Williams Family Foundation
The Williams Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Nashville, Tennessee. In filing year 2025, it reported 22 grants totaling $34,900 to charitable organizations. The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.
Key facts about Williams Family Foundation
In short: Williams Family Foundation gave $35K across 22 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Tennessee. 32% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 46-1424804
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $34,900
- Grants made (2025)
- 22
- Average grant
- $1,586
- Median grant
- $1,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 32% first-time grantees (7 of 22, 2025)
- Total assets
- $1,087,885
- Primary geography
- Tennessee (80% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$1.1M
+81.5% YoY
Annual Giving
$35K
+49.1% YoY
Grant Count
22
+22.2% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$2K
+22.0% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Williams Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $35K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Williams Family Foundation open to new grantees?
32%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 7 of 22 grantees (32%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $1K; repeat grants $2K. How we count
Medians: $1K first-time, $1K repeat.
- 50% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 46% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 101% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grantees include organizations whose own missions describe work in education, support for women and families, addiction recovery, affordable housing, scholarships for military families, women’s leadership, and crisis-response meals. For example, Brentwood Academy describes itself as an independent college preparatory school, while Cumberland Heights Foundation says it works to provide hope and healing to people affected by alcohol or drug addiction.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2025, the foundation made 22 grants totaling $34,900. Grant amounts ranged from $200 to $5,000, with a median grant of $1,000. Its largest listed grants included $5,000 each to Sisters in Circles and Woodmont Christian Contribution, and $4,000 to Flint Global. Other listed grants included $2,200 to Nashville Masters Gardners; $2,000 each to Friends of Randor Lake State Park, Nashville Rescue Mission, and New Beginnings; and $1,500 to Brentwood Academy.
Ready to take the next step with Williams Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 80% of grant dollars went to recipients in Tennessee and 17% to recipients in North Carolina. California and the District of Columbia each received 1%.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 22 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
Grant Size Distribution
93 grants across all recorded years
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| SISTERS IN CIRCLES Ashville, NC | CHARITABLE SUPPORT | $5,000 |
| WOODMONT CHRISTIAN CONTRIBUTION Nashville, TN | CHARITABLE SUPPORT | $5,000 |
| FLINT GLOBAL Cookville, TN | CHARITABLE SUPPORT | $4,000 |
| NASHVILLE MASTERS GARDNERS Nashville, TN | CHARITABLE SUPPORT | $2,200 |
| FRIENDS OF RANDOR LAKE STATE PARK Nashville, TN | CHARITABLE SUPPORT | $2,000 |
| NASHVILLE RESUCE MISSION Nashville, TN | CHARITABLE SUPPORT | $2,000 |
| NEW BEGINNINGS Nashville, TN | CHARITABLE SUPPORT | $2,000 |
| BRENTWOOD ACADEMY Brentwood, TN | CHARITABLE SUPPORT | $1,500 |
| ALZHEIMERS ASSOCIATION Nashville, TN | CHARITABLE SUPPORT | $1,000 |
| BLUE MONARCH Montegale, TN | CHARITABLE SUPPORT | $1,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,087,885 | $476,218 | $42,838 | $34,900 |
| 2024 | $599,244 | $77,778 | $30,971 | $23,400 |
| 2023 | $529,338 | $33,118 | $30,123 | $24,950 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,087,885 | $599,244 | $529,338 |
| Revenue | $476,218 | $77,778 | $33,118 |
| Expenses | $42,838 | $30,971 | $30,123 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $34,900 | $23,400 | $24,950 |
| Net Investment Income | $20,888 | $16,129 | $5,177 |
| Distributable Amount | $34,575 | $26,353 | $23,140 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS August 17, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 14, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 25, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 6, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS March 10, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 6, 2026)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 6, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Bill Williams as president, Dana Williams as treasurer and secretary, and Shay Williams as director.
Williams Family Foundation is led by Bill Williams, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Bill Williams
President
On filings since 2020
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Shay Williams
Director
On filings since 2020
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Dana Williams
Treasurer & Secretary
Treasurer Secretary → Treasurer & Secretary, 2022
On filings since 2020
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 659 Thompson Lane, Nashville, TN 37204
Phone: (615) 263-2910
Frequently asked questions about Williams Family Foundation
How much does Williams Family Foundation give each year?
Williams Family Foundation gave $35K across 22 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $23K across 18 grants.
What is Williams Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Williams Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $1,586, across 22 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Williams Family Foundation that year got $1K on average.
Where does Williams Family Foundation give grants?
Williams Family Foundation gives mostly in Tennessee: 80% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was North Carolina (17%). The most frequent recipient cities were Nashville, TN (15 grants).
Does Williams Family Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 22 grants with a stated purpose on Williams Family Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charitable Support" (20 grants).
Who are Williams Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Williams Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Sisters in Circles ($5,000), Woodmont Christian Contribution ($5,000) and Flint Global ($4,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 40% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Williams Family Foundation?
Williams Family Foundation reported $1.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $35K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $35K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Williams Family Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grantees include organizations whose own missions describe work in education, support for women and families, addiction recovery, affordable housing, scholarships for military families, women’s leadership, and crisis-response meals. For example, Brentwood Academy describes itself as an independent college preparatory school, while Cumberland Heights Foundation says it works to provide hope and healing to people affected by alcohol or…
How do I apply for a grant from Williams Family Foundation?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Williams Family Foundation's EIN?
