Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc logo

Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc

501(c)(6) organization La Crosse, WI EIN: 36-2957426 Website

The Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy is a public charity based in La Crosse, Wisconsin. It supports orthopaedic physical therapy through member-focused research grants, advocacy grants, and assistance with residency or fellowship application fees.

Key facts about Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc

In short: Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc gave $167K across 10 grants in 2024 (avg $17K), top state Illinois. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

EIN
36-2957426
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$166,618
Grants made (2024)
10
Average grant
$16,662
Median grant
$14,990
Total assets
$8,486,163
Primary geography
Illinois (15% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$8.5M

+7.0% YoY

Annual Giving

$167K

+733.1% YoY

Grant Count

10

+900.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$17K

-16.7% YoY

How Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc gives

  • Giving grew 71% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The Academy’s website states its mission is to be “the driving community advancing orthopedic physical therapist practice.” Its 2024 filing states a mission of empowering members to excel in orthopaedic physical therapy. The website also identifies a vision of transforming society by optimizing movement and musculoskeletal health, and strategic drivers that include improving patient-care quality, increasing awareness and engagement, advancing provider payment through advocacy, and supporting members’ professional well-being.

The Academy’s grant programs include small grants for studies examining orthopaedic practice issues, advocacy grants to help members and chapters with advocacy costs, and up to three annual grants to help with residency or fellowship program application fees. The website describes the residency and fellowship awards as assistance with application fees.

In 2024, the Academy’s grants included medical research and community support. Recipients included universities and other organizations. The University of Pittsburgh describes itself as a public research university serving its region, Pennsylvania, and the nation through education, research, and community partnership. The University of Central Florida Foundation describes its role as encouraging and stewarding charitable contributions to support the University of Central Florida.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2024, the Academy reported 10 grants totaling $166,618. Grant amounts ranged from $8,000 to $25,584, with a median of $14,990. The largest awards were $25,584 to Rosalind Franklin University for medical research, $25,326 to the Orthopaedic Foundation Fund for community support, $23,110 to the University of Pittsburgh for medical research, and $20,000 to Northeastern University for medical research. Other 2024 recipients included the University of Central Florida ($15,000), the University of Minnesota ($14,980), the Cleveland Clinic Foundation ($14,676), Alabama Physical Therapy ($10,000), the Regents of the University of Michigan ($9,942), and the American Physical Therapy Association ($8,000); the listed purposes were medical research.

The Academy’s website says its grant opportunities are for AOPT members. For the 2026 small-grant cycle, the application period has closed; applicants were to be notified of decisions in July. The website says New Investigator and Unrestricted applications used a two-step process: a letter of intent followed by a full application. The 2026 offerings were New Investigator, Career Development, and Unrestricted; Knowledge Translation was not available that year.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The 2024 filing shows grants to recipients in multiple states. The largest shares of grant dollars went to Illinois and Wisconsin (15% each), Pennsylvania (14%), Massachusetts (12%), and Virginia (11%).

Grant Distribution by State

15states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 10 itemized grants.

Cities

AlexandriaMinneapolisMissoulaPittsburghSt. LouisAnn ArborBloomingtonBostonChapel HillDenverGainsvilleIndependenceLa CrosseLong BeachNashvilleNorth ChicagoOrlandoPurcellville

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K$200K3 grants2020 6 grants2021 4 grants2022 1 grant2023 10 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $20K (2023) to $167K (2024). In 2024 it made 10 grants totaling $167K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Rosalind Franklin University: $26KRosalind Franklin University$26KOrthopaedic Foundation Fund: $25KOrthopaedic Foundation Fund$25KUniversity of Pittsburgh: $23KUniversity of Pittsburgh$23KNortheastern University: $20KNortheastern University$20KUniversity of Central Florida Research Fundation Inc: $15KUniversity of Central FloridaResearch Fundation Inc$15KUniversity of Minnesota: $15KUniversity of Minnesota$15KCleveland Clinic Foundation: $15KCleveland Clinic Foundation$15KAlabama Physical Therapy Association: $10KAlabama Physical TherapyAssociation$10KRegents of the University of Michigan: $10KRegents of the University ofMichigan$10KAmerican Physical Therapy Assoc: $8KAmerican Physical TherapyAssoc$8K

The largest 2024 recipient was Rosalind Franklin University ($26K). Together the top 10 received $167K.

