Carpenters Scholarship Fund

Private foundation · Grantmaker Warwick, RI EIN: 05-0436957

Carpenters Scholarship Fund is a private foundation based in Warwick, Rhode Island. Its 2025 filing reports that it pays scholarships to applicable recipients.

Carpenters Scholarship Fund at a glance

In short: Carpenters Scholarship Fund gave $30K across 22 grants in 2025 (avg $1K), top state Rhode Island. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$30,176
Grants made (2025)
22
Average grant
$1,372
Median grant
$1,550
Total assets
$208,934
-16.0% vs 2024
Primary geography
Rhode Island (46% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026.

How to apply to Carpenters Scholarship Fund

How to Apply

The filing lists Michael Holmes as the contact and describes the application materials and restrictions above.

Review Cycle
August 7, as listed on the 2025 filing; this date has passed.
Deadline
August 7, as listed on the 2025 filing; this date has passed.
Contact

Application contact: Michael Holmes
Mailing address: 14 Jefferson Park Rd, Warwick, RI 02888
Phone: (401) 424-1100

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who Carpenters Scholarship Fund funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

22 grants across all recorded years

22<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 22 grants of 22 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, 46% of grant dollars went to recipients in Rhode Island, 46% to recipients in Massachusetts, and 8% to recipients in Connecticut.

Grant Distribution by State

3states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 22 itemized grants.

Cities

BerkleyCharlestownCoventryCumberlandDanielsonDartmouthEast FreetownExeterFairhavenJohnstonManvilleNewportNortonPortsmouthRehobothSomersetSterlingTiverton

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K$40K0 grants2019 0 grants2020 0 grants2021 0 grants2022 0 grants2023 0 grants2024 22 grants2025

In 2025 it made 22 grants totaling $30K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
22 individual scholarships Recipients not named —$30,176
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Carpenters Scholarship Fund?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment Income
2025$208,934$179$39,998$30,17622$30,176$179
2024$248,753$957$40,120————
2023$287,916$1,068$32,357————
2022$319,205$120$27,775————
2021$346,860—$32,014————
2020$378,874$43$44,077————
2019$422,908$62,099$40,363————

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The funder’s 2025 filing describes direct charitable activity as paying scholarships to applicable recipients. It does not state a separate mission.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the funder reported 22 scholarship grants totaling $30,176. Grants ranged from $276 to $1,600, with a median of $1,550. The largest awards were 11 grants of $1,600 each; another reported award was $1,500.

The 2025 filing says applicants must submit a completed application form, original semester transcripts, and proof of tuition payment. Its stated restrictions are membership in Local 330 for at least two years; age not over 40, or dependent age 26; enrollment in an accredited degree program as a full-time student; a minimum GPA of 2.0; and not receiving other scholarships.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Anthony Elgar, Robert Morris, Matthew Medeiros, and Zachary McQuesten as trustees, and Michael Holmes as chairman.

Carpenters Scholarship Fund is led by Michael Holmes, Chairman on every filing since 2019; none of the 5 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Michael Holmes

    Chairman

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anthony Elgar

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matthew Medeiros

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Zachary McQuesten

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Morris

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Andrew Gifford (2019–2021) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Carpenters Scholarship Fund

How much does Carpenters Scholarship Fund give each year?

Carpenters Scholarship Fund gave $30K across 22 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

What is Carpenters Scholarship Fund's typical grant size?

Carpenters Scholarship Fund's median grant in 2025 was $1,550, and its average grant was $1,372, across 22 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Carpenters Scholarship Fund give grants?

Carpenters Scholarship Fund's top state is Rhode Island, with 46% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Massachusetts (46%) and Connecticut (8%).

Does Carpenters Scholarship Fund give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 22 grants with a stated purpose on Carpenters Scholarship Fund's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (22 grants).

How large is Carpenters Scholarship Fund?

Carpenters Scholarship Fund reported $209K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Its revenue that year was $179.

What does Carpenters Scholarship Fund fund?

The funder’s 2025 filing describes direct charitable activity as paying scholarships to applicable recipients. It does not state a separate mission. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Carpenters Scholarship Fund?

The filing lists Michael Holmes as the contact and describes the application materials and restrictions above. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Carpenters Scholarship Fund's EIN?

Carpenters Scholarship Fund's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 05-0436957. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(2)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-EZ for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS March 13, 2020)
  2. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 27, 2026)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Carpenters Scholarship Fund's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Rhode Island

The Rhode Island Community Foundation

Providence, RI

The Rhode Island Community Foundation funds nonprofits and community efforts in areas including education, arts and culture, housing, health, climate action, and economic mobility. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $23,940, with giving concentrated in Rhode Island; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.3B

Grants

977

Total Given

$72.0M

CVS Foundation

Woonsocket, RI

CVS Foundation funds health care access and outcomes, preventive and community health, health-related needs such as food and housing, education and workforce development, and disaster response across the United States. In 2024, it made 778 grants totaling about $21.4 million; awards ranged from $250 to $2.46 million, with a median of $1,500. It does not accept unsolicited requests; support is by invitation or RFP only, and no RFPs are currently open.

Assets

$194.3M

Grants

778

Total Given

$21.4M

United Way of Rhode Island Inc

Providence, RI

United Way of Rhode Island funds Rhode Island nonprofits working on economic security, children’s learning, housing, food access, safety, and related community needs. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,008 to $547,033, with a median of $15,000; its emergency grants offer up to $50,000, with average awards of $25,000–$30,000. It accepts applications for emergency grants on a rolling basis.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$30.1M

Grants

282

Total Given

$8.0M

Ralph R Papitto & Barbara a Papitto

Providence, RI

Papitto Opportunity Connection funds Rhode Island 501(c)(3) organizations working in education, job skills training, housing, healthcare, and entrepreneurship, with a focus on communities most in need. It gives about $6 million annually; small grants are generally $5,000–$20,000, though awards vary widely. It accepts unsolicited applications during set periods, but its application page says proposals are not currently being accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$6.8M

Grants

270

Total Given

$24.3M

Brown University

Providence, RI

Brown University’s reported grants support education, student aid, and research, with listed awards primarily identified as subcontracts. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,325 to $3.36 million, with a median of about $98,700; recipients were concentrated in Rhode Island, Massachusetts, California, New York, and Washington, DC. The profile does not state that Brown accepts unsolicited requests; its website describes proposal support for Brown researchers.

Assets

$11.3B

Grants

235

Total Given

$47.0M

The Beacon Foundation

Warwick, RI

The Beacon Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and municipalities working in health, wellness, education, disability services, and other charitable or civic areas, with priority for Rhode Island and nearby communities. Its 2025 grants ranged from $20 to $20,100, with a median of $1,000. It accepts unsolicited requests.

Human Services

Assets

$4.5M

Grants

151

Total Given

$205K

More similar funders

More Funders in Rhode Island

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Carpenters Scholarship Fund's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Carpenters Scholarship Fund down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?