University of South Alabama Foundation logo

University of South Alabama Foundation

Public charity · Grantmaker Mobile, AL EIN: 63-6065809 Website

The University of South Alabama Foundation was established to support the functions and activities of the university of South Alabama. Contributions are made directly to the university for and in support of student scholarships, faculty positions and programs, and other

University of South Alabama Foundation at a glance

In short: University of South Alabama Foundation gave $18.3M across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $18.3M), mostly in Alabama. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$18,317,158
+10.7% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$18,317,158
+10.7% vs 2024
Median grant
$18,317,158
Total assets
$472,889,584
+3.2% vs 2024
Primary geography
Alabama (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who University of South Alabama Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

University of South Alabama: $18.3MUniversity of South Alabama$18.3M

The largest 2025 recipient was University of South Alabama ($18.3M).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M5$5M+

The most common grant size was $5M or more: 5 grants of 5 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Mobile

How University of South Alabama Foundation gives

  • Giving fell 44% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10M$20M$30M$40M1 grant2019 1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $10.0M (2019) to $32.7M (2022). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $18.3M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
University of South Alabama Mobile, ALScholarships, Faculty Positions, and Other Support$18,317,158
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with University of South Alabama Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$472,889,584$23,113,644$22,351,532$18,317,1581$22,178,149
2024$458,334,456$11,339,312$20,371,702$16,552,8721$10,558,934
2023$419,243,148$11,851,648$16,919,092$13,260,1541$10,869,553
2022$392,021,424$13,140,864$36,444,738$32,671,3501$9,671,288
2021$439,229,113$12,164,844$14,585,512$10,862,6301$10,824,762
2020$389,818,068$13,677,546$14,264,773$10,597,4971$7,592,742
2019$386,086,878$12,273,230$13,661,262$10,034,7811$7,394,586

About University of South Alabama Foundation

Based on IRS filings

University of South Alabama Foundation is a public charity focused on Education, based in Mobile, AL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $472.9M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $18.3M. Net investment income was $22.2M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

University of South Alabama Foundation is led by John McMillan, President & Board Member since 2021 (on filings since 2019); 3 of 24 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • John McMillan

    President & Board Member

    Boardmember → President & Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Maxey J. Roberts

    Managing Director & Board Member

    Managing Director & Boardmember → Managing Director & Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $287K (2019) → $394K (2025)

  • Brad B. Roberts

    Chief Financial Officer

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $191K (2019) → $289K (2025)

  • H. Wade Faulkner

    Investment Manager

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $123K (2020) → $209K (2025)

  • Arlene Mitchell

    Board Member

    Boardmember → Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Damian J. Collins

    Board Member

    Boardmember → Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Elizabeth Vandewaa

    Board Member

    Boardmember → Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gregory Luce

    Vice President & Board Member

    Boardmember → Vice President & Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • John T. Whiddon

    Board Member

    Boardmember → Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lowell J. Bonds

    Secretary & Board Member

    Boardmember → Secretary & Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nolan C. Leake

    Board Member

    Boardmember → Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Otha Lee Biggs

    Board Member

    Boardmember → Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert P. Hall

    Treasurer & Board Member

    Boardmember → Treasurer & Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • W. Allen Carroll Jr.

    Board Member

    Boardmember → Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • D. Lynn Dyess

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alexis Atkins

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Josiah R. Bonner Jr.

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Normond B. McAllister Jr.

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Don Word

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Isabel Z. Brown

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • James H. Crosby

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anjanetta Davis

    Board Member

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robin McNair

    Board Member

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lenus M. Perkins

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (13)
  • Former: Margaret D. Young (2019–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Frank S. Pettyjohn (2019–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Philip Johnson (2019–2023) — Chief Forester
  • Former: Robert D. Word (2019–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: W. Scott McNair (2019–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Walter E. Penry Jr. (2019–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: James H. Shumock (2019–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Verla Ledlow Wilters (2019–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: John W. Smith (2021–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Alpha Johnson (2019–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Tony G. Waldrop (2019–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Ken Simon (2019) — Boardmember
  • Former: Robert M. Hope (2019) — Investment Manager

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Maxey J Roberts — Managing Director/Board Member: $394KMaxey J RobertsManaging Director/Board Member$394KBrad B Roberts — Chief Financial Officer: $289KBrad B RobertsChief Financial Officer$289KH Wade Faulkner — Investment Manager: $209KH Wade FaulknerInvestment Manager$209K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $394K, to Maxey J Roberts (Managing Director/Board Member). 3 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about University of South Alabama Foundation

How much does University of South Alabama Foundation give each year?

University of South Alabama Foundation gave $18.3M across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $16.6M across 1 grant.

How large is University of South Alabama Foundation?

University of South Alabama Foundation reported $472.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $23.1M.

What is University of South Alabama Foundation?

University of South Alabama Foundation is a public charity focused on Education, based in Mobile, AL. It holds $472.9M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does University of South Alabama Foundation operate?

University of South Alabama Foundation has awarded grants in Alabama.

What is University of South Alabama Foundation's EIN?

University of South Alabama Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 63-6065809. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(8)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS January 13, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS December 18, 2020)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS December 16, 2021)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS December 15, 2022)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS December 12, 2023)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS December 23, 2024)
  7. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 20, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in University of South Alabama Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Norquist LLP Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The foundation funds education, arts, human services, and general charitable purposes, with most of its giving going to Alabama organizations. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,000 to $90,000, with a median of $11,250. It makes grants only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1M

Grants

28

Total Given

$511K

Bonefish & Tarpon Trust Inc

Miami, FL

To conserve and restore bonefish, tarpon and permit fisheries and habitats through research, stewardship, education and advocacy

Environment & Animals

Assets

$2.0M

Grants

9

Total Given

$1.2M

Alabama Audubon

Birmingham, AL

Alabama Audubon's mission is to promote conservation and a greater knowledge of birds, their habitats, and the natural world.

Environment & Animals

Assets

$1.0M

Grants

1

Total Given

$5K

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related training and clinical programs. In 2024, its grants had a median of about $150,000, with awards ranging from $2,800 to nearly $12.9 million; it supports work nationwide. Applications are submitted through specific funding opportunities, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$5.0B

Grants

624

Total Given

$189.6M

Ernst & Young Foundation

New York, NY

Ernst & Young Foundation supports higher education through employee and partner matching gifts, as well as educational and special-project grants, including research, education forums, and programs that expand educational opportunity. In 2025, it made 637 grants ranging from $5,056 to $316,005, with a median of $13,525, to recipients across multiple states; the largest shares went to New York, Texas, California, Michigan, and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$47.6M

Grants

637

Total Given

$16.7M

Asrt Foundation

Albuquerque, NM

Our mission is to fund medical imaging and radiation therapy students and professionals by providing scholarships, research grants, global outreach fellowships and other scholarly activities to enhance the quality and safety of patient care. We are the philanthropic arm of the American society of radiologic technologists, the world's largest radiologic science organization.

Assets

$11.4M

Grants

2

Total Given

$35K

More similar funders

More Funders in Alabama

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from University of South Alabama Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

University of South Alabama Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?