United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237

Public charity · Grantmaker East Peoria, IL EIN: 46-1725959

LABOR UNION

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 at a glance

In short: United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 reported $30K in grants paid in 2025 (a total; its filing lists no individual grants). Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Grants paid (2025)
$29,894 — reported as a total on the IRS filing, without an itemized list
+458.8% vs 2024
Total assets
$1,370,477
+3.4% vs 2024
Revenue (2025)
$765,172
+3.1% vs 2024
Net investment income (2025)
$19,005
+133.2% vs 2024
Expenses (2025)
$743,774
+1.2% vs 2024
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated October 2026.

Who United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

3 grants across all recorded years

3<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 3 grants of 3 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

Springfield

How United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 gives

  • Giving fell 28% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K1 grant2021 1 grant2022 Total only2023 1 grant2024 Total only2025

From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2024) to $30K (2025). In 2025 it reported $30K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Southern Region Macrc Scholarship Fund Springfield, ILContribution - General Support$5,350
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$1,370,477$765,172$743,774$29,894Total only$19,005
2024$1,325,289$742,120$735,307$5,3501$8,149
2023$1,288,199$746,093$741,260$25,377Total only$10,244
2022$1,266,647$695,267$611,978$8,6701$5,817
2021$1,212,720$683,677$597,833$7,4001$5,838

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237

Based on IRS filings

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 is a public charity, based in East Peoria, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.4M in total assets. In 2025, it reported $30K in grants paid as a total on its IRS filing, without an itemized list. Net investment income was $19K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 is led by Matthew Watchinski, President on every filing since 2021; 10 of 11 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Matthew Watchinski

    President

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2021) → $2K (2025)

  • Brand Slack

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2021) → $2K (2025)

  • Mark Taylor

    Trustee

    Conductor → Trustee - New & Conductor - Past, 2024

    Trustee - New & Conductor - Past → Trustee, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2021) → $2K (2025)

  • Gregory Herron

    Trustee

    Conductor - New → Trustee, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    $866 (2024) → $2K (2025)

  • Brian Burks

    Warden

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2021) → $2K (2025)

  • Jacob Moody

    Recording Secretary

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2021) → $2K (2025)

  • Matthew Bender

    Financial Secretary

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2021) → $2K (2025)

  • Patrick Garman

    Vice President

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2021) → $2K (2025)

  • Thomas Modlin

    Treasurer

    Trustee → Treasurer - New, 2023

    Treasurer - New → Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2021) → $2K (2025)

  • Thomas Swingle

    Trustee - Past

    Trustee - New → Trustee, 2024

    Trustee → Trustee - Past, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $700 (2023) → $2K (2025)

  • Steven Johnson

    Conductor

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (2)
  • Former: Roy Eash III (2021–2024) — Trustee - Past
  • Former: Robert Swegle (2021–2023) — Treasurer - Past

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Jacob Moody — Recording Secretary: $2KJacob MoodyRecording Secretary$2KMark Taylor — Trustee: $2KMark TaylorTrustee$2KBrian Burks — Warden: $2KBrian BurksWarden$2KMatthew Bender — Financial Secretary: $2KMatthew BenderFinancial Secretary$2KThomas Modlin — Treasurer: $2KThomas ModlinTreasurer$2KGregory Herron — Trustee: $2KGregory HerronTrustee$2KPatrick Garman — Vice President: $2KPatrick GarmanVice President$2KMatthew Watchinski — President: $2KMatthew WatchinskiPresident$2KBrand Slack — Trustee: $2KBrand SlackTrustee$2KThomas Swingle — Trustee - Past: $2KThomas SwingleTrustee - Past$2K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $2K, to Jacob Moody (Recording Secretary). 10 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237

How much does United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 give each year?

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 reported $30K in grants paid in 2025 on its 2025 IRS Form 990, as a total without an itemized list of grants. In 2024 it gave $5K across 1 grant.

How large is United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237?

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 reported $1.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $765K.

Where does United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 operate?

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 has awarded grants in Illinois.

What is United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237's EIN?

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-1725959. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 4, 2022)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 17, 2023)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS December 7, 2023)
  4. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS September 24, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS October 10, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Illinois

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

The Allstate Foundation

Northbrook, IL

The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.

Assets

$89.3M

Grants

2,010

Total Given

$38.0M

Elks National Foundation Inc

Chicago, IL

The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans’ services, and charitable projects through Elks Lodges and state associations across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median size of $10,000, though awards varied widely; the profile describes application routes for specific Lodge and scholarship programs but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$954.1M

Grants

1,536

Total Given

$36.5M

John D and Catherine T Macarthur Foundation

Chicago, IL

The MacArthur Foundation funds work advancing a more just, verdant, and peaceful world, including climate solutions, criminal justice, journalism, technology, and Chicago. In 2024, its grants had a median of $160,000, though awards ranged widely; it generally does not accept unsolicited requests, with possible exceptions for specific open calls or proposals that meet program guidelines.

Assets

$9.3B

Grants

1,086

Total Given

$356.1M

Arie and Ida Crown Memorial

Chicago, IL

Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports education, the environment, health and human services, gun violence prevention, homelessness prevention, and Jewish community and Israel initiatives, with a strong focus on Chicago and giving across the U.S. and internationally. In 2024, its grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000. It uses an invitation-only process and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

897

Total Given

$115.2M

Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago

Chicago, IL

The Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago funds human services, Jewish education and community programs, crisis response, and support for Israel and Jewish communities worldwide, primarily through Chicago-area agencies and initiatives. In 2025, its grants had a median of about $20,000, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

896

Total Given

$166.6M

More similar funders

More Funders in Illinois

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America Local Union No 237 down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?