Burt Family Foundation
Burt Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Chicago, Illinois. In its 2025 filing, it reported 21 grants totaling $481,026 to organizations including education, health care, reproductive health, arts, and community organizations.
Burt Family Foundation at a glance
In short: Burt Family Foundation gave $481K across 21 grants in 2025 (avg $23K), mostly in Illinois. 48% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $481,026
- +75.2% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 21
- -22.2% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $22,906
- +125.3% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $20,000
- Total assets
- $305,200
- +40.6% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 48% first-time grantees (10 of 21, 2025; small sample)
- Primary geography
- Illinois (63% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Burt Family Foundation
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to Apply
-
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations.
- Contact
Mailing address: 1320 N State Pkwy 12D, Chicago, IL 60610
Phone: (843) 682-4235
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Burt Family Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Junior Achievement of Chicago ($50K). Together the top 10 received $404K.
Grant Size Distribution
141 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 136 grants of 141 (96%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, grant dollars went primarily to recipients in Illinois (63%) and California (35%). New York received 2%; Texas received 0%.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 21 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Is Burt Family Foundation open to new grantees?
48%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 10 of 21 grantees (48%) were first-time recipients. With only 21 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 5 points. First grants averaged $15K; repeat grants $30K. How we count
Medians: $7K first-time, $30K repeat.
- 43% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 28% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $275K (2024) to $481K (2025). In 2025 it made 21 grants totaling $481K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Junior Achievement of Chicago Chicago, IL | See Above | $50,000 |
| Planned Parenthood of Illinois Chicago, IL | See Above | $50,000 |
| Rush University Medical Center Chicago, IL | See Above | $50,000 |
| NGO Source San Francisco, CA | See Above. | $45,000 |
| Art Institute of Chicago Chicago, IL | See Above | $42,500 |
| Coleman Advocates San Francisco, CA | See Above | $39,133 |
| Baker Demonstration School Wilmette, IL | See Above | $37,500 |
| Evanston Animal Shelter Assocation Evanston, IL | See Above | $30,000 |
| Homey San Francisco, CA | See Above | $30,000 |
| Strides for Peace Chicago, IL | See Above | $30,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Burt Family Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $305,200 | $608,901 | $520,842 | $481,026 | 21 | $498,276 | $536,335 | $25,453 |
| 2024 | $217,141 | $38,812 | $324,423 | $274,500 | 27 | $297,500 | $11,889 | $44,735 |
| 2023 | $502,752 | $-31,648 | $389,823 | $341,550 | 32 | $361,093 | $143 | $63,013 |
| 2022 | $924,223 | $196,674 | $427,881 | $375,999 | 34 | $397,237 | $151,030 | $82,198 |
| 2021 | $1,155,430 | $-83,288 | $352,398 | $304,205 | 27 | — | $4,268 | $98,716 |
| 2020 | $1,591,116 | $244,595 | $335,965 | $289,795 | 22 | — | $216,830 | $118,219 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Burt Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $25K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its grants support organizations with varied missions. For example, Planned Parenthood of Illinois describes its mission as providing and promoting compassionate, comprehensive reproductive health care, education, and rights. Junior Achievement of Chicago says it aims to inspire and prepare young people to succeed in a global economy. Rush University Medical Center describes a mission of improving health through patient care, education, research, and community partnerships.
Other 2025 grantees describe work in progressive education (Baker Demonstration School), efforts to end gun violence and strengthen Chicago (Strides for Peace), and support for independent filmmakers (From The Heart Productions).
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation reported 21 grants totaling $481,026. Grant amounts ranged from $500 to $50,000, with a median of $20,000. Among the largest awards were $50,000 each to Junior Achievement of Chicago, Planned Parenthood of Illinois, and Rush University Medical Center; $45,000 to NGO Source; and $42,500 to the Art Institute of Chicago.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists these trustees: Robert N Burt, Lynn C Burt, Charles R Burt, Randolph N Burt, and Tracy C Burt.
Burt Family Foundation's 2025 filing lists 5 officers; 1 of 5 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Tracy C. Burt
Trustee
On filings since 2020
10 hrs/week
$37K (2020) → $32K (2025)
Charles R. Burt
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lynn C. Burt
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Randolph N. Burt
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Robert N. Burt
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $32K, to Tracy C Burt (Trustee).
Frequently asked questions about Burt Family Foundation
How much does Burt Family Foundation give each year?
Burt Family Foundation gave $481K across 21 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $275K across 27 grants.
What is Burt Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Burt Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $20,000, and its average grant was $22,906, across 21 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Burt Family Foundation that year got $15K on average.
Where does Burt Family Foundation give grants?
Burt Family Foundation gives mostly in Illinois: 63% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was California (35%). The most frequent recipient cities were Chicago, IL (9 grants), San Francisco, CA (6 grants) and Evanston, IL (2 grants).
Does Burt Family Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 21 grants with a stated purpose on Burt Family Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "See Above" (20 grants).
Who are Burt Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Burt Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Junior Achievement of Chicago ($50,000), Planned Parenthood of Illinois ($50,000) and Rush University Medical Center ($50,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 31% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Burt Family Foundation?
Burt Family Foundation reported $305K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $498K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $25K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Burt Family Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its grants support organizations with varied missions. For example, Planned Parenthood of Illinois describes its mission as providing and promoting compassionate, comprehensive reproductive health care, education, and rights. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Burt Family Foundation?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Burt Family Foundation's EIN?
Burt Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-7190233. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Burt Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Burt Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Illinois
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
The Allstate Foundation
Northbrook, IL
The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.
Assets
$89.3M
Grants
2,010
Total Given
$38.0M
Elks National Foundation Inc
Chicago, IL
The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans’ services, and charitable projects through Elks Lodges and state associations across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median size of $10,000, though awards varied widely; the profile describes application routes for specific Lodge and scholarship programs but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$954.1M
Grants
1,536
Total Given
$36.5M
John D and Catherine T Macarthur Foundation
Chicago, IL
The MacArthur Foundation funds work advancing a more just, verdant, and peaceful world, including climate solutions, criminal justice, journalism, technology, and Chicago. In 2024, its grants had a median of $160,000, though awards ranged widely; it generally does not accept unsolicited requests, with possible exceptions for specific open calls or proposals that meet program guidelines.
Assets
$9.3B
Grants
1,086
Total Given
$356.1M
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial
Chicago, IL
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports education, the environment, health and human services, gun violence prevention, homelessness prevention, and Jewish community and Israel initiatives, with a strong focus on Chicago and giving across the U.S. and internationally. In 2024, its grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000. It uses an invitation-only process and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
897
Total Given
$115.2M
Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago
Chicago, IL
The Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago funds human services, Jewish education and community programs, crisis response, and support for Israel and Jewish communities worldwide, primarily through Chicago-area agencies and initiatives. In 2025, its grants had a median of about $20,000, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
896
Total Given
$166.6M
More similar funders
More Funders in Illinois
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). Burt Family Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 11, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/burt-family-foundation-morg_849909609f6c49128d5f566d2cd7bc68
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_367190233_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{Burt Family Foundation funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/burt-family-foundation-morg_849909609f6c49128d5f566d2cd7bc68},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-11. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from Burt Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Burt Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?