Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp

Public charity · Grantmaker St. Louis, MO EIN: 43-1235755

To bring the healing, help, and hope of jesus christ to those in need with a compassionate, caring presence.

Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp at a glance

Total assets
$483,756
-8.4% vs 2024
Revenue (2025)
$1,582,969
-5.4% vs 2024
Net investment income (2025)
$2,689
-5.5% vs 2024
Expenses (2025)
$2,179,654
+5.0% vs 2024
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

2 grants across all recorded years

1<$50K1$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 2 (50%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

St. Louis

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100K1 grant2020 2 grants2021 0 grants2022 0 grants2023 0 grants2024 0 grants2025

From 2020 to 2021, annual grant giving ranged from $21K (2020) to $82K (2021). In 2021 it made 2 grants totaling $82K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Archdiocese of St Louis St. Louis, MOSupport Mission$64,942
Catholic High School Association St. Louis, MOSupport Mission$16,998
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$483,756$1,582,969$2,179,654——$2,689
2024$528,031$1,672,635$2,076,432——$2,845
2023$562,116$1,723,551$2,104,581——$1,943
2022$867,549$1,718,169$2,035,602——$1,077
2021$1,182,217$3,105,885$3,410,086$81,9402$-244,022
2020$1,298,991$3,246,914$3,704,798$20,5901$3,294

About Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp

Based on IRS filings

Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp is a public charity focused on Human Services, based in St. Louis, MO. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $484K in total assets. Net investment income was $3K.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp is led by Chris Baechle, CEO & Assistant Secretary on every filing since 2020; none of the 22 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Chris Baechle

    CEO & Assistant Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jerry Rumph

    Board President

    Board Secretary → Board President, 2022

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jared Bryson

    President & Catholic Charities

    Ex-Officio → Ex-Officio & Catholic Charities, 2023

    Ex-Officio & Catholic Charities → President & Catholic Charities, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Donna Pelikan

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ken Sloan

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kim Waldman

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sr Renita Brummer

    Board Vice President

    Vice President → Board Vice President, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bill Hopfinger

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dan Wienstroer

    Board Treasurer

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gwen Cabe

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joe Jansen

    CFO & Council Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Corich

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tim Rogan

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dan Stutte

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Elizabeth Smith

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gary Schutte

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Greg Sahrmann

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Burmester

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mike Nash

    Board Secretary

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Thomas Gregory

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steven Ahillen

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Andrew Young

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (14)
  • Former: Ernestine Shiver-Jones (2020–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Daniel Wienstroer (2020–2023) — Board Treasurer
  • Former: Theresa Ruzicka (2020–2023) — Consultant
  • Former: Tom Gorski (2020–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Joe Downs (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Steve Young (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Berta Flores (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Jerry Amsler (2020–2021) — CFO & Council Member
  • Former: Jacquelin Naunheim (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Kathy Sliefert (2020) — Secretary
  • Former: Nicole Daniel (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Patricia Demuth PhD (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Rosemary Fairhead (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Tom Bennett (2020) — Board Member

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp

How large is Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp?

Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp reported $484K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.6M.

What is Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp?

Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp is a public charity focused on Human Services, based in St. Louis, MO. It holds $484K in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp operate?

Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp has awarded grants in Missouri.

What is Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp's EIN?

Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 43-1235755. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(4)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 17, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 10, 2022)
  3. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 12, 2026)
  4. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Missouri

Greater Horizons

Kansas City, MO

Greater Horizons distributes donor-advised fund grants to eligible U.S. charities and institutions across a wide range of causes; international organizations may also be supported after additional due diligence. In 2024, its grants had a median of $15,000, though amounts varied widely. Grants are requested by fund holders, and no general application process for organizations seeking funding is described.

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

3,282

Total Given

$212.2M

St Louis Community Foundation Inc

St. Louis, MO

The foundation supports nonprofits through its own community priorities and funds it administers for private and family foundations, including economic mobility, youth connections, and a range of other donor-directed causes. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,050 to $4 million, with a median of $20,000; community-impact funding focuses mainly on high-need ZIP codes in Missouri and Illinois, though grants also go elsewhere. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests; applicants should check each funder’s criteria and deadlines.

Assets

$494.4M

Grants

839

Total Given

$63.9M

Commerce Bancshares Foundation

Kansas City, MO

The foundation supports a broad range of charitable organizations and community projects, with 2024 grants typically small (median $1,500) but ranging from $200 to $60,500. Most funding went to Missouri, followed by Kansas and Illinois, with smaller amounts elsewhere; it says applicants should contact the program director and provide proof of 501(c)(3) status, and does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$35.0M

Grants

645

Total Given

$2.0M

Patterson Family Foundation

Kansas City, MO

The Patterson Family Foundation supported economic opportunity, education, and healthcare in rural communities, primarily in Kansas and western Missouri counties with fewer than 50,000 residents. In 2021, it made 607 grants, with a median award of $6,300 and grants ranging from $144 to $2.5 million. Its 2021 filing says it funded only preselected organizations and did not accept unsolicited requests; no later filing is on record.

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

607

Total Given

$22.3M

Midway USA Foundation Inc

Columbia, MO

The foundation funds youth shooting sports and related firearms-safety, hunting, and outdoor education programs in the United States, primarily through annual grants to eligible teams and organizations with an endowment of at least $2,000. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $11,000 (ranging from $5,002 to $404,253); team cash grants can be up to 5% of an eligible endowment balance.

Assets

$359.7M

Grants

497

Total Given

$10.1M

Community Foundation of the Ozarks Inc

Springfield, MO

The Community Foundation of the Ozarks funds nonprofit and public-purpose projects in areas including education, health, economic development, the arts, and environmental sustainability, mainly in Springfield, central and southern Missouri, and Ozarks affiliate communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000 and ranged from $5,065 to $1 million; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$539.7M

Grants

477

Total Given

$21.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in Missouri

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Cardinal Ritter Institute Residential Services Corp down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?