USA Track and Field Foundation Inc logo

USA Track and Field Foundation Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Salem, OH EIN: 37-1433733 Website

The usa track & field foundation provides a means to attract and guide funds to new and innovative track and field programs to promote competitive excellence and expand involvement in the sport. Activities are primarily grant-making

USA Track and Field Foundation Inc at a glance

In short: USA Track and Field Foundation Inc gave $151K across 4 grants in 2024 (avg $38K), mostly in Colorado. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$150,950
+21.7% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
4
+33.3% vs 2023
Average grant
$37,738
-8.7% vs 2023
Median grant
$32,975
Total assets
$6,845,166
+34.2% vs 2023
Primary geography
Colorado (50% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

How to apply to USA Track and Field Foundation Inc

Who USA Track and Field Foundation Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 4 recipients in 2024

Team Boss: $75KTeam Boss$75KThe Armory Foundation: $46KThe Armory Foundation$46KTracs: $20KTracs$20KZAP Endurance Foundation Inc: $10KZAP Endurance Foundation Inc$10K

The largest 2024 recipient was Team Boss ($75K). Together the top 4 received $151K.

Grant Size Distribution

12 grants across all recorded years

10<$50K2$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 10 grants of 12 (83%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

5states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.

Cities

BoulderNew YorkWalthamBlowing RockSanta Monica

How USA Track and Field Foundation Inc gives

  • Giving grew 1410% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K$200KTotal only2020 1 grant2021 4 grants2022 3 grants2023 4 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $10K (2021) to $151K (2024). In 2024 it made 4 grants totaling $151K.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Team Boss Boulder, COBurgess Grant$75,000
The Armory Foundation New York, NYBurgess Grant$45,950
Tracs Waltham, MABurgess Grant$20,000
ZAP Endurance Foundation Inc Blowing Rock, NCSupport of Elite ATH$10,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with USA Track and Field Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$6,845,166$5,689,109$5,599,053$150,9504$42,318
2023$5,101,154$5,034,895$4,299,493$124,0003$34,118
2022$4,133,269$4,009,737$3,775,199$37,0004$11,210
2021$4,459,238$5,345,351$3,243,798$10,0001$315
2020$2,575,222$1,065,508$1,599,667$27,500Total only$2,635

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About USA Track and Field Foundation Inc

Based on IRS filings

USA Track and Field Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Recreation & Sports, based in Salem, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $6.8M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 4 grants totaling $151K. Net investment income was $42K.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

USA Track and Field Foundation Inc is led by Robert Greifeld, Chairman on every filing since 2020; 2 of 51 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Robert Greifeld

    Chairman

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anre Williams

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bob West

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dan McClory

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joe Fabris

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Louis Carr

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark James

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Lambert

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Quinn

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marty Dugard

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Max Siegel

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nicholas Sparks

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Paul Lilly

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Reid Johnson

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Scott Tonn

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Victoria Chapus

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Vin Lananna

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Willie Banks

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steve Abernethy

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Thomas Jackovic

    Executive Di

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $162K (2020) → $212K (2024)

  • Trixie Saumsiegle

    COO

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $92K (2020) → $150K (2024)

  • Andy Mantel

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Benjamin Gifford

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dan O'Brien

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jack Wickens

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joe Rubio

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Katherine Greifeld

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kenneth Flax

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lisa Larson

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pitch Johnson

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Hill

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shaun Skeris

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steve Schwarzman

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Wayne Vandenburg

    Baord Member

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jason Barrett

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Burgess

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Marsh

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Therese Wichmann

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bill Nolde

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Charles Webster

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gary Retelny

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sarah Lesko

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian Leach

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dave Ott

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jane Ott

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Torrey James Ward

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Frank Marshall

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Henry Park

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jenny Zou

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Colich

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Olson

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (11)
  • Former: Jay Balaban (2020–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Michael Viola (2020–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Phil Dunkelberger (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Preston Johnson (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Barry Sloane (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Richard Gay (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Rudy Chapa (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Ashley Wright (2020) — Secretary
  • Former: Billy Mills (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Ismail Amin (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Mark Sutton (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Thomas Jackovic — Executive Di: $212KThomas JackovicExecutive Di$212KTrixie Saumsiegle — COO: $150KTrixie SaumsiegleCOO$150K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $212K, to Thomas Jackovic (Executive Di). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about USA Track and Field Foundation Inc

How much does USA Track and Field Foundation Inc give each year?

USA Track and Field Foundation Inc gave $151K across 4 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $124K across 3 grants.

What is USA Track and Field Foundation Inc's typical grant size?

USA Track and Field Foundation Inc's median grant in 2024 was $32,975, and its average grant was $37,738, across 4 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.

Where does USA Track and Field Foundation Inc give grants?

USA Track and Field Foundation Inc gives mostly in Colorado: 50% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest states were New York (30%) and Massachusetts (13%).

Does USA Track and Field Foundation Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on USA Track and Field Foundation Inc's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Burgess Grant" (3 grants).

How large is USA Track and Field Foundation Inc?

USA Track and Field Foundation Inc reported $6.8M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $5.7M.

What is USA Track and Field Foundation Inc?

USA Track and Field Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Recreation & Sports, based in Salem, OH. It holds $6.8M in total assets as of 2024.

What is USA Track and Field Foundation Inc's EIN?

USA Track and Field Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 37-1433733. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(4)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 11, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 15, 2024)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 6, 2025)
  4. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Live grants for the work USA Track and Field Foundation Inc funds

Recreation & Sports Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in USA Track and Field Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Ohio

Ohio Child Care Resource and Referral Association

Columbus, OH

OCCRRA funds Ohio organizations serving child care, early learning, and youth development, including through program-specific stabilization and access grants. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,960 to $50,970, with a median of $30,060. Organizations apply for assistance and are reviewed against program criteria; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the information provided.

Assets

$6.3M

Grants

4

Total Given

$118K

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports a broad range of nonprofit work, including arts, education, health, basic needs, neighborhoods, and capacity building, primarily in central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely. Most grants are directed by donors and aren’t made through an application process, but some specific programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working on education, housing, community and cultural vibrancy, and related regional needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though amounts vary widely; specific opportunities include awards of up to $35,000 for Resilient Communities and up to $450,000 through the Neighborhood Development Fund. It lists RFP and letter-of-intent opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,408

Total Given

$184.4M

The Cleveland Foundation

Cleveland, OH

The Cleveland Foundation funds education, human services, neighborhoods and housing, health, arts and culture, the environment, economic development, and other community priorities, primarily through grants to nonprofits in Cuyahoga, Lake and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $17.5 million, with a median of about $30,700. It accepts applications year-round through its standard grant process, with deadlines determining which cycle an application enters.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

1,016

Total Given

$184.2M

The Scripps Howard Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The foundation supports journalism education and related programs that foster informed, engaged communities, including journalism fellowships and environmental and technology-focused journalism initiatives. In 2024, grants ranged from $25 to $675,706, with a median of $1,250; funding was concentrated in Maryland and Washington, D.C., followed by Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$69.4M

Grants

819

Total Given

$7.4M

Nisource Charitable Foundation

Columbus, OH

The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$43.0M

Grants

683

Total Given

$7.5M

More similar funders

More Funders in Ohio

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from USA Track and Field Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

USA Track and Field Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?