Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization

Public charity · Grantmaker St Cloud, MN EIN: 47-3521051

To support, and empower central Minnesota refugee and immigrant communities through service and advocacy.

Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization at a glance

In short: Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization reported $101K in grants paid in 2024 (a total; its filing lists no individual grants). Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Grants paid (2024)
$100,689 — reported as a total on the IRS filing, without an itemized list
+847.3% vs 2023
Total assets
$526,717
+59.6% vs 2023
Revenue (2024)
$1,271,883
+28.2% vs 2023
Expenses (2024)
$1,237,180
+24.3% vs 2023
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K2$50–100K3$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 3 grants of 5 (60%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

St Cloud

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K0 grants2020 2 grants2021 3 grants2022 Total only2023 Total only2024

From 2021 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $11K (2023) to $279K (2022). In 2024 it reported $101K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Islamic Center of St Cloud St Cloud, MNPrograms Benefiting Youth$102,143
Iqra Education Center St Cloud, MNPrograms Benefiting Youth$99,692
Hikmah Education Center St Cloud, MNPrograms Benefiting Youth$77,301
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$526,717$1,271,883$1,237,180$100,689Total only—
2023$330,118$992,304$994,930$10,629Total only—
2022$325,697$1,481,134$1,238,332$279,1363$2
2021$46,001$720,135$720,298$239,5342—
2020$40,828$743,096$708,138———

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization

Based on IRS filings

Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization is a public charity, based in St Cloud, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $527K in total assets. In 2024, it reported $101K in grants paid as a total on its IRS filing, without an itemized list.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization is led by Ronald Pagnucco, Board Chair on every filing since 2020; none of the 4 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Ronald Pagnucco

    Board Chair

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shirwa Adan

    Board Chair

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kathy Langer

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mary Quinlivan

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (10)
  • Former: David Leitzman (2022–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Gilvert Angervil (2022–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Jon Armajani (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Anisa Hagi-Mohamed (2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Consoler Teboh (2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Jane Leitzman (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Abdirizak Jama (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Abdullahi Ibrahim (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Jeanie Wilkens (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Ted Gorden (2020) — Board Member

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization

How much does Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization give each year?

Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization reported $101K in grants paid in 2024 on its 2024 IRS Form 990, as a total without an itemized list of grants. In 2023 it reported $11K in grants paid.

How large is Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization?

Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization reported $527K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.3M.

Where does Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization operate?

Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization has awarded grants in Minnesota.

What is Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization's EIN?

Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 47-3521051. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(5)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS March 18, 2022)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS October 31, 2023)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 15, 2024)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 13, 2025)
  5. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Minnesota

The Minneapolis Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Minneapolis Foundation funds civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education, health, the environment, arts, and human services, with most grant dollars going to Minnesota. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. It says no funding opportunities are currently open; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

1,565

Total Given

$121.7M

Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation

St. Paul, MN

The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic opportunity, health and human services, youth and education, housing, and organizational capacity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000; listed programs offer up to $50,000 for eligible East Metro work and up to $15,000 for qualifying Minnesota organizations. It accepts applications through specific programs, including rolling application opportunities; the Community Solutions Grant Program serves Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington counties.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

1,473

Total Given

$107.2M

The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$218.3M

Grants

1,431

Total Given

$47.9M

First Children's Finance

Minneapolis, MN

First Children’s Finance supports child care businesses and communities through grants for projects such as facility improvements, feasibility studies, and provider support, as well as loans paired with technical assistance. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,283 to $50,000, with a median of $11,839; grant examples are in Minnesota, Vermont, and Wisconsin, while its loan fund serves 10 states.

Human Services

Assets

$7.0M

Grants

80

Total Given

$1.1M

C K Blandin Foundation

Grand Rapids, MN

The C K Blandin Foundation funds rural Minnesota projects that build community wealth, improve rural places, strengthen small communities, and support capacity-building, with a primary focus on the Grand Rapids area. Rural grants are typically $25,000–$150,000; it does not accept unsolicited requests, offering opportunities through invitations or competitive RFPs.

Assets

$506.3M

Grants

931

Total Given

$15.8M

Otto Bremer Trust

St. Paul, MN

The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

180

Total Given

$57.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Minnesota

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Central Minnesota Community Empowerment Organization down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?