Bentley Frank F TW

Private foundation · Grantmaker Brooklyn, OH EIN: 34-6508762

Bentley Frank F TW is a private foundation, based in Brooklyn, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $288K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 5 grants totaling $60K. Net investment income was $23K.

Key facts about Bentley Frank F TW

In short: Bentley Frank F TW gave $60K across 5 grants in 2025 (avg $12K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
34-6508762
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$60,000
Grants made (2025)
5
Average grant
$12,000
Median grant
$3,000
Total assets
$287,656
Primary geography
Ohio (95% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$288K

-13.2% YoY

Annual Giving

$60K

+4401.1% YoY

Grant Count

5

+400.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$12K

+800.2% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Bentley Frank F TW reported a distributable amount of $18K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Bentley Frank F TW gives

  • Giving grew 432% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 343% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Bentley Frank F TW?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

Cities

KentYoungstownWoosterGreenvilleClevelandAkronCincinnatiClevelendDaytonWashingtonWilmington

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K8 grants2020 6 grants2021 5 grants2022 4 grants2023 1 grant2024 5 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $1K (2024) to $60K (2025). In 2025 it made 5 grants totaling $60K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2025

Youngstown State University: $30KYoungstown State University$30KKent State University: $21KKent State University$21KWright State University: $3KWright State University$3KUniversity of Akron: $3KUniversity of Akron$3KHoward University: $3KHoward University$3K

The largest 2025 recipient was Youngstown State University ($30K). Together the top 5 received $60K.

Grant Size Distribution

21 grants across all recorded years

21<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 21 grants of 21 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Youngstown State University Youngstown, OHScholarship$30,000
Kent State University Kent, OHScholarship$21,000
Wright State University Dayton, OHScholarship$3,000
University of Akron Akron, OHScholarship$3,000
Howard University Washington, DCScholarship$3,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$20K$40K$60K$80K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$287,656$331,318$308,421
Revenue$23,570$32,050$245
Expenses$67,229$9,153$13,046
Qualifying Distributions$62,755$3,551$8,689
Net Investment Income$23,374$29,007$598
Distributable Amount$18,282$17,204$15,805

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS January 18, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS January 28, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 3, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 14, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS July 25, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 12, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Bentley Frank F TW's only listed officer is Keybank N A, Trustee on every filing since 2021 (uncompensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Keybank N A

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $8K (2021) → $0 (2025)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Keybank N a — Trustee: $4KKeybank N aTrustee$4K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $4K, to Keybank N a (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Bentley Frank F TW

How much does Bentley Frank F TW give each year?

Bentley Frank F TW gave $60K across 5 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $1K across 1 grant.

What is Bentley Frank F TW's typical grant size?

Bentley Frank F TW's median grant in 2025 was $3,000, and its average grant was $12,000, across 5 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Bentley Frank F TW give grants?

Bentley Frank F TW gives mostly in Ohio: 95% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was District of Columbia (5%).

Does Bentley Frank F TW give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 5 grants with a stated purpose on Bentley Frank F TW's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (5 grants).

Who are Bentley Frank F TW's largest grantees?

Bentley Frank F TW's largest 2025 grantees include Youngstown State University ($30,000), Kent State University ($21,000) and Wright State University ($3,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 90% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Bentley Frank F TW?

Bentley Frank F TW reported $288K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $63K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $18K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Bentley Frank F TW's EIN?

Bentley Frank F TW's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-6508762. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Bentley Frank F TW by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Bentley Frank F TW's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

The Wm M & a Cafaro Family Foundation

Niles, OH

Assets

$23.3M

Grants

377

Total Given

$1.7M

The Paul and Carol David Foundation

Canton, OH

The Paul and Carol David Foundation funds scholarships and nonprofit programs for children and families, with interests in community, health, education, and faith, especially in and around Stark County, Ohio. In 2024 it made 84 grants, with a median award of $11,025, though grants ranged widely; eligible organizations may request an application from Jeffrey David, and no deadline is stated.

Assets

$62.4M

Grants

84

Total Given

$2.9M

The Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges

Westerville, OH

The Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges primarily funds scholarships, financial aid, and campus programs at independent colleges and universities, including diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,083 to $185,371, with a median of $10,798, and most funding went to Ohio recipients. It offers an application route for campus grants; the profile does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests for other funding.

Education

Assets

$8.8M

Grants

90

Total Given

$2.8M

Oscar & Hildegard Thiele Scholarship Fund

Columbus, OH

The fund supported college scholarships, primarily in Ohio, with 91% of its 2025 grant dollars going to Ohio recipients. Its 18 final-year grants totaled $44,500, ranging from $500 to $9,500; the foundation reported a final distribution and termination, so it does not appear to be accepting requests.

Assets

—

Grants

18

Total Given

$45K

Eberly Da & TB Scholarship Ta

Brooklyn, OH

The foundation funds scholarships for deserving graduates of Canton City or North Canton City public high schools who attend colleges or technical schools. In 2025, it awarded 15 grants totaling $70,800, ranging from $2,500 to $11,975; most funding went to Ohio recipients. The filing lists an application and contact but does not say whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$1.2M

Grants

15

Total Given

$71K

Orris C&B Dewey Hirtzel Memorial FD

Pittsburgh, PA

The foundation funds scholarships, health care and medical research, and community services such as parks, libraries, public schools, and volunteer fire companies. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,500 to $320,000, with a median award of $7,500; its primary area is Erie County, Pennsylvania, and Chautauqua County, New York, with some medical and research support across Western Pennsylvania, Western New York, and Northern Ohio. Application details are provided after initial contact, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$25.4M

Grants

52

Total Given

$1.3M

Northwestern University

Evanston, IL

Northwestern University funds research, education, faculty and postdoctoral development, and community projects; its ANCHOR grants support partnerships addressing health and resilience in Evanston and Chicago. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $63,000, while listed programs range from up to $3,000 for research-library grants to $25,000–$65,000 for ANCHOR projects. It lists specific funding opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$20.8B

Grants

383

Total Given

$133.4M

KPMG US Foundation Inc

Montvale, NJ

KPMG US Foundation supports education, mental health, community vitality, and community relief and resilience, with grants distributed across the United States. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts ranged from about $5,000 to $2.2 million. The available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$12.4M

Grants

387

Total Given

$33.5M

The College Club of Cleveland Foundation

Cleveland Heights, OH

Assets

$1.1M

Grants

4

Total Given

$80K

Albert a Christ Scholarship Fund 1403

Wheeling, WV

The Albert A Christ Scholarship Fund supports scholarships, with reported giving of about $244,000 in 2025; its grant went to a recipient in Wheeling, West Virginia. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected charitable organizations.

Assets

$3.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$243K

Boone Scholarship FD TW

Brooklyn, OH

Assets

$149K

Grants

6

Total Given

$8K

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

More Funders in Ohio

Bentley Frank F TW down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?