William W & Betty Halliday Foundation
The William W & Betty Halliday Foundation is a private foundation based in Saint Louis, Missouri. Its 2025 filing shows grants to charitable organizations working in areas including animal welfare, human services, parks, education, and community support.
Key facts about William W & Betty Halliday Foundation
In short: William W & Betty Halliday Foundation gave $125K across 37 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), mostly in Missouri. 8% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 23-7001460
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $125,100
- Grants made (2025)
- 37
- Average grant
- $3,381
- Median grant
- $2,500
- New grantees (estimate)
- 8% first-time grantees (3 of 36, 2025)
- Total assets
- $1,222,229
- Primary geography
- Missouri (79% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$1.2M
+47.3% YoY
Annual Giving
$125K
+27.8% YoY
Grant Count
37
-2.6% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$3K
+31.2% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, William W & Betty Halliday Foundation reported a distributable amount of $132K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is William W & Betty Halliday Foundation open to new grantees?
8%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 3 of 36 grantees (8%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $2K; repeat grants $3K. How we count
Medians: $1K first-time, $3K repeat.
- 92% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+10%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 95% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation’s filing describes its program activity as cash distributions from securities and payments in lieu of dividend. Its 2025 grants show support for organizations serving people, animals, and community institutions. For example, Emmaus Homes describes its mission as enriching the lives of people with cognitive or developmental disabilities by fostering independence, inclusion, and self-advocacy. Operation SPOT says it works to eliminate unnecessary euthanasia of dogs and cats in the St. Louis area, while Forest Park Forever describes its work as restoring and sustaining Forest Park as a public park.
Other 2025 grantees include organizations whose stated missions address tornado recovery for North St. Louis residents (100ROOFS), food access (St. Louis Area Food Bank), support for domestic violence survivors and their children (Lydia’s House), shelter and adoption for homeless cats and dogs (Open Door Animal Sanctuary), and service dogs for veterans and wounded warriors (Mutts with a Mission).
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation gave $125,100 through 37 grants. Grant amounts ranged from $100 to $15,000, with a median grant of $2,500.
Ready to take the next step with William W & Betty Halliday Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 79% of grant dollars went to recipients in Missouri. Other recipient states included Texas (8%), Virginia (4%), New York (3%), and Illinois (2%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 37 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $76K (2020) to $125K (2025). In 2025 it made 37 grants totaling $125K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Missoure Alliance for Animals ($15K). Together the top 10 received $73K.
Grant Size Distribution
181 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 181 grants of 181 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Missoure Alliance for Animals St. Louis, MO | Educational Programs | $15,000 |
| Emmaus Homes St Charles, MO | Help People | $10,000 |
| Animals Abused and Abandoned Dallas, TX | Help Animals | $10,000 |
| Tower Grove Park St. Louis, MO | Help Institutions | $7,500 |
| Animal Protective Assn St. Louis, MO | Help Animals | $5,000 |
| Salvation Army St. Louis, MO | Help People | $5,000 |
| Forest Park Forever St. Louis, MO | Help Institutions | $5,000 |
| Lutheran North HS Scholarship St. Louis, MO | Scholarship Program | $5,000 |
| Operation Spot St. Louis, MO | Help Animals | $5,000 |
| Humane Society of MO St. Louis, MO | Help Animals | $5,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Grant total | Number of grants |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $125,100 | 37 |
| 2024 | $97,900 | 38 |
| 2023 | $83,325 | 36 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,222,229 | $829,481 | $815,317 |
| Revenue | $523,819 | $117,404 | $20,896 |
| Expenses | $129,509 | $102,924 | $88,175 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $125,175 | $102,214 | $87,390 |
| Net Investment Income | $519,410 | $112,380 | $22,708 |
| Distributable Amount | $131,830 | $125,096 | $103,223 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS March 15, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS March 7, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 23, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 1, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 22, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 22, 2026)
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Laurie H Livingston, Jean E Robertson, and Matthew A Robertson as trustees.
William W & Betty Halliday Foundation's 2025 filing lists 3 officers; 1 of 3 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Laurie H. Livingston
Trustee
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
$4K (2020) → $4K (2025)
Jean E. Robertson
Trustee
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Matthew A. Robertson
Trustee
On filings since 2023
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Bruce W. Halliday (2020–2022) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $4K, to Laurie H Livingston (Trustee).
Contact
Mailing address: 4175 Blaine Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110-2433
Phone: (314) 703-7090
Frequently asked questions about William W & Betty Halliday Foundation
How much does William W & Betty Halliday Foundation give each year?
William W & Betty Halliday Foundation gave $125K across 37 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $98K across 38 grants.
What is William W & Betty Halliday Foundation's typical grant size?
William W & Betty Halliday Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $2,500, and its average grant was $3,381, across 37 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from William W & Betty Halliday Foundation that year got $2K on average.
Where does William W & Betty Halliday Foundation give grants?
William W & Betty Halliday Foundation gives mostly in Missouri: 79% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Texas (8%). The most frequent recipient cities were St. Louis, MO (22 grants).
