Abilities Inc of Florida

Public charity · Grantmaker Clearwater, FL EIN: 59-0874493

To facilitate services, resources, and partnerships that support people with disabilities, along with their families, caregivers, and community members.

Abilities Inc of Florida at a glance

Total assets
$13,489,178
+18.1% vs 2024
Revenue (2025)
$15,884,296
+8.5% vs 2024
Net investment income (2025)
$9,000
Expenses (2025)
$14,279,518
+9.1% vs 2024
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Abilities Inc of Florida funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

1 grant across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K1$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $500K–1M range: 1 grant of 1 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

Oakton

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K$800K0 grants2021 0 grants2022 1 grant2023 Total only2024 0 grants2025

From 2023 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $28K (2024) to $750K (2023). In 2024 it reported $28K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Service Source Inc Oakton, VAContribution to further support the programs of service source, inc.$750,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Abilities Inc of Florida?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$13,489,178$15,884,296$14,279,518——$9,000
2024$11,422,152$14,644,177$13,088,936$27,605Total only—
2023$9,330,828$11,975,063$12,417,668$750,0001—
2022$8,593,004$12,363,414$11,698,904———
2021$9,068,040$14,700,926$12,732,482———

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About Abilities Inc of Florida

Based on IRS filings

Abilities Inc of Florida is a public charity focused on Employment, based in Clearwater, FL. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $13.5M in total assets. Net investment income was $9K.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Abilities Inc of Florida is led by Bruce Patterson, President & CEO since 2023 (on filings since 2021); 11 of 24 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Bruce Patterson

    President & CEO

    Chief Executive Officer → President & CEO, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    4 hrs/week

    $41K (2021) → $56K (2025)

  • Matthew Motko

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2021

    36 hrs/week

    $135K (2021) → $157K (2025)

  • Gary Petersen

    Chair

    Chair-Elect → Chair Elect, 2024

    Chair Elect → Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brandt Wood

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joanne Finnigan

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joseph Ashley

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Diorio

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Patricia Harrison

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Weyher Dawson

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kristen Chou

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Juliet Hatchett

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dennis Dapolito

    Evp-Business Development

    Evp-Regional Operations → Evp-Business Development, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    5 hrs/week

    $44K (2021) → $36K (2025)

  • Lisa Long

    Evp-It

    On filings since 2021

    5 hrs/week

    $29K (2021) → $35K (2025)

  • Lisa Ward

    Executive Vice President

    Executive Director-Foundation → Executive Vice President, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    3 hrs/week

    $19K (2021) → $26K (2025)

  • Soma Bakhtari

    Vp-It

    Vp-Technology Management → Vp-It, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    5 hrs/week

    $24K (2021) → $26K (2025)

  • Swati Aneja

    Evp-Hr

    Evp-Hr → Evp-Human Resources, 2022

    Evp-Human Resources → Evp-Hr, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    5 hrs/week

    $25K (2021) → $33K (2025)

  • Andrew Rind

    Evp-Program Services

    On filings since 2023

    7 hrs/week

    $36K (2023) → $46K (2025)

  • John Angerer

    Vp-Risk & Compliance

    On filings since 2023

    5 hrs/week

    $24K (2023) → $24K (2025)

  • Kenneth Crum

    Chief Operating Officer

    On filings since 2023

    5 hrs/week

    $38K (2023) → $43K (2025)

  • Nathaniel Hoover

    Chief Financial Officer

    On filings since 2023

    5 hrs/week

    $45K (2023) → $45K (2025)

  • Frank Burke

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2021

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Hector Velez

    Vice Chair

    Director → Vice Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Walsh

    Past Chair

    Director → Chair, 2023

    Chair → Past Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • William Warnecki

    Chair Elect

    Director → Chair Elect, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (14)
  • Former: Joseph Sorota (2021–2023) — Vice Chair
  • Former: Kelly Caccetta (2021–2023) — Past Chair
  • Former: Mark Hall (2021–2023) — President
  • Former: Albert Wu (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: James Carroll (2021–2022) — Past Chair
  • Former: Joseph Lucente (2021–2022) — Vp-Contracts Administrator
  • Former: Karla S. Leavelle (2021–2022) — Chair Elect
  • Former: Nate Hoover (2021–2022) — Chief Financial Officer
  • Former: John Huff (2022) — Evp-Contract Ops
  • Former: Crystal Wheeler (2021) — Evp-Hr
  • Former: David Hodge (2021) — Former CFO
  • Former: Janet Samuelson (2021) — CEO
  • Former: Paul Plattner (2021) — Director
  • Former: Paul Thieberger (2021) — Past Chair

