Three Crowns Foundation
Key facts about Three Crowns Foundation
In short: Three Crowns Foundation reported $42K in grants paid in 2025 (a total; its filing lists no individual grants). Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 20-1060468
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Grants paid (2025)
- $42,363 — reported as a total on the IRS filing, without an itemized list
- Total assets
- $522,214
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$522K
+7.0% YoY
Grants Paid (reported total)
$42K
+563.7% YoY
Revenue
$68K
+174.3% YoY
Net Investment Income
$25K
+41.9% YoY
How Three Crowns Foundation gives
- Giving fell 82% from 2019 to 2022. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About Three Crowns Foundation
Based on IRS filings
Three Crowns Foundation is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Evanston, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $522K in total assets. In 2025, it reported $42K in grants paid as a total on its IRS filing, without an itemized list. Net investment income was $25K.
Focus Areas
Ready to take the next step with Three Crowns Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2023) to $151K (2020). In 2025 it reported $42K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.
*2021: Covers 18 months (fiscal year-end changed).
Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
1 grant across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 1 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
No grants recorded for 2025.
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
*2021: Covers 18 months (fiscal year-end changed).
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $522,214 | $488,219 | $415,409 |
| Revenue | $68,253 | $24,879 | $89,129 |
| Expenses | $44,198 | $8,544 | $11,300 |
| Net Investment Income | $25,283 | $17,817 | $14,630 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS February 12, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 10, 2023)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS February 14, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 11, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS July 31, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS July 30, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 7, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Three Crowns Foundation is led by David G. Erickson, Director, Ex-Officio & Chief Executive Officer since 2025 (on filings since 2021); none of the 28 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
David G. Erickson
Director, Ex-Officio & Chief Executive Officer
Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Assistant Secretary → General Counsel Part Yr, Assistant Secretary & CEO, 2024
General Counsel Part Yr, Assistant Secretary & CEO → Director, Ex-Officio & Chief Executive Officer, 2025
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Terri S. Cunliffe
Former Director, Clcs President & CEO -
Director, Clcs President & CEO → Director, Clcs President & Ceo-Part Yr, 2024
Director, Clcs President & Ceo-Part Yr → Former Director, Clcs President & CEO -, 2025
On filings since 2021
No compensation reported
Tammy Swanson-Draheim
Director, Ex-Officio & Ecc President
Director & Ex-Officio → Director, Ex-Officio & Ecc President, 2025
On filings since 2022
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Todd Sletcha
Director, Ex-Officio & Cmb President
New on the 2025 filing
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Janet Creaney
Director & Chair
Director → Director & Vice Chair, 2022
Director & Vice Chair → Director & Chair, 2023
On filings since 2021
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Janet Goelz Hoffman
Director & Vice Chair
Director → Director & Secretary, 2023
Director & Secretary → Director & Vice Chair, 2025
On filings since 2019
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mathew Manlove
Director
Director → Director & Chair, 2022
Director & Chair → Director, 2024
On filings since 2021
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Andrew Vanover
Director -
Director → Director -, 2025
On filings since 2022
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jennifer Means
Director & Secretary
Director → Director & Secretary, 2025
On filings since 2022
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
John Fredrickson
Director
On filings since 2022
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kathy Buettner
Director
On filings since 2022
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kurt Kincanon
Director
On filings since 2022
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lorene Flewellen
Director
Director & Secretary → Director & Vice Chair, 2023
Director & Vice Chair → Director, 2025
On filings since 2022
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mary Palmer
Director & Ex-Officio -
Director → Director & Ex-Officio, 2024
Director & Ex-Officio → Director & Ex-Officio -, 2025
On filings since 2022
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Pamela Christensen
Director
On filings since 2022
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Robert Martin
Director
On filings since 2022
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Allan Anderson
Director
On filings since 2024
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Rick Shepard
Director
On filings since 2024
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Al Lopus
Director
New on the 2025 filing
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Craig Swanson
Director
New on the 2025 filing
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Curt Anderson
Director & Ex-Officio
New on the 2025 filing
0.1 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Emily Warnygora
Chief of Staff & Assistant Secretary
Assistant Secretary → Senior Executive Assistant to CEO & Assistant Secretary, 2024
Senior Executive Assistant to CEO & Assistant Secretary → Chief of Staff & Assistant Secretary, 2025
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jean E. Justie
Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer & Assistant Secretary
CFO, Treasurer & Assistant Secretary → Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer & Assistant Secretary, 2025
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
William Rabe
Former Officer, Curent Chief Information & Technology Officer
Senior Vice President Enterprise Ops & Assistant Secretary → Chief Info, Tech Officer & Assistant Secretary, 2024
Chief Info, Tech Officer & Assistant Secretary → Former Officer, Curent Chief Information & Technology Officer, 2025
On filings since 2021
No compensation reported
Jay Prince
Former Senior Vice President, Community Operations & Assistant Secretary
Senior Vice President, Community Ops & Assistant Secretary → Former Senior Vice President, Community Operations & Assistant Secretary, 2025
On filings since 2023
No compensation reported
Tanderia Brown
Chief Human Resources Officer -
Senior Vice President of Human Resources → Chief Human Resources Officer, 2024
Chief Human Resources Officer → Chief Human Resources Officer -, 2025
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Cory Kallheim
General Counsel & Assistant Secretary
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Roberta Nevers
Interim Chief Human Resources Officer
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (20)
- Former: Sarah Bentley (2021–2025) — Director · Filing note: Ended 42922
- Former: Cory Stern (2022–2024) — Former Interim Finance Lead & Treasurer
- Former: Dixie Reppe (2022–2024) — Director -
- Former: Loann Peterson (2022–2024) — Director -
- Former: Todd Slechta (2022–2024) — Director & Ex-Officio
- Former: Arthur Derooy (2023–2024) — Director & Ex-Officio -
- Former: Dennis H. Trautvetter (2019–2023) — Finance Manager
- Former: Amy Lacroix (2021–2023) — Former Senior Vice President Community Ops
- Former: Philip Hemmer (2022–2023) — Executive Director
- Former: Susan Poston (2022–2023) — Director & Ex-Officio
- Former: John Wenrich (2022) — Director & Ex-Officio · Filing note: Ended 9122
- Former: Cathy Grimsted (2019–2021) — Director · Filing note: Ended 63021
- Former: James E. Elsass (2019–2021) — Chairperson -
- Former: Jeffrey Later (2019–2021) — Secretary · Filing note: Ended 63021
- Former: Kathleen Gillespie (2019–2021) — Vice Chairperson-
- Former: Phil Hemmer (2019–2021) — Assistant Secretary & Executive Director · Filing note: Ended 63021
- Former: Nancy Flowers (2021) — Director
- Former: Rich Jones (2021) — Director · Filing note: Ended 63021
- Former: William Stafford (2021) — Treasurer -
- Former: Bill Stafford (2019–2020) — Treasurer
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Three Crowns Foundation
How much does Three Crowns Foundation give each year?