Does William W & Betty Halliday Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 37 grants with a stated purpose on William W & Betty Halliday Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Help Animals" (11 grants), "Help People" (7 grants) and "Help Institutions" (4 grants).
Who are William W & Betty Halliday Foundation's largest grantees?
William W & Betty Halliday Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Missoure Alliance for Animals ($15,000), Emmaus Homes ($10,000) and Animals Abused and Abandoned ($10,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 28% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is William W & Betty Halliday Foundation?
William W & Betty Halliday Foundation reported $1.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $125K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $132K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does William W & Betty Halliday Foundation fund?
The foundation’s filing describes its program activity as cash distributions from securities and payments in lieu of dividend. Its 2025 grants show support for organizations serving people, animals, and community institutions. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from William W & Betty Halliday Foundation?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is William W & Betty Halliday Foundation's EIN?
William W & Betty Halliday Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7001460. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does William W & Betty Halliday Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching William W & Betty Halliday Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in William W & Betty Halliday Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
St Louis Community Foundation
St. Louis, MO
The St. Louis Community Foundation supports nonprofits through its own and donor-advised grant programs, with priorities including economic mobility and youth connections; its 2024 itemized grants had a median of about $11,000, though amounts varied widely. Its opportunities and geographic criteria vary, with some focused on the St. Louis region. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests, but accepts applications through listed grant opportunities.
Assets
$104.0M
Grants
228
Total Given
$6.6M
St Louis Community Foundation Inc
St. Louis, MO
The St. Louis Community Foundation supports nonprofits through donor- and foundation-directed grants, with priorities including economic mobility and youth connections as well as education, health, arts, and culture. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts ranged from $5,050 to $4 million; its regional priorities center on Greater St. Louis, especially designated high-need ZIP codes. Grant processes vary by fund, so the profile does not establish whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$494.4M
Grants
839
Total Given
$63.9M
Commerce Bancshares Foundation
Kansas City, MO
The foundation supports a broad range of charitable organizations and community projects, with 2024 grants typically small (median $1,500) but ranging from $200 to $60,500. Most funding went to Missouri, followed by Kansas and Illinois, with smaller amounts elsewhere; it says applicants should contact the program director and provide proof of 501(c)(3) status, and does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
—
Grants
645
Total Given
$2.0M
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
$16.6M
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
Greater Horizons
Kansas City, MO
Greater Horizons is a donor-advised fund provider whose donor-directed grants support eligible U.S. public charities across a broad range of causes; international organizations may also qualify with additional review and fees. In 2024, grants had a median of $15,000, with itemized awards ranging from $5,001 to $10,073,050, and recipients were located across the United States, especially in California, Texas, Nebraska, New York, and Kansas. It describes a grant-request process for donors, not an application process for organizations, so unsolicited requests are not stated as accepted.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
3,282
Total Given
$212.2M
Patterson Family Foundation
Kansas City, MO
The Patterson Family Foundation funds healthcare, education, and economic opportunity, including program, operating, equipment, and capital grants for organizations serving rural communities in Kansas and western Missouri, generally in counties under 50,000 residents. Its 2021 awards ranged from $144 to $2.5 million, with a median of $6,300; it says it does not accept unsolicited funding requests and contributes only to preselected charitable organizations.
Assets
$1.5B
Grants
607
Total Given
$22.3M
Midway USA Foundation Inc
Columbia, MO
MidwayUSA Foundation funds U.S. high school, college, and other youth shooting-sports teams and activities across all shooting disciplines; it does not support adult programs or non-U.S. teams. In 2024, grants ranged from $902 to $388,797, with a median of $10,601; team cash grants are generally 5% of an eligible program’s endowment balance, and coach-training grants are $1,000–$5,000. It accepts applications through its online system from eligible programs.
Assets
$359.7M
Grants
494
Total Given
$9.5M
Community Foundation of the Ozarks Inc
Springfield, MO
The Community Foundation of the Ozarks funds projects in areas including education, health, economic development, environmental sustainability, arts, and community well-being, primarily in the Springfield area and affiliate communities across the Ozarks and southern Missouri. In 2025, its 477 grants ranged from $5,065 to $1 million, with a median of $20,000. It accepts applications for eligible programs through its grant portal; criteria and deadlines vary by program.
Assets
$539.7M
Grants
477
Total Given
$21.4M
Veterans United Foundation
Columbia, MO
Veterans United Foundation supports Veterans, service members, military families, and communities where Veterans United Home Loans has offices, funding community organizations, scholarships, and individual needs. In 2025, its grants had a median of $10,000, with awards ranging from $96 to $1.2 million. Organizations may apply for donations; the profile does not specify whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$36.1M
Grants
386
Total Given
$12.5M
Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation
Kansas City, MO
The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation funds college access and completion, workforce and career development, and entrepreneurship, with an emphasis on economic mobility and equitable opportunity in the Kansas City region. Its 2024 median grant was $75,000, though awards vary widely by program; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
—
Grants
364
Total Given
$95.0M
Washington University
Saint Louis, MO
Assets
$22.3B
Grants
359
Total Given
$120.7M
More Funders in Missouri
William W & Betty Halliday Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?