Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital logo

Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital

Foundation · Grantmaker Roanoke, VA EIN: 54-0568001 Website

Our mission is to improve the health of the communities we serve through our commitment to a common purpose of better patient care, better community health, and lower cost.

Key facts about Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital

In short: Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital gave $367K across 17 grants in 2024 (avg $22K). Source: 2024 IRS Form 990 filing.

EIN
54-0568001
Latest 990 filing
Form 990 filing, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$367,190
Grants made (2024)
17
Average grant
$21,599
Median grant
$16,375
Total assets
$86,807,190

Data from IRS Form 990 filing, 2024; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990 filing · View filing

Total Assets

$86.8M

+1.6% YoY

Annual Giving

$367K

+3.4% YoY

Grant Count

17

-5.6% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$22K

+9.5% YoY

How Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital gives

  • 65% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving grew 34% from 2021 to 2024. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

About Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital

Based on IRS filings

Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital is a nonprofit organization focused on Health, based in Roanoke, VA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $86.8M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 17 grants totaling $367K. Net investment income was $3.4M.

Focus Areas

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

LexingtonBuena VistaFairfieldNatural Bridge

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K3 grants202013 grants202118 grants202218 grants202317 grants2024

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Rockbridge Area Community Services: $80KRockbridge Area CommunityServices$80KRockbridge Area Transportation System: $55KRockbridge Area TransportationSystem$55KYellow Brick Road Early Learning Center Inc: $30KYellow Brick Road EarlyLearning Center Inc$30KRockbridge Area Relief Association: $25KRockbridge Area ReliefAssociation$25KBoxerwood Education Association: $23KBoxerwood EducationAssociation$23KProject Horizon: $20KProject Horizon$20KRockbridge Area Free Clinic Inc: $20KRockbridge Area Free ClinicInc$20KFriends of Natural Bridge State Park: $20KFriends of Natural BridgeState Park$20KConnectionsPlus HealthcareHospice: $16KConnectionsPlusHealthcareHospice$16KConcerned Citizens of Glasgow: $15KConcerned Citizens of Glasgow$15K

Grant Size Distribution

69 grants across all recorded years

63<$50K5$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Rockbridge Area Community Services Sch Intervention Specialist$80,000
Rockbridge Area Transportation System Free meals, Transportation$54,500
Yellow Brick Road Early Learning Center Inc Facility updates to expand services$30,000
Rockbridge Area Relief Association Emergency housing$25,000
Boxerwood Education Association Project NEST education$22,565
Project Horizon Violence Prevention Educ$20,000
Rockbridge Area Free Clinic Inc Vehicle to support off-site clinics$20,000
Friends of Natural Bridge State Park Visually impaired assistance$19,500
ConnectionsPlus HealthcareHospice Grief support$16,375
Concerned Citizens of Glasgow Thompson Community Center$15,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$25M$50M$75M$100M20202021202220232024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$86,807,190$85,418,994$76,023,109
Revenue$83,124,781$75,880,252$70,468,637
Expenses$74,145,756$70,231,833$65,306,722
Qualifying Distributions———
Net Investment Income$3,373,778$547,549$1,427,816
Distributable Amount———

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital is led by James Williams Jr., Director & Chair on the 2024 filing; 6 of 27 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • James Williams Jr.

    Director & Chair

    New on the 2024 filing

    2.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Aaron Glenn

    Nursing Senior Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $140K (2024)

  • Greg Madsen

    Director & Hospital Vice President

    New on the 2024 filing

    50 hrs/week

    $229K (2024)

  • Tracy Higgins

    Nursing Unit Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $157K (2024)

  • Alicia Devine MD

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Amy DeHart

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ayesha Kelly MD

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • George Godette MD

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Josh Elrod

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Juliet Gibson

    Director & Vice Chair

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kimberly Shaw

    Director, Secretary & Treasurer

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lisa Sprinkel

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marylin Alexander

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nathan Ramsey

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • P Duaine Fitzgerald

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Reginald Early

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tracy Lyons

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jessica Saville

    Pharmacy Manager

    New on the 2024 filing

    37 hrs/week

    $178K (2024)

  • Laura Mays

    Nurse Practitioner

    New on the 2024 filing

    50 hrs/week

    $122K (2024)

  • Phyllis Snyder

    Rn Lead

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $163K (2024)

  • David Hagadorn

    Former Officer

    New on the 2024 filing

    No compensation reported

  • Donald Halliwill

    Assistant Treasurer

    New on the 2024 filing

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • G Robert Vaughan Jr.

    Assistant Treasurer

    New on the 2024 filing

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • J Harrison Lapuasa

    Assistant Treasurer

    New on the 2024 filing

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Julie Smith-Hamilton

    Assistant Secretary

    New on the 2024 filing

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nicholas Conte

    Assistant Secretary

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steven Arner

    Assistant Secretary, COO & Carilion Clinic

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Greg Madsen — Director/Hospital VP: $229KGreg MadsenDirector/Hospital VP$229KJessica Saville — Pharmacy Manager: $178KJessica SavillePharmacy Manager$178KPhyllis Snyder — RN Lead: $163KPhyllis SnyderRN Lead$163KTracy Higgins — Nursing Unit Director: $157KTracy HigginsNursing Unit Director$157KAaron Glenn — Nursing Senior Director: $140KAaron GlennNursing Senior Director$140KLaura Mays — Nurse Practitioner: $122KLaura MaysNurse Practitioner$122K

Frequently asked questions about Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital

How much does Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital give each year?

Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital gave $367K across 17 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing. In 2023 it gave $355K across 18 grants.

What is Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital's typical grant size?

Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital's median grant in 2024 was $16,375, and its average grant was $21,599, across 17 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing.

Does Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 17 grants with a stated purpose on Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital's 2024 IRS Form 990 filing were described as general or operating support.

Who are Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital's largest grantees?

Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital's largest 2024 grantees include Rockbridge Area Community Services ($80,000), Rockbridge Area Transportation System ($54,500) and Yellow Brick Road Early Learning Center Inc ($30,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing. Together they received 45% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital?

Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital reported $86.8M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing. Its revenue that year was $83.1M.

What is Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital?

Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital is a nonprofit organization focused on Health, based in Roanoke, VA. It holds $86.8M in total assets as of 2024.

Where does Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital operate?

Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital has awarded grants in Virginia.

What is Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital's EIN?

Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 54-0568001. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Washington and Lee University

Lexington, VA

See schedule o

Education

Assets

$2.9B

Grants

9

Total Given

$1.0M

Community Foundation for RockbridgeBath & Allegh

Lexington, VA

To improve the quality of life in the foundations service area by building permanent endowments and providing philanthropic leadership.

Assets

$10.2M

Grants

24

Total Given

$760K

Blue Ridge Area Food Bank Inc

Verona, VA

Blue Ridge Area Food Bank supports Virginia food and community-assistance organizations, with grants focused on building partner capacity for hunger-relief work. In 2025, its 33 grants ranged from $5,049 to $46,386, with a median of $8,600, and went to recipients in Virginia; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$44.6M

Grants

33

Total Given

$410K

Texas Instruments Foundation

Dallas, TX

The Texas Instruments Foundation funds charitable and educational organizations, with interests including education, human services, racial equity, and the arts; its geographic focus is Texas, though it also gives elsewhere. In 2024 it made 4,484 grants, with a median award of $500 and amounts ranging from $13 to $1,128,000. It accepts unsolicited requests online and has no submission deadlines.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$73.0M

Grants

4,484

Total Given

$22.6M

Alleghany Foundation

Covington, VA

The Alleghany Foundation funds nonprofits and local government projects focused on economic development, education, health, community capacity, and civic life in Virginia’s Alleghany Highlands, especially Alleghany County, Covington, and Clifton Forge. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,540 to $500,000, with a median of $22,378. It accepts applications year-round through its online system.

Assets

$64.4M

Grants

42

Total Given

$2.2M

North American Association for Environmental Educa

Washington, DC

NAAEE funds environmental education projects, including climate, conservation, civic engagement, and STEM programs, with grants reported across the United States and a broader international network. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,000 to $229,426, with a median of $13,468; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Environment & Animals

Assets

$8.7M

Grants

40

Total Given

$1.2M

The Leeps Foundation Inc

Roanoke, VA

The Leeps Foundation supports charitable organizations, especially equine-assisted services, therapeutic horsemanship, and horse rescue, with occasional support for related services such as service-dog programs. In 2025, grants ranged from $500 to $45,800, with a median of $2,000; most funding went to Virginia, with some grants in North Carolina and South Carolina. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$821K

Grants

21

Total Given

$84K

Colonel James N Pritzker Library of the

Kenosha, WI

Assets

—

Grants

3

Total Given

$1K

The Loring Wolcott & Coolidge Charitable

Boston, MA

The funder supports 501(c)(3) public charities across areas including animal welfare, conservation, education, and civil liberties. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,500 to $131,000, with a median of $12,000; Massachusetts received the largest share, though grants also went to organizations in other states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

—

Grants

162

Total Given

$3.5M

Mohawk Carpet Foundation Inc

Kennesaw, GA

The foundation supports 501(c)(3) nonprofits improving quality of life in communities where Mohawk operates manufacturing facilities, including community programs, arts and culture, public safety, animal welfare, and human needs. In 2024, grants ranged from $500 to $135,000, with a median of $20,000; most funding went to Georgia, with some in Virginia and Alabama. It accepts applications by letter and grant application from eligible organizations; applications are distributed each autumn.

Assets

$1.3M

Grants

23

Total Given

$739K

Jack Kent Cooke Foundation

Lansdowne, VA

The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds scholarships and academic support for exceptionally promising students with financial need, as well as organizations serving them. In 2025, grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; 86% of grant dollars went to Virginia, with smaller amounts reported in several other states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$940.1M

Grants

1,419

Total Given

$25.1M

The Northrop Grumman Foundation

Falls Church, VA

The Northrop Grumman Foundation funds STEM education and workforce development, as well as national disaster response, supporting 501(c)(3) organizations across the United States. Its 2024 grants ranged from $50 to $1 million, with a median of $500; it makes charitable grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$20.1M

Grants

1,284

Total Given

$12.4M

More Funders in Virginia

Carilion Rockbridge Community Hospital down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?