Williams Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-1424804. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Williams Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Williams Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Williams Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Community Foundation of Middle
Nashville, TN
The Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee supports nonprofits through community impact and fund-specific grants across a range of charitable areas, primarily serving Middle Tennessee. Its 2024 grants had a median of $8,500, though awards varied widely; it accepts applications for annual Special Interest Grants, but is not opening a new competitive Community Impact cycle for 2026–2027.
Assets
$832.0M
Grants
2,450
Total Given
$107.1M
United Way of Middle Tennessee Inc
Nashville, TN
United Way of Middle Tennessee funds nonprofit programs in education, financial stability, and health, especially those serving low-income families and vulnerable children and adults; it also supports HIV care and disaster recovery. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,015 to $697,309, with a median of $22,500. Its Community Impact Funding serves nine Middle Tennessee counties, while some programs serve people statewide; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$68.1M
Grants
347
Total Given
$19.7M
Dorothy Cate and Thomas F Frist
Nashville, TN
The funder supports a range of causes, including education, community programs, health, faith-based work, and conservation. In 2025, grants ranged from $250 to $325,000, with a median of $2,500; 86% of grant dollars went to Tennessee recipients, with some support elsewhere. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$37.9M
Grants
309
Total Given
$2.8M
Hca Healthcare Foundation
Nashville, TN
HCA Healthcare Foundation funds community health and health equity, including primary care, basic needs, education, and the arts; its Middle Tennessee Fund serves nine counties, while other initiatives support communities served by HCA Healthcare. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,000 to $9.65 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts requests through an Applicant Inquiry Form for new applicants and organizations that have not received funding in 18 months; staff provide next steps after review.
Assets
$192.7M
Grants
999
Total Given
$25.4M
Tractor Supply Company Foundation
Brentwood, TN
The Tractor Supply Company Foundation supports a broad range of work, with 2025 grants including agriculture and youth development, disaster response, food access, and support for veterans and military families. It awarded 3,375 grants totaling $3.81 million, typically $250 (median), with awards ranging from $250 to $280,750; the largest share of funding went to Tennessee, followed by the District of Columbia, California, Indiana, and Texas. The filing says giving is not limited to preselected organizations and lists a contact, but does not explicitly state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$6.1M
Grants
3,375
Total Given
$3.8M
Dollar General Employee Assistance
Goodletsville, TN
The foundation provides emergency financial assistance to active Dollar General employees and their families facing qualifying hardships, such as a home loss, a death, or a serious illness or injury. In 2026, grants ranged from $37 to $6,000, with a median of $2,000; all reported recipients were in Tennessee. It accepts applications from eligible employees, who must submit supporting documentation.
Assets
$5.8M
Grants
957
Total Given
$1.7M
The Community Foundation of Greater Chattanooga Inc
Chattanooga, TN
The foundation supports scholarships and community needs including affordable housing, health and wellness, workforce development, education, culture, and hunger relief, with a focus on Chattanooga and surrounding areas; Fund for Chattanooga grants prioritize organizations serving Hamilton County residents. Its 2024 grants had a median of $10,000, and a separate program offers unrestricted grants of up to $30,000. It does not describe an open unsolicited application process: prospective applicants are asked to discuss a proposal with staff, who may invite them to apply.
Assets
$245.3M
Grants
810
Total Given
$25.8M
Community Foundation
Memphis, TN
The Community Foundation of Greater Memphis supports nonprofits serving West Tennessee, eastern Arkansas, and northern Mississippi across a range of community needs, with grants made mainly through donor-advised funds and several focused programs. Grant sizes vary widely; the 2025 median was $20,200, while its Nonprofit Capacity Building program averages about $15,000 and Community Solutions Grants ranged from $50,000 to $150,000. Some programs accept applications, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted generally.
Assets
$953.1M
Grants
761
Total Given
$134.3M
Christian Community Foundation of
Memphis, TN
The foundation supports a broad range of U.S. charities through donor-advised funds, with a particular focus on Christian ministries and community transformation in Memphis; its Hope for Memphis Fund serves eligible Gospel-centered nonprofits in the Memphis metro area. Its 2025 grants had a median of $22,050, and it accepts applications for the Hope for Memphis Fund during its stated application cycle.
Assets
$229.0M
Grants
636
Total Given
$109.7M
Chattanooga Christian Community
Chattanooga, TN
The Generosity Trust supports Christian ministries and other nonprofits, education, community and human services, and ministry students, with a strong focus on the Chattanooga area but grants nationwide. Its 2024 listed grants had a median of $18,250 and ranged from $5,002 to $2.5 million; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$136.1M
Grants
567
Total Given
$36.4M
Dollar General Literacy Foundation
Goodlettsville, TN
The Dollar General Literacy Foundation funds direct literacy and education programs for learners of all ages, including adult, family, youth, and summer reading programs, as well as disaster relief for eligible K–12 public school libraries. Its reported median grant was $10,000; most program awards are capped at $3,000–$10,000, and it supports eligible organizations in states where Dollar General operates, generally within 15 miles of a store.
Assets
$84.6M
Grants
564
Total Given
$14.5M
International Paper Company Foundation
Memphis, TN
The foundation funds education, hunger relief, health and wellness, and disaster relief, primarily in communities where International Paper operates and has a significant employee presence. In 2024, grants ranged from $500 to $250,000, with a median of $3,500. It accepts unsolicited requests, except Memphis-area requests are by invitation only.
Assets
$76.4M
Grants
472
Total Given
$3.4M
More Funders in Tennessee
Williams Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?