Chapin Hall Center for Children
Chapin hall's mission is to improve the well-being of children and youth, families, and their communities through broad-perspective policy research.
Chapin Hall Center for Children at a glance
- Total assets
- $57,554,434
- +2.8% vs 2024
- Revenue (2025)
- $27,023,186
- +1.0% vs 2024
- Net investment income (2025)
- $995,988
- -20.3% vs 2024
- Expenses (2025)
- $25,449,261
- -0.9% vs 2024
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Chapin Hall Center for Children funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
12 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 7 grants of 12 (58%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Cities
How Chapin Hall Center for Children gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2020 to 2023 (+0%). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2023, annual grant giving ranged from $60K (2020) to $240K (2022). In 2023 it made 3 grants totaling $60K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Rutgers the State University of New Jersey New Brunswick, NJ | Small grants, available to teams of doris duke fellows and policy or practice partners, will support applied research projects that address a specific policy or practice challenge. | $20,000 |
| Board of Regents Nevada System of Higher Education Reno, NV | Small grants, available to teams of doris duke fellows and policy or practice partners, will support applied research projects that address a specific policy or practice challenge. | $20,000 |
| The University of Alabama Tuscaloosa, AL | Small grants, available to teams of doris duke fellows and policy or practice partners, will support applied research projects that address a specific policy or practice challenge. | $20,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Chapin Hall Center for Children?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $57,554,434 | $27,023,186 | $25,449,261 | — | — | $995,988 |
| 2024 | $55,983,385 | $26,744,085 | $25,690,426 | — | — | $1,249,207 |
| 2023 | $54,125,300 | $24,100,131 | $23,572,053 | $60,000 | 3 | $868,098 |
| 2022 | $55,502,225 | $23,908,514 | $21,232,962 | $240,000 | 6 | $1,654,116 |
| 2021 | $58,486,943 | $23,712,320 | $17,725,821 | $160,000 | 3 | $3,220,079 |
| 2020 | $43,057,671 | $20,531,750 | $20,201,273 | $60,000 | 3 | $836,825 |
| 2019 | $42,831,453 | $23,394,739 | $21,826,897 | $180,000 | 3 | $1,413,674 |
About Chapin Hall Center for Children
Based on IRS filings
Chapin Hall Center for Children is a public charity focused on Human Services, based in Chicago, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $57.6M in total assets. Net investment income was $996K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Chapin Hall Center for Children is led by Bryan Samuels, Executive Director - since 2025 (on filings since 2019); 6 of 26 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Bryan Samuels
Executive Director -
Executive Director → Executive Director -, 2025
On filings since 2019
37.5 hrs/week
$354K (2019) → $451K (2025)
Daniel Abebe
Chair -
Chair → Chair -, 2025
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
David Bley
Chair -
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Deborah Gorman-Smith
Director -
Director → Director -, 2025
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mary Ellen Caron
Director -
Director → Director -, 2025
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Katherine Kinzler
Director -
Director → Director -, 2025
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Quinn Rallins
Director -
Director → Director -, 2025
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Chaula Gupta
Director -
Director → Director -, 2025
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Bj Walker
Director -
Director → Director -, 2025
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Selwyn Rogers
Director -
Director → Director -, 2025
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Juan Carlos Linares
Director -
Director → Director -, 2025
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ka Yee Lee
Director -
Director → Director -, 2025
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
George Spencer
Director -
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Hanh Cao Yu
Director -
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Janet Chess
Director -
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Justin Milner
Director -
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lisa Morrison Butler
Director -
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Martin Rodgers
Director -
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Prudence Beidler Carr
Director -
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Thomas Elden
Director -
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Anne F. Farrell
Senior Research Fellow & Lead Research Mentor
Director of Research → Senior Research Fellow & Lead Research Mentor, 2025
On filings since 2019
37.5 hrs/week
$212K (2019) → $246K (2025)
Clare Anderson
Senior Policy Fellow
Policy Fellow → Senior Policy Fellow, 2021
On filings since 2019
37.5 hrs/week
$183K (2019) → $251K (2025)
Friedhelm Wulczyn
Senior Research Fellow
On filings since 2019
37.5 hrs/week
$259K (2019) → $328K (2025)
Dana Weiner
Senior Policy Fellow
On filings since 2021
37.5 hrs/week
$219K (2021) → $249K (2025)
Jon Korfmacher
Senior Research Fellow
New on the 2025 filing
37.5 hrs/week
$252K (2025)
Paul Castellucci
Treasurer -
Treasurer → Treasurer -, 2025
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (13)
- Former: Doriane Miller (2019–2024) — Director
- Former: Maricela Garcia (2019–2024) — Vice Chair
- Former: Robert Goerge (2019–2024) — Senior Research Fellow
- Former: Jim Croft (2019–2022) — Treasurer
- Former: John Mark Hansen (2019–2022) — Chair
- Former: Ivan Samstein (2020–2022) — Treasurer
- Former: Colm O'Muircheartaigh (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Sunil Garg (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: David Fithian (2019–2020) — Director
- Former: Susan Levine (2019–2020) — Director
- Former: Richard A Epstein (2020) — Research Fellow
- Former: Adrienne Y Bailey (2019) — Vice Chair
- Former: John Lyons (2019) — Senior Research Fellow
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $451K, to Bryan Samuels (Executive Director - Thru 9/2024). 6 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Chapin Hall Center for Children
How large is Chapin Hall Center for Children?