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Matthew Motko — Executive Director: $157KMatthew MotkoExecutive Director$157KBruce Patterson — President/CEO: $56KBruce PattersonPresident/CEO$56KAndrew Rind — EVP-Program Services: $46KAndrew RindEVP-Program Services$46KNathaniel Hoover — Chief Financial Officer: $45KNathaniel HooverChief Financial Officer$45KKenneth Crum — Chief Operating Officer: $43KKenneth CrumChief Operating Officer$43KDennis Dapolito — EVP-Business Development: $36KDennis DapolitoEVP-Business Development$36KLisa Long — EVP-It: $35KLisa LongEVP-It$35KSwati Aneja — EVP-HR: $33KSwati AnejaEVP-HR$33KSoma Bakhtari — VP-It: $26KSoma BakhtariVP-It$26KLisa Ward — Executive Vice President: $26KLisa WardExecutive Vice President$26KJohn Angerer — VP-Risk & Compliance: $24KJohn AngererVP-Risk & Compliance$24K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $157K, to Matthew Motko (Executive Director). 11 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Abilities Inc of Florida

How large is Abilities Inc of Florida?

Abilities Inc of Florida reported $13.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $15.9M.

What is Abilities Inc of Florida?

Abilities Inc of Florida is a public charity focused on Employment, based in Clearwater, FL. It holds $13.5M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Abilities Inc of Florida operate?

Abilities Inc of Florida has awarded grants in Virginia.

What is Abilities Inc of Florida's EIN?

Abilities Inc of Florida's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 59-0874493. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(3)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS January 31, 2024)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 30, 2025)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Abilities Inc of Florida's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Florida

Publix Super Markets Charities Inc

Lakeland, FL

Publix Super Markets Charities supports nonprofits addressing hunger, homelessness and housing, youth, education, and community needs in Florida, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Kentucky. Its 2024 median grant was $2,500, though awards ranged widely; it accepts online requests from eligible organizations, with application periods varying by program.

Assets

$233.8M

Grants

3,269

Total Given

$52.5M

The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida Inc

Jacksonville, FL

The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida supports neighborhood strengthening, nonprofit capacity, education, older adults, the arts, and other community needs, primarily in Baker, Clay, Duval, Nassau, Putnam, and St. Johns counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, while its Program Support grants offer up to $25,000; eligible nonprofits may apply to competitive programs, but donor-advised funds do not accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$708.7M

Grants

2,470

Total Given

$78.0M

Early Learning Coalition of Broward County Inc

Fort Lauderdale, FL

The Early Learning Coalition of Broward funds child care reimbursement and early-learning providers, including programs supporting child care and preschool, primarily in Broward County, Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,127 to $3,994,863, with a median of $158,921. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Human Services

Assets

$15.9M

Grants

636

Total Given

$152.2M

Leslie L Alexander Foundation Inc

Delray Beach, FL

The Leslie L Alexander Foundation supports animal rescue, education, children’s services, and other charitable work. In 2024, grants ranged from $600 to $1 million, with a median of $35,000; giving was concentrated in Florida and Texas, with awards also made elsewhere. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$291.4M

Grants

622

Total Given

$28.4M

Community Foundation of Tampa Bay Inc

Tampa, FL

The Community Foundation of Tampa Bay funds nonprofits through competitive grants and other programs focused on economic opportunity, environmental resilience, health and wellbeing, education, and vibrant communities. Its typical grant is about $25,000, and it serves Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando, and Citrus counties. It accepts applications through its competitive grants process and rolling Critical Needs List.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

698

Total Given

$54.3M

United Way Miami Inc

Miami, FL

United Way Miami funds education, economic mobility, health and wellbeing, and resilient-community programs, with its community focus in Miami-Dade County. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,082 to $1,693,432, with a median of $18,410; published opportunities include selected awards of up to $153,000. It publishes specific grant opportunities and application details; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$157.2M

Grants

562

Total Given

$32.6M

More similar funders

More Funders in Florida

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Abilities Inc of Florida's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Abilities Inc of Florida down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?