Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter

Private foundation · Grantmaker Minneapolis, MN EIN: 41-6330321

Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter is a private foundation focused on Arts, Culture & Humanities, based in Minneapolis, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $560K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $92K. Net investment income was $18.

Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter at a glance

In short: Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter gave $92K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $46K), mostly in Nebraska. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$91,918
+126.6% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
2
-33.3% vs 2024
Average grant
$45,959
+239.9% vs 2024
Median grant
$45,959
Total assets
$560,313
-5.1% vs 2024
Primary geography
Nebraska (98% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

11 grants across all recorded years

9<$50K2$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 9 grants of 11 (82%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.

Cities

MinneapolisSaint PaulEden PrairieLong LakeOmaha

How Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter gives

  • Giving grew 1293% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100K0 grants2020 3 grants2021 2 grants2022 1 grant2023 3 grants2024 2 grants2025

From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2021) to $92K (2025). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $92K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
2 grants to individuals Recipients not named —$91,918
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment Income
2025$560,313$140,553$170,698$91,9182$142,650$18
2024$590,458$182,939$118,448$40,5643$92,217$32
2023$532,119$148,688$153,453$76,5331$127,969$7
2022$549,727$52,001$91,259$6,6002$65,409—
2021$592,237$94,677$70,924$5,1253$43,990$32
2020$580,739$39,357$61,822———$7

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter is led by Thomas R Brace, Chair on every filing since 2020; none of the 9 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Thomas R Brace

    Chair

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Louis Goldenberg

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Scott Futrell

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jim Chandler

    Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Graves

    Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Thomas Thornberg

    Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Charles Standfuss

    Vice Chair

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kathi Osmonson

    Secretary

    Trustee → Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nyle Zikmund

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (6)
  • Former: Susan Magy (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Tammy Heath-Pierson (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: David Sandels (2020) — Secretary
  • Former: Gary Lawrence (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: James D Sandberg (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Joseph D Waters (2020) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter

How much does Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter give each year?

Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter gave $92K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $41K across 3 grants.

How large is Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter?

Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter reported $560K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Its revenue that year was $141K.

What is Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter?

Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter is a private foundation focused on Arts, Culture & Humanities, based in Minneapolis, MN. It holds $560K in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter operate?

Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter has awarded grants in Minnesota, Nebraska.

What is Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter's EIN?

Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-6330321. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 12, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 28, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 15, 2023)
  4. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS February 7, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS February 6, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS January 11, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Minnesota

The Minneapolis Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Minneapolis Foundation funds civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education, health, the environment, arts, and human services, with most grant dollars going to Minnesota. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. It says no funding opportunities are currently open; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

1,565

Total Given

$121.7M

Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation

St. Paul, MN

The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic opportunity, health and human services, youth and education, housing, and organizational capacity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000; listed programs offer up to $50,000 for eligible East Metro work and up to $15,000 for qualifying Minnesota organizations. It accepts applications through specific programs, including rolling application opportunities; the Community Solutions Grant Program serves Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington counties.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

1,473

Total Given

$107.2M

The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$218.3M

Grants

1,431

Total Given

$47.9M

First Children's Finance

Minneapolis, MN

First Children’s Finance supports child care businesses and communities through grants for projects such as facility improvements, feasibility studies, and provider support, as well as loans paired with technical assistance. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,283 to $50,000, with a median of $11,839; grant examples are in Minnesota, Vermont, and Wisconsin, while its loan fund serves 10 states.

Human Services

Assets

$7.0M

Grants

80

Total Given

$1.1M

C K Blandin Foundation

Grand Rapids, MN

The C K Blandin Foundation funds rural Minnesota projects that build community wealth, improve rural places, strengthen small communities, and support capacity-building, with a primary focus on the Grand Rapids area. Rural grants are typically $25,000–$150,000; it does not accept unsolicited requests, offering opportunities through invitations or competitive RFPs.

Assets

$506.3M

Grants

931

Total Given

$15.8M

Otto Bremer Trust

St. Paul, MN

The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

180

Total Given

$57.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Minnesota

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighter down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?