Bachman George Ta

Private foundation · Grantmaker Brooklyn, OH EIN: 34-6632809

Bachman George Ta is a private foundation, based in Brooklyn, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $5.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $310K. Net investment income was $335K.

Bachman George Ta at a glance

In short: Bachman George Ta gave $310K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $155K), mostly in Massachusetts. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$310,130
+11.4% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
2
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$155,065
+11.4% vs 2024
Median grant
$155,065
Total assets
$5,361,526
-0.1% vs 2024
Primary geography
Massachusetts (50% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Bachman George Ta funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 2 recipients in 2025

Brandeis University: $155KBrandeis University$155KCase Western Reserve University: $155KCase Western ReserveUniversity$155K

The largest 2025 recipient was Brandeis University ($155K). Together the top 2 received $310K.

Grant Size Distribution

10 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K10$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 10 grants of 10 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

3states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.

Cities

ClevelandWaltham

How Bachman George Ta gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−8%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 101% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K$400K2 grants2020 2 grants2021 2 grants2022 2 grants2023 2 grants2024 2 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $278K (2024) to $337K (2022). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $310K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Brandeis University Waltham, MAGeneral Operating$155,065
Case Western Reserve University Cleveland, OHGeneral Operating$155,065
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Bachman George Ta?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$5,361,526$376,861$380,424$310,1302$325,101$335,115$322,009
2024$5,365,089$578,524$334,057$278,4582$292,804$539,235$298,266
2023$5,121,241$100,897$339,525$289,6762$303,076$59,731$273,452
2022$5,359,870$985$400,290$337,4402$350,376$19,438$285,061
2021$5,759,175$798,605$353,840$289,5022$304,727$756,530$321,836
2020$5,314,410$332,728$349,789$288,4802—$292,460$281,177

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Bachman George Ta reported a distributable amount of $322K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Bachman George Ta's only listed officer is Keybank N A, Trustee on every filing since 2020 (compensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Keybank N A

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $54K (2020) → $55K (2025)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Keybank N a — Trustee: $55KKeybank N aTrustee$55K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $55K, to Keybank N a (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Bachman George Ta

How much does Bachman George Ta give each year?

Bachman George Ta gave $310K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $278K across 2 grants.

How large is Bachman George Ta?

Bachman George Ta reported $5.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $325K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $322K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

Where does Bachman George Ta operate?

Bachman George Ta has awarded grants in Massachusetts, Maine, Ohio.

What is Bachman George Ta's EIN?

Bachman George Ta's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-6632809. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 8, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 26, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 8, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 5, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 2, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 11, 2026)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Bachman George Ta's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Grant Thornton Foundation

Chicago, IL

In 2024, the Grant Thornton Foundation funded general support, educational institutions, and disaster relief, awarding 10 grants of $1,575 to $41,450 (median $19,060). It is based in Chicago, with 2024 grants concentrated in California, Arizona, and Florida. The foundation gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$224K

Grants

10

Total Given

$181K

National Humanities Center

Research Triangle Park, NC

The National Humanities Center supports humanities research, education, and public engagement, including fellowships for scholars and small grants for community-facing Being Human Festival events. Its 2025 grants were typically about $57,500 (range $40,000–$103,500), while festival grants are $500–$5,000; fellowship applicants may be based in the U.S. or abroad, and festival events are held across the U.S. The profile says it is entertaining proposals from prospective festival partners but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$96.8M

Grants

11

Total Given

$676K

The University of British Columbia

UBC primarily supports post-secondary education, research, teaching and learning, Indigenous initiatives, and community-university partnerships, with many programs restricted to UBC teams or eligible partners. Its 2025 filing reported 18 grants totaling about $1.55 million, ranging from $19,947 to $364,334; funding programs include awards of up to $200,000. Its mission spans British Columbia, Canada and the world, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$6.2B

Grants

18

Total Given

$1.5M

Jack Joseph and Morton Mandel Supporting Foundation

Cleveland, OH

The foundation funds charitable, educational, and religious work supporting the Jewish Federation of Cleveland, including Jewish community programs, security, education, arts, and humanitarian needs; its 2025 grants had a median of $922,500 and ranged from $65,000 to $40,006,000. Recent funding went mainly to organizations in Ohio, New York, Illinois, and Washington, DC; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

36

Total Given

$131.4M

Josiah Macy Jr Foundation

New York, NY

The Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation funds projects that improve the education and training of future health professionals, especially those advancing equity, interprofessional teamwork, and ethical decision-making. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $125,000, with a median of about $72,000, and went to organizations in multiple states; it accepts President’s Grant applications on a rolling basis but does not accept unsolicited Board Grant applications.

Assets

$152.6M

Grants

47

Total Given

$3.2M

Thomas Jefferson University

Philadelphia, PA

Thomas Jefferson University supports program work at universities, hospitals, research organizations, and community-service organizations, with grants ranging from $6,243 to $879,503 and a median award of about $48,500. Its giving is concentrated in Pennsylvania, with additional support across several states, including Washington, New York, Virginia, and Maryland. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$6.6B

Grants

71

Total Given

$7.3M

More similar funders

More Funders in Ohio

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Bachman George Ta's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Bachman George Ta down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?