Chapin Hall Center for Children reported $57.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $27.0M.
What is Chapin Hall Center for Children?
Chapin Hall Center for Children is a public charity focused on Human Services, based in Chicago, IL. It holds $57.6M in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Chapin Hall Center for Children operate?
Chapin Hall Center for Children has awarded grants in Alabama, California, Georgia, Illinois, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Nevada, South Carolina.
What is Chapin Hall Center for Children's EIN?
Chapin Hall Center for Children's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-2167012. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(3)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 14, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS March 22, 2021)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025
Live grants for the work Chapin Hall Center for Children funds
Human Services Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Chapin Hall Center for Children's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation
Kansas City, MO
The foundation funds college access and completion, workforce and career development, entrepreneurship, and related efforts to improve economic mobility, with a primary focus on Kansas City and support for regional and national work. Its 2024 grants had a median of $75,000; it accepts requests through its online portal and says it does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$2.5B
Grants
364
Total Given
$95.0M
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
Bethesda, MD
The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related training and clinical programs. In 2024, its grants had a median of about $150,000, with awards ranging from $2,800 to nearly $12.9 million; it supports work nationwide. Applications are submitted through specific funding opportunities, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$5.0B
Grants
624
Total Given
$189.6M
Alzheimer's Disease & Related Disorders Association Inc
Chicago, IL
The Alzheimer’s Association funds Alzheimer’s and dementia research, including basic, clinical, social and behavioral studies, and supports care, prevention, early detection, awareness, and advocacy. In 2025, its 79 grants ranged from $10,000 to $13.3 million, with a median of $270,750; research opportunities are open to U.S. and international researchers.
Assets
$523.7M
Grants
79
Total Given
$73.3M
Yale University
New Haven, CT
Yale University funds sponsored research, education and institutional programs, student aid, and charitable or community support, with 2025 grants ranging from $3,000 to $14.3 million and a median of about $136,000. Grants went to recipients in multiple states, with the largest shares in Connecticut, California, Massachusetts, New York, and Pennsylvania. The information does not state whether Yale accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$58.9B
Grants
364
Total Given
$168.2M
The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation
Menlo Park, CA
The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation funds education, climate and conservation, the arts, democracy, gender equity, racial justice, and efforts to strengthen nonprofits and philanthropy, with work spanning the San Francisco Bay Area, the U.S. West, and locations including East and West Africa and Mexico. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $150,000, though amounts varied widely. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests, but sometimes invites proposals through open processes.
Assets
$14.2B
Grants
2,001
Total Given
$625.0M
Emory University
Atlanta, GA
Emory University primarily funds research and subcontract work for universities, hospitals, research organizations, and other organizations, across a range of academic and health-related fields. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,500 to $19.1 million, with a median of about $97,000; 41% of grant dollars went to Georgia recipients. The profile does not state whether Emory accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$24.9B
Grants
362
Total Given
$183.7M
More similar funders
More Funders in Illinois
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Chapin Hall Center for Children's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Chapin Hall Center for Children down — hundreds of funders to go?