United Way of Danville Area Inc
United Way of Danville Area Inc is a public charity based in Danville, Illinois, formed in 1927. It brings together local people, organizations, and resources to address community needs in Vermilion County, Illinois, and Fountain and Warren Counties, Indiana.
United Way of Danville Area Inc at a glance
In short: United Way of Danville Area Inc gave $240K across 10 grants in 2025 (avg $24K), mostly in Illinois. 10% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $240,234
- +5.3% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 10
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $24,023
- +5.3% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $25,335
- Total assets
- $714,894
- +25.8% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 10% first-time grantees (1 of 10, 2025; small sample)
- Primary geography
- Illinois (70% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to United Way of Danville Area Inc
- Contact
Mailing address: 801 W Fairchild St, Danville, IL 61832
Phone: (217) 442-3512
Website: https://unitedwayda.org
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who United Way of Danville Area Inc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 9 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Cris Senior Services ($45K). Together the top 9 received $212K.
Grant Size Distribution
46 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 38 grants of 46 (83%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The organization states that it serves Vermilion County, Illinois, and Fountain and Warren Counties, Indiana. Its 2020 grants also included Boys & Girls Club in Rockford, Illinois.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 10 itemized grants.
Cities
Is United Way of Danville Area Inc open to new grantees?
10%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 1 of 10 grantees (10%) were first-time recipients. With only 10 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 10 points. First grants averaged $23K; repeat grants $24K. How we count
Medians: $23K first-time, $28K repeat.
- 90% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−2%). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $211K (2023) to $275K (2019). In 2025 it made 10 grants totaling $240K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Cris Senior Services Danville, IL | Home Del Meals | $45,000 |
| Boys & Girls Club Danville, IL | Education & Career | $36,333 |
| Crosspoint Human Services Danville, IL | Domestic Violence | $34,000 |
| Other Organizations | — | $28,231 |
| Gateway Family Services of Illinois Potomac, IL | Prevention Services | $28,000 |
| Dolly Parton Imagination Library | — | $22,670 |
| Peer Court Inc Danville, IL | Court Sessions | $15,000 |
| Salvation Army | — | $11,000 |
| CASA of Vermilion County Danville, IL | Child Advocacy | $10,000 |
| Survivor Resource Center | — | $10,000 |
Ready to take the next step with United Way of Danville Area Inc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $714,894 | $721,599 | $576,490 | $240,234 | 10 | $9,581 |
| 2024 | $568,174 | $507,911 | $507,071 | $228,154 | 10 | $8,551 |
| 2023 | $511,407 | $463,171 | $453,518 | $210,906 | 10 | $7,408 |
| 2022 | $465,701 | $458,393 | $448,033 | $245,289 | 9 | $6,341 |
| 2021 | $513,512 | $503,898 | $503,852 | $231,583 | 7 | $43,477 |
| 2020 | $513,308 | $608,044 | $555,331 | $272,000 | 10 | $11,142 |
| 2019 | $436,980 | $453,977 | $521,111 | $275,000 | 11 | $8,505 |
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
The organization’s stated mission is to reduce poverty by soliciting financial and volunteer contributions to support programs and resources that improve people’s health, educational opportunities, and financial stability. It also describes its program work as reviewing community human-service needs, raising funds to meet them, and fostering cooperation among providers.
Its website identifies three focus areas: Youth Opportunity, Healthy Community, and Community Resiliency. Examples of supported organizations include CASA of Vermilion County, whose stated mission is to provide trained community volunteers to help make court decisions about the lives of abused and neglected children, and the Vermilion County Rape Crisis Center, whose stated mission is to counsel and support victims of rape and sexual assault. The Boys & Girls Club of Rockford describes its mission as providing youth with a club experience intended to support high-school graduation, future planning, good character and citizenship, and healthy lifestyles.
Grantmaking
The organization offers Community Impact Grants. Its website describes an application process for agencies applying for the 2026/2027 funding cycle. Applicants could apply for their organization’s work and/or on behalf of a collaborative; a separate application was required for each program. The stated application deadline was May 31, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. CST, which has passed. Selected applicants were to be invited to interviews with the Community Investment Committee on June 9 or 10, 2026; those dates have also passed.
The application required a program budget, the most recent Form 990, a current audit or management letter, proof of tax-exempt 501(c)(3) status, a board list, and a current agency logo. The website recommended that organizations or collaboratives not previously funded contact the United Way team to discuss their programs before applying. It also stated that the online application had to be completed and supporting documents uploaded in one session.
IRS filing data reports zero grants for each of 2023, 2024, and 2025; it does not provide grant totals or typical grant sizes for those years. In 2020, the organization gave $65,000 to Boys & Girls Club (Rockford, Illinois), $13,500 to CASA of Vermilion County (Danville, Illinois), and $8,000 to Vermilion County Rape Crisis Center (Danville, Illinois).
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Mike Arbuckle as chair, Erin Krysnksi as vice chair, and Suzanne Monyok as past chair. It lists Tamera Forthenberry, Teri Gaffney, Carly Goodwin, Alec Hart, John Hart, Tricia Keith, and Tammy Leigh as directors.
