foundation funds community-driven work advancing equity and opportunity for children and families in Minnesota’s seven-county metro, environmental health across Minnesota, and sustainable development in 14 Central American and African countries. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $250,000, with a median of $15,000; applicants can submit when an opportunity is open, while some opportunities are by invitation, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$141.8M
Grants
262
Total Given
$6.2M
Pohlad Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
Assets
$76.4M
Grants
372
Total Given
$14.1M
The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$218.3M
Grants
1,431
Total Given
$47.9M
Wells Fargo Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Wells Fargo Foundation funds nonprofits working on financial opportunity, affordable housing, and small-business growth, with giving at national and local levels. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $8 million, with a median of $35,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations are invited to apply.
Assets
$8.6M
Grants
1,376
Total Given
$157.4M
C K Blandin Foundation
Grand Rapids, MN
The C K Blandin Foundation funds community wealth-building, rural placemaking and small-community efforts, including work on housing, civic engagement, community spaces and food systems. It primarily supports rural Minnesota, especially Itasca County and nearby communities, and its 2024 median grant was $2,900, though awards ranged from $50 to $335,000.
Assets
$506.3M
Grants
931
Total Given
$15.8M
The McKnight Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The McKnight Foundation funds nonprofit organizations, research, and community initiatives in arts and culture, food systems, climate and energy, neuroscience, and equitable communities, primarily in Minnesota and the Midwest, with some work in Africa and South America and beyond. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,150 to $10 million, with a median of $100,000; prospective applicants are asked to contact program staff first, who provide proposal instructions if they determine funding may be considered.
Assets
$2.7B
Grants
790
Total Given
$145.9M
Neighborhood Development Center Inc
Saint Paul, MN
Neighborhood Development Center supports entrepreneurs and neighborhood revitalization through business financing, training, services, and affordable commercial space, primarily in Saint Paul and Minneapolis, with grants going to Minnesota recipients. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $207,211, with a median of $13,500. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; a specific small-business grant RFP described was a past cycle.
Assets
$55.3M
Grants
571
Total Given
$10.2M
Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund
Duluth, MN
The Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund awards scholarships to eligible students pursuing mathematics, science, engineering, or medical fields, primarily serving students from northern Minnesota. Recent awards were typically $2,500, with grants ranging from $2,500 to $3,000. It accepts applications through its scholarship programs; high-school applications are due January 15, and the college-transfer pathway also has an application process.
Assets
$18.4M
Grants
566
Total Given
$1.5M
More Funders in Minnesota
Children's Health Care down — hundreds of funders to go?