Betty Parsons & William P Rayner
Betty Parsons & William P Rayner is a private foundation, based in Atlanta, GA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $3.9M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $75K. Net investment income was $54K.
Betty Parsons & William P Rayner at a glance
In short: Betty Parsons & William P Rayner gave $75K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $75K), mostly in New York. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $75,000
- +400.0% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $75,000
- +400.0% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $75,000
- Total assets
- $3,861,470
- -2.1% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- New York (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Betty Parsons & William P Rayner funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was The Hessel Museum of Art at Bard College ($75K).
Grant Size Distribution
2 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 2 (50%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
How Betty Parsons & William P Rayner gives
- In 2025 it paid out 126% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $15K (2019) to $75K (2025). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $75K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| The Hessel Museum of Art at Bard College Annandaleonhudson, NY | To support the betty parson: an artist with a gallery exhibition | $75,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Betty Parsons & William P Rayner?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $3,861,470 | $89,231 | $173,560 | $75,000 | 1 | $145,861 | $53,862 | $116,051 |
| 2024 | $3,945,799 | $408,805 | $79,174 | $15,000 | 1 | $66,712 | $396,343 | $95,868 |
| 2023 | $3,616,168 | $167,614 | $88,575 | — | — | $81,743 | $160,782 | $91,161 |
| 2022 | $3,537,129 | $200,712 | $106,381 | — | — | $83,426 | $186,187 | $84,023 |
| 2021 | $3,442,798 | $479,640 | $100,910 | — | — | — | $437,193 | $76,258 |
| 2020 | $3,075,848 | $231,562 | $103,122 | — | — | — | $189,388 | $53,979 |
| 2019 | $2,947,408 | $602,307 | $43,290 | $15,000 | 1 | — | $140,087 | $25,972 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Betty Parsons & William P Rayner reported a distributable amount of $116K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Betty Parsons & William P Rayner is led by Katharine J. Rayner, President since 2023 (on filings since 2019); none of the 6 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Katharine J. Rayner
President
President & Treasurer → President, 2023
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Alexander C. Taylor
Chairperson
On filings since 2023
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ann Nitze
Director
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mark Robbins
Director
On filings since 2023
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Shelley Mortimer
Director
On filings since 2023
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Nancy Rigby
Secretary & Treasurer
On filings since 2023
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Christopher C. Schwabacher (2019–2022) — Vice President & Secretary
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Betty Parsons & William P Rayner
How much does Betty Parsons & William P Rayner give each year?
Betty Parsons & William P Rayner gave $75K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $15K across 1 grant.
How large is Betty Parsons & William P Rayner?
Betty Parsons & William P Rayner reported $3.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $146K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $116K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
Where does Betty Parsons & William P Rayner operate?
Betty Parsons & William P Rayner has awarded grants in New York.
What is Betty Parsons & William P Rayner's EIN?
Betty Parsons & William P Rayner's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 13-3193737. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(8)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 15, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS July 14, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS July 15, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS July 17, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS December 5, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS June 11, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 14, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025
Other open foundation grants in Georgia
Georgia Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Betty Parsons & William P Rayner's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Georgia
The Good Works Foundation
Aspen, CO
The Good Works Foundation funds organizations represented in education, welfare, and the arts, with most 2025 grant dollars going to California and additional funding in New York, Colorado, New Mexico, and Washington, DC. Its 18 grants ranged from $2,500 to $284,999, with a median of $7,500. It accepts requests by personally signed letter with documentation on how funds will be used; applications are reviewed quarterly.
Assets
$1.3M
Grants
18
Total Given
$462K
Takiff Family Foundation
Glencoe, IL
The Takiff Family Foundation supports charitable, religious, educational, and scientific organizations, with recent grants spanning Jewish community services, human services, health, education, arts, and Holocaust remembrance. Its 2024 grants ranged from $700 to $136,000, with a median of $5,260; 94% of grant dollars went to Illinois organizations. No application form or deadline is specified, and the directors select recipients.
Assets
$6.5M
Grants
26
Total Given
$465K
Participant Inc
New York, NY
PARTICIPANT INC supports experimental and contemporary arts, including performance, dance, film and media, poetry, and LGBTQ+ arts, with a focus on artists and communities historically underrepresented in the arts. Its 2024 grants were typically $19,355 (range: $8,000–$19,355), mostly to New York recipients, with some support in South Carolina. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$976K
Grants
31
Total Given
$589K
Robert Rauschenberg Foundation
New York, NY
The Robert Rauschenberg Foundation funds small to midsize arts and socially engaged organizations, particularly experimental, collaborative efforts that advance equity, as well as work supporting artists and Rauschenberg-related scholarship. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,500 to $756,000, with a median of $18,000; most funding went to New York organizations, with additional support across the U.S. Its Philanthropy Program is invitation-only and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$524.3M
Grants
134
Total Given
$4.7M
The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta Inc
Atlanta, GA
The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta funds nonprofits across areas including health, education, human services, arts, housing, and civic engagement, with an emphasis on equity and shared prosperity. Its itemized 2024 grants had a median of $21,000, and over 64% of its 2024 grant support stayed in the 23-county metro Atlanta region, though it also funds organizations nationally and internationally. Nonprofits can apply through the foundation’s Grants Portal for competitive opportunities; it also makes donor-advised grants, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.5B
Grants
1,414
Total Given
$152.3M
Boys & Girls Clubs of America
Atlanta, GA
BGCA funds youth development through local Boys & Girls Clubs, supporting academic success, health, leadership, mentoring, and related programs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,047 to $2,704,861, with a median of $81,098, and went to communities across the United States, Native lands, and military installations. Whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$95.2M
Grants
797
Total Given
$120.5M
More similar funders
More Funders in Georgia
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Betty Parsons & William P Rayner's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Betty Parsons & William P Rayner down — hundreds of funders to go?