United Way of Danville Area Inc is led by Mike Arbuckle, Chair since 2025 (on filings since 2022); none of the 16 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Mike Arbuckle
Chair
Director → Chair, 2025
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Tricia Keith
Director
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
John Hart
Director
Director → Treasurer, 2023
Treasurer → Director, 2024
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Narcissus Rankin
Director
Chair → Past Chair, 2023
Past Chair → Director, 2024
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Alec Hart
Director
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Carly Goodwin
Director
Treasurer → Director, 2023
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Liya Hussmann Rogers
Director
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Teri Gaffney
Director
Director → Vice Chair, 2023
Vice Chair → Director, 2024
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Amy Thompson
Director
On filings since 2023
No compensation reported
Hayley Siefert
Director
On filings since 2023
No compensation reported
Reggie Warfield
Director
On filings since 2023
No compensation reported
Tamera Forthenberry
Director
On filings since 2023
No compensation reported
Jennifer Wright
Director
New on the 2025 filing
No compensation reported
Tammy Leigh
Director
New on the 2025 filing
No compensation reported
Erin Krysnski
Vice Chair
Director → Vice Chair, 2024
On filings since 2023
No compensation reported
Suzanne Monyok
Past Chair
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Former officers (39)
- Former: Matt Artega (2022–2024) — Chair
- Former: Rachel Shore (2022–2024) — Director
- Former: Dana Rowland (2023–2024) — Director
- Former: Harsha Gurujal (2019–2023) — Director
- Former: Keith Rancuret (2019–2023) — Director
- Former: Mark Stutsman (2019–2023) — Director
- Former: Adam Huls (2022–2023) — Director
- Former: Amy Hoose (2022–2023) — Director
- Former: Annie Monyok (2022–2023) — Chair
- Former: Audra Mervis (2023) — Director
- Former: Bonnie Newberry (2023) — Director
- Former: Linda Ireland (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Penny McConnell (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Simphi Lenover (2019–2022) — Past Chair
- Former: Tom Neal (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Julie Fruhling (2022) — Director
- Former: Tonya Salomon (2022) — Director
- Former: Angela Burns (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Anna Sykes (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Dan Laughner (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Jason Toellner (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Liya Hussman-Rogers (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Michael Arbuckle (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Michael Bryant (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Michelle Campbell (2019–2021) — Vice President
- Former: Richard Rotramel (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Ryan O'Shaughnessy (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Stephanie Thomason (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Teresa Gaffney (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Carly Wilson (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Alicia Geddis (2019) — Director
- Former: Connie Ostrander (2019) — Director
- Former: Demarko Wright (2019) — Director
- Former: Drew Keiser (2019) — Director
- Former: Jim Bailey (2019) — Director
- Former: Lisa Fudge (2019) — Director
- Former: Megan Hale (2019) — Director
- Former: Sherri Askren (2019) — President
- Former: Tj Morris (2019) — Past Chairman
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about United Way of Danville Area Inc
How much does United Way of Danville Area Inc give each year?
United Way of Danville Area Inc gave $240K across 10 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $228K across 10 grants.
What is United Way of Danville Area Inc's typical grant size?
United Way of Danville Area Inc's median grant in 2025 was $25,335, and its average grant was $24,023, across 10 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from United Way of Danville Area Inc that year got $23K on average.
Where does United Way of Danville Area Inc give grants?
United Way of Danville Area Inc gives mostly in Illinois: 70% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Danville, IL (5 grants).
Does United Way of Danville Area Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on United Way of Danville Area Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.
Who are United Way of Danville Area Inc's largest grantees?
United Way of Danville Area Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Cris Senior Services ($45,000), Boys & Girls Club ($36,333) and Crosspoint Human Services ($34,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 48% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is United Way of Danville Area Inc?
United Way of Danville Area Inc reported $715K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $722K.
What does United Way of Danville Area Inc fund?
The organization’s stated mission is to reduce poverty by soliciting financial and volunteer contributions to support programs and resources that improve people’s health, educational opportunities, and financial stability. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from United Way of Danville Area Inc?
United Way of Danville Area Inc has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check unitedwayda.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.
What is United Way of Danville Area Inc's EIN?
United Way of Danville Area Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 37-0673481. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 28, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS April 4, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 1, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS March 20, 2025)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 4, 2026)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS March 14, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS March 9, 2021)
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in United Way of Danville Area Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Illinois
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
The Allstate Foundation
Northbrook, IL
The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.
Assets
$89.3M
Grants
2,010
Total Given
$38.0M
Elks National Foundation Inc
Chicago, IL
The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans’ services, and charitable projects through Elks Lodges and state associations across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median size of $10,000, though awards varied widely; the profile describes application routes for specific Lodge and scholarship programs but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$954.1M
Grants
1,536
Total Given
$36.5M
John D and Catherine T Macarthur Foundation
Chicago, IL
The MacArthur Foundation funds work advancing a more just, verdant, and peaceful world, including climate solutions, criminal justice, journalism, technology, and Chicago. In 2024, its grants had a median of $160,000, though awards ranged widely; it generally does not accept unsolicited requests, with possible exceptions for specific open calls or proposals that meet program guidelines.
Assets
$9.3B
Grants
1,086
Total Given
$356.1M
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial
Chicago, IL
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports education, the environment, health and human services, gun violence prevention, homelessness prevention, and Jewish community and Israel initiatives, with a strong focus on Chicago and giving across the U.S. and internationally. In 2024, its grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000. It uses an invitation-only process and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
897
Total Given
$115.2M
Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago
Chicago, IL
The Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago funds human services, Jewish education and community programs, crisis response, and support for Israel and Jewish communities worldwide, primarily through Chicago-area agencies and initiatives. In 2025, its grants had a median of about $20,000, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
896
Total Given
$166.6M
More similar funders
More Funders in Illinois
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). United Way of Danville Area Inc funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 16, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/united-way-of-danville-area-inc-morg_01b7fdec27eb47edb98a796df274268f
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_370673481_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{United Way of Danville Area Inc funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/united-way-of-danville-area-inc-morg_01b7fdec27eb47edb98a796df274268f},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-16. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from United Way of Danville Area Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
United Way of Danville Area Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?