Center for Labor Education and

Public charity · Grantmaker Jamaica Plain, MA EIN: 22-2604923

The Center for Labor Education and research, inc. (CLEAR) supports projects that help educate the public about workers' rights and the effects of the changing economy on working people. We encourage the formulation of original and progressive public policy solutions to these issues.

Center for Labor Education and at a glance

In short: Center for Labor Education and gave $23K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $11K), mostly in Massachusetts. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$22,705
-74.2% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
2
-60.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$11,353
-35.5% vs 2024
Median grant
$11,353
Total assets
$1,101,315
-11.8% vs 2024
Primary geography
Massachusetts (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Center for Labor Education and funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 2 recipients in 2025

Resist Inc: $12KResist Inc$12KBrazilian Worker Center Inc: $11KBrazilian Worker Center Inc$11K

The largest 2025 recipient was Resist Inc ($12K). Together the top 2 received $23K.

Grant Size Distribution

8 grants across all recorded years

8<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 8 grants of 8 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.

Cities

Jamaica PlainAllisonCambridgeChelseaGT BarringtonNew BedfordHyde Park

How Center for Labor Education and gives

  • Giving fell 50% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100K0 grants2020 0 grants2021 1 grant2022 0 grants2023 5 grants2024 2 grants2025

From 2022 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $23K (2025) to $88K (2024). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $23K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Resist Inc Jamaica Plain, MAFinancial Assistance$11,705
Brazilian Worker Center Inc Allison, MAFinancial Assistance$11,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Center for Labor Education and?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$1,101,315$729,585$892,298$22,7052$37,752
2024$1,249,264$530,040$994,464$88,0005$70,214
2023$1,767,802$401,577$729,621——$53,785
2022$2,100,553$966,257$1,286,448$45,0001$2,527
2021$2,539,567$2,775,599$1,478,620——$2,920
2020$1,246,332$2,313,050$1,586,840——$3,942

About Center for Labor Education and

Based on IRS filings

Center for Labor Education and is a public charity focused on Civil Rights, Social Action & Advocacy, based in Jamaica Plain, MA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.1M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $23K. Net investment income was $38K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Center for Labor Education and is led by Alicia Fleming, Executive Director since 2025 (on filings since 2021); 3 of 9 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Alicia Fleming

    Executive Director

    Co-Executive Director → Executive Director, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $60K (2021) → $120K (2025)

  • Marcelle Grair

    President

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Isaac Bears

    Director of Finance & Operations

    Clerk → Former Clerk, 2022

    Former Clerk → Director of Finance & Operations, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $79K (2025)

  • Lily Huang

    Former Co-Executive Director

    Co-Executive Director → Former Co-Executive Director, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $58K (2020) → $113K (2025)

  • Al Vega

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Julie Pinkham

    Former Board Member

    Board Member → Former Board Member, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Patrick Burke

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Yamila Ruiz

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ada Fuentes

    Secretary

    Board Member → Clerk, 2023

    Clerk → Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (9)
  • Former: Marcelle Griar (2020–2024) — President
  • Former: Dana Alas (2023–2024) — Former Board Member
  • Former: John Ratcliff (2020–2023) — Former Board Member
  • Former: Sheila Gilmour (2020–2022) — Former Board Member
  • Former: Anne Sills (2020) — Former Clerk
  • Former: Ellen Wallace (2020) — Former Board Member
  • Former: George Luse (2020) — Former Treasurer
  • Former: Gillian Mason (2020) — Co-Executive Director
  • Former: Rand Wilson (2020) — Former President

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Alicia Fleming — Executive Director: $120KAlicia FlemingExecutive Director$120KLily Huang — Former Co-Executive Director: $113KLily HuangFormer Co-Executive Director$113KIsaac Bears — Director of Finance and Operations: $79KIsaac BearsDirector of Finance and…$79K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $120K, to Alicia Fleming (Executive Director). 3 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Center for Labor Education and

How much does Center for Labor Education and give each year?

Center for Labor Education and gave $23K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $88K across 5 grants.

How large is Center for Labor Education and?

Center for Labor Education and reported $1.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $730K.

What is Center for Labor Education and?

Center for Labor Education and is a public charity focused on Civil Rights, Social Action & Advocacy, based in Jamaica Plain, MA. It holds $1.1M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Center for Labor Education and operate?

Center for Labor Education and has awarded grants in Massachusetts.

What is Center for Labor Education and's EIN?

Center for Labor Education and's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 22-2604923. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(2)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS July 22, 2026)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Center for Labor Education and's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Wagner Foundation

Cambridge, MA

Wagner Foundation funds health equity, economic wellbeing, and arts and culture, supporting organizations in the United States, Africa, Latin America, and Haiti, with much of its recent grantmaking going to Massachusetts. Its typical grants range from $3,000 to $3 million, with a 2024 median of $50,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; grants are by invitation only.

Assets

$161.1M

Grants

132

Total Given

$12.5M

Eastern Bank Foundation

Wakefield, MA

Eastern Bank Foundation supports economic inclusion and mobility, including small businesses, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its 2025 grants ranged from $50 to $2,002,500, with a median of $2,500, primarily in Massachusetts and also in New Hampshire and Rhode Island. It accepts online applications and does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$266.7M

Grants

1,786

Total Given

$19.0M

Herman and Frieda L Miller Foundation

Boston, MA

The Herman and Frieda L Miller Foundation supports community organizing, housing, legal services, arts, and public policy, primarily in Massachusetts, with some funding in New York. Its 2025 grants ranged from $25,000 to $100,000, with a median of $55,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$47.6M

Grants

36

Total Given

$2.1M

RSF Social Finance Inc

San Francisco, CA

RSF Social Finance funds organizations and projects advancing social and environmental change, especially in food and agriculture, climate and energy, education, and community impact. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from $5,250 to $5.52 million; recipients were primarily in California, Maryland, New York, Georgia, and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether RSF accepts unsolicited requests.

Social Science

Assets

$108.4M

Grants

457

Total Given

$48.2M

Massachusetts Budget and Policy Center Inc

Boston, MA

MassBudget funds Massachusetts nonprofits working on tax equity, budget and policy advocacy, and issues affecting low- and moderate-income residents. In 2025, grants ranged from $7,500 to $100,000, with a median of $10,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.6M

Grants

18

Total Given

$369K

Health Resources in Action Inc

Boston, MA

Health Resources in Action administers grants for funders supporting biomedical research, community health, health equity, and related community services. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $120,000, with most funding going to Massachusetts organizations; some programs serve other specified regions. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$122.5M

Grants

195

Total Given

$26.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Massachusetts

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Center for Labor Education and's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Center for Labor Education and down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?