Grant Size Distribution

24 grants across all recorded years

23<$50K1$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 23 grants of 24 (96%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Rosalind Franklin University North Chicago, ILMedical Research$25,584
Orthopaedic Foundation Fund La Crosse, WICommunity Support$25,326
University of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, PAMedical Research$23,110
Northeastern University Boston, MAMedical Research$20,000
University of Central Florida Research Fundation Inc Orlando, FLMedical Research$15,000
University of Minnesota Minneapolis, MNMedical Research$14,980
Cleveland Clinic Foundation Independence, OHMedical Research$14,676
Alabama Physical Therapy Association Purcellville, VAMedical Research$10,000
Regents of the University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MIMedical Research$9,942
American Physical Therapy Assoc Alexandria, VAMedical Research$8,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 $8,486,163 $2,253,584 $2,391,580 $166,618 (10 grants)
2023 $7,932,440 $2,066,138 $2,485,869 $20,000 (1 grant)
2022 $7,400,462 $1,798,095 $2,256,818 $82,015 (4 grants)
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$8,486,163$7,932,440$7,400,462
Revenue$2,253,584$2,066,138$1,798,095
Expenses$2,391,580$2,485,869$2,256,818
Net Investment Income$528,249$257,385$271,155

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 3, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS September 29, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS October 2, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS September 30, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 21, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Terri DeFlorian as Executive Director; Bob Rowe as President; James Spencer as Vice President; Kristain Adkins as Secretary; and Judith Hess as Treasurer. It also lists Nancy Bloom, Eric Folkins, Kathleen Geist, Matthew Hyland, and Annette Karim as directors.

Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc is led by Bob Rowe, President on every filing since 2022; 3 of 12 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Bob Rowe

    President

    On filings since 2022

    10 hrs/week

    $17K (2022) → $14K (2024)

  • Eric Folkins

    Director

    Ex-Officio D → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    $1K (2022) → $0 (2024)

  • Annette Karim

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Derrick Sueki

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nancy Bloom

    Director

    Ex-Officio D → Director, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matthew Hyland

    Director

    Ex-Officio D → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeff Taylor

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kathleen Geist

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Terri Deflorian

    Executive Di

    On filings since 2020

    45 hrs/week

    $112K (2020) → $134K (2024)

  • James Spencer

    Vice President

    Ex-Officio D → Vice President, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    5 hrs/week

    $7K (2023) → $6K (2024)

  • Judith Hess

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2021

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kristain Adkins

    Secretary

    On filings since 2023

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (9)
  • Former: Beth Collier (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Amee L. Seitz (2022–2023) — Ex-Officio D
  • Former: Janet L. Konecne (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Lori Michener (2020–2022) — Vice President
  • Former: Joseph Donnelly (2020–2021) — President
  • Former: Dan White (2021) — Ex-Officio D
  • Former: Aimee Klein (2020) — Director
  • Former: Kim Wellborn (2020) — Treasurer
  • Former: Tara Jo Manal (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Terri Deflorian — Executive Di: $134KTerri DeflorianExecutive Di$134KBob Rowe — President: $14KBob RowePresident$14KJames Spencer — Vice Preside: $6KJames SpencerVice Preside$6K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $134K, to Terri Deflorian (Executive Di). 3 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Contact

Mailing address: 2920 East Avenue South, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone: (608) 788-3982
Website: https://orthopt.org

Frequently asked questions about Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc

How much does Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc give each year?

Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc gave $167K across 10 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $20K across 1 grant.

What is Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc's typical grant size?

Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc's median grant in 2024 was $14,990, and its average grant was $16,662, across 10 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.

Where does Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc give grants?

Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc's top state is Illinois, with 15% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were Wisconsin (15%) and Pennsylvania (14%).

Does Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 10 grants with a stated purpose on Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Medical Research" (9 grants).

Who are Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc's largest grantees?

Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc's largest 2024 grantees include Rosalind Franklin University ($25,584), Orthopaedic Foundation Fund ($25,326) and University of Pittsburgh ($23,110), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 44% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc?

Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc reported $8.5M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $2.3M.

What does Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc fund?

The Academy’s website states its mission is to be “the driving community advancing orthopedic physical therapist practice.” Its 2024 filing states a mission of empowering members to excel in orthopaedic physical therapy. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc?

Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check orthopt.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.

What is Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc's EIN?

Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-2957426. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

KPMG US Foundation Inc

Montvale, NJ

KPMG US Foundation supports education, mental health, community vitality, and community relief and resilience, with grants distributed across the United States. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts ranged from about $5,000 to $2.2 million. The available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$12.4M

Grants

387

Total Given

$33.5M

The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$218.3M

Grants

1,431

Total Given

$47.9M

William Randolph Hearst Foundation

New York, NY

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation supports established U.S. nonprofits in culture, education, health, and social services, with grants typically around $100,000 (2024 awards ranged from $1,000 to $2 million). It accepts applications through its grants portal and funds organizations across the United States.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$942.7M

Grants

264

Total Given

$34.9M

Ernst & Young Foundation

New York, NY

Ernst & Young Foundation supports higher education through employee and partner matching gifts, as well as educational and special-project grants, including research, education forums, and programs that expand educational opportunity. In 2025, it made 637 grants ranging from $5,056 to $316,005, with a median of $13,525, to recipients across multiple states; the largest shares went to New York, Texas, California, Michigan, and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$47.6M

Grants

637

Total Given

$16.7M

Research Corporation dba Research

Tucson, AZ

Research Corporation for Science Advancement funds innovative basic research, primarily in the physical sciences, and supports academic scientists and science education at colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. Its 2024 grants ranged from $74 to $193,142, with a median of $55,000. Applicants may apply through specific grant programs; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$241.5M

Grants

165

Total Given

$8.0M

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds education, research, clinical practice, and related programs, with many large awards listed as sub-awards; its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000. Grants went mainly to recipients in California and Maryland, among other states, but no geographic restriction or policy on unsolicited requests is stated.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

American Heart Association Inc

Dallas, TX

The American Heart Association funds cardiovascular, cerebrovascular and brain health research, researcher training, and related education and community programs. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though awards varied widely; research grants generally support eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

833

Total Given

$198.2M

Tulsa Community Foundation

Tulsa, OK

Tulsa Community Foundation supports charitable causes through donor-advised grants and selected funds, including scholarships, emergency assistance, disaster relief, arts and humanities, healthcare, and financial literacy, primarily in the Tulsa metro area and eastern Oklahoma, with some giving elsewhere in the United States. Its 2024 median grant was $18,560; selected field-of-interest funds have application cycles, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

1,066

Total Given

$158.6M

The George Washington University

Ashburn, VA

The George Washington University’s reported grants are primarily subaw awards supporting education, scholarly research, research support, and community-engaged scholarship, with recipients including universities, research organizations, and community organizations. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,000 to $3.42 million, with a median of about $131,000; Nashman Faculty Development awards are generally $2,000–$5,000. Funding went mainly to recipients in Washington, D.C., and several other states, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$5.5B

Grants

191

Total Given

$54.1M

Emory University

Atlanta, GA

Emory funds research and scholarship across disciplines, with much of its external grantmaking supporting research subcontracts to universities, hospitals, and health-related organizations. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $96,700, ranged from $5,500 to $19.1 million, and went primarily to Georgia recipients, though grants also reached other states. The listed research proposal and fellowship opportunities are for Emory faculty, students, or scholars; whether Emory accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$24.9B

Grants

362

Total Given

$183.7M

University of Notre Dame du Lac

Notre Dame, IN

The University of Notre Dame du Lac funds university priorities such as student aid, Catholic mission, academics, research and athletics, and also supports other nonprofits, including educational, research and community organizations. Its 2025 grants had a median of $30,480 (ranging from $5,500 to $36.5 million) and went to organizations in Indiana and other states; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$29.6B

Grants

462

Total Given

$84.8M

More Funders in Wisconsin

Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Apta Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?