Three Crowns Foundation reported $42K in grants paid in 2025 on its 2025 IRS Form 990, as a total without an itemized list of grants. In 2024 it reported $6K in grants paid.
How large is Three Crowns Foundation?
Three Crowns Foundation reported $522K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $68K.
What is Three Crowns Foundation?
Three Crowns Foundation is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Evanston, IL. It holds $522K in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Three Crowns Foundation operate?
Three Crowns Foundation has awarded grants in Illinois.
What is Three Crowns Foundation's EIN?
Three Crowns Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-1060468. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Three Crowns Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Three Crowns Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Illinois
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
The Allstate Foundation
Northbrook, IL
The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.
Assets
$89.3M
Grants
2,010
Total Given
$38.0M
Elks National Foundation Inc
Chicago, IL
The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans’ services, and charitable projects led by Elks Lodges and state associations, supporting communities across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median of $10,000, though awards varied widely; published Lodge opportunities are limited to eligible Elks Lodges, and no general application route for outside organizations is described.
Assets
$954.1M
Grants
1,536
Total Given
$36.5M
John D and Catherine T Macarthur Foundation
Chicago, IL
The MacArthur Foundation funds work advancing a more just, verdant, and peaceful world, including climate solutions, criminal justice, journalism, technology, and Chicago. In 2024, its grants had a median of $160,000, though awards ranged widely; it generally does not accept unsolicited requests, with possible exceptions for specific open calls or proposals that meet program guidelines.
Assets
$9.3B
Grants
1,086
Total Given
$356.1M
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial
Chicago, IL
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports a broad range of organizations, including education, Jewish organizations, and community foundations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000; 55% of grant dollars went to Illinois, with additional funding in New York, Washington, DC, California, and Minnesota. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
897
Total Given
$115.2M
Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago
Chicago, IL
The Federation supports social services, Jewish education and community programs, and crisis response in Chicago and beyond, including Israel and Jewish communities worldwide. In 2025 it made 896 grants, with a median grant of about $20,000; 85% of grant dollars went to Illinois recipients. The profile does not state whether the Federation accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
896
Total Given
$166.6M
Circle of Service Foundation
Chicago, IL
The foundation funds community services, education, Jewish community, and medical research, with grantmaking concentrated in Cook and Lake Counties, Illinois, though it also funds organizations elsewhere. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000 and ranged from $50 to about $1.74 million; it accepts unsolicited pre-applications for community services and for Jewish community requests in Cook or Lake County, but not for the other stated categories or out-of-area Jewish community requests.
Assets
$592.0M
Grants
637
Total Given
$37.0M
Ea Mellinger Educational
Monmouth, IL
The foundation primarily awards undergraduate scholarships and also makes grants to qualified organizations for educational purposes. In 2025, awards ranged from $183 to $15,000, with a median of $2,100; its scholarship focus is applicants from six Illinois counties, and most grant dollars went to Illinois. Scholarship applications are accepted online during the annual March 1–April 30 period; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited organizational grant requests.
Assets
$25.0M
Grants
582
Total Given
$1.2M
Polk Bros Foundation Inc
Chicago, IL
Polk Bros Foundation funds community-driven Chicago nonprofits working to close the life expectancy gap, build community wealth, and foster participatory, multiracial democracy. Recent grants ranged from $100 to $250,000, with a median of $25,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests during its transition period, which ends in fall 2026; it currently offers targeted RFPs.
Assets
$334.3M
Grants
568
Total Given
$19.3M
National Council of YMCAs of the USA
Chicago, IL
Y-USA funds YMCA and affiliated World Alliance of YMCAs members for youth development, healthy living, social responsibility, and related program support. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,000 to $799,726, with a median of $55,000, and supported organizations across the United States. It states that proposals are evaluated by staff and approved through its International Group process; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$260.5M
Grants
540
Total Given
$44.1M
The National Association for the Exchange of Industrial Resources Inc
Galesburg, IL
NAEIR redistributes donated merchandise—such as school and office supplies, tools, clothing, and books—to eligible schools, nonprofits, churches, and other charitable organizations nationwide, rather than making conventional cash grants. Its reported 2024 distributions averaged about $62,000 in goods per recipient, though amounts vary; organizations apply for membership and request products, while qualified teachers can apply to a separate program.
Assets
$127.0M
Grants
454
Total Given
$25.6M
More Funders in Illinois
Three Crowns Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?