Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd
Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd is a private foundation based in Orlando, Florida. Its 2024 filing describes scholarship requests for students from Richmond County, North Carolina, attending Duke University, UNC–Chapel Hill, or Salem College, as well as requests for public support.
Key facts about Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd
In short: Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd gave $110K across 16 grants in 2025 (avg $7K), mostly in North Carolina. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 56-6294400
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $110,327
- Grants made (2025)
- 16
- Average grant
- $6,895
- Median grant
- $7,203
- Total assets
- $2,289,056
- Primary geography
- North Carolina (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- How to apply
- The filing describes written scholarship requests for Duke University, UNC–Chapel Hill, or Salem College, including the student’s school record, high school, class, and planned major. Full details ↓
- Deadline
- None stated.
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$2.3M
+5.3% YoY
Annual Giving
$110K
+7.1% YoY
Grant Count
16
-23.8% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$7K
+40.6% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd reported a distributable amount of $131K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+0%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 92% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation’s filing describes scholarships and public support for religious, charitable, scientific, or literary purposes, or for institutions that support citizens of Richmond County and North Carolina.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation reported 16 grants totaling $110,327. Grant amounts ranged from $3,500 to $10,703, with a median of $7,203. The listed 2025 grants were all scholarships to recipients in North Carolina. Among the largest were scholarships of $10,703 each to Anna Blair, Jude Howard, Campbell Gross, Ann Nguyen, Lily Wilson, and Addison Massey, all in Chapel Hill.
Review Cycle
None stated.
How to Apply
The filing describes written scholarship requests for Duke University, UNC–Chapel Hill, or Salem College, including the student’s school record, high school, class, and planned major. For public support, it describes a written request stating the project’s title, goals, and cost. It lists Tonia Wright as the contact. Scholarship requests are restricted to Richmond County, North Carolina, residents; public support is restricted to the stated religious, charitable, scientific, or literary purposes, or institutions supporting citizens of Richmond County and North Carolina.
Ready to take the next step with Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
All grant dollars reported for 2025 went to recipients in North Carolina. The filing’s application restrictions specify Richmond County, North Carolina, residency for scholarship requests and identify public support for institutions serving citizens of Richmond County and North Carolina.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 16 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $103K (2024) to $118K (2021). In 2025 it made 16 grants totaling $110K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
95 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 95 grants of 95 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 16 individual scholarships Recipients not named | — | $110,327 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $2,289,056 | $244,540 | $132,703 | $110,327 (16 grants) |
| 2024 | $2,174,282 | $104,803 | $123,947 | $102,970 (21 grants) |
| 2023 | $2,189,965 | $54,840 | $139,363 | $112,473 (18 grants) |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $2,289,056 | $2,174,282 | $2,189,965 |
| Revenue | $244,540 | $104,803 | $54,840 |
| Expenses | $132,703 | $123,947 | $139,363 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $121,123 | $113,873 | $125,798 |
| Net Investment Income | $235,068 | $95,271 | $38,732 |
| Distributable Amount | $131,290 | $121,229 | $116,296 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Truist Bank as trustee.
Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd's only listed officer is Truist Bank, Trustee on every filing since 2022 (compensated).
Officers on the 2025 filing
Truist Bank
Trustee
On filings since 2022
12 hrs/week
$35K (2022) → $19K (2025)
Former officers (1)
- Former: Branch Bank AND Trust Company (2021) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $19K, to Truist Bank (Trustee).
Contact
Application contact: Tonia Wright
Mailing address: 50 Aviemore Dr Fl 2, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Phone: (910) 687-5123
Frequently asked questions about Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd
How much does Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd give each year?
Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd gave $110K across 16 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $103K across 21 grants.
What is Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd's typical grant size?
Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd's median grant in 2025 was $7,203, and its average grant was $6,895, across 16 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd give grants?
Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd gives mostly in North Carolina: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there.
Does Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 16 grants with a stated purpose on Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (16 grants).
How large is Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd?
Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd reported $2.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $121K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $131K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd fund?
The foundation’s filing describes scholarships and public support for religious, charitable, scientific, or literary purposes, or for institutions that support citizens of Richmond County and North Carolina. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd?
The filing describes written scholarship requests for Duke University, UNC–Chapel Hill, or Salem College, including the student’s school record, high school, class, and planned major. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd's EIN?
Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 56-6294400. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Florida
Publix Super Markets Charities Inc
Lakeland, FL
Publix Super Markets Charities supports nonprofits addressing hunger, homelessness and housing, youth, education, and community needs in Florida, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Kentucky. Its 2024 median grant was $2,500, though awards ranged widely; it accepts online requests from eligible organizations, with application periods varying by program.
Assets
$233.8M
Grants
3,269
Total Given
$52.5M
The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida Inc
Jacksonville, FL
The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida supports nonprofits and civic work in Duval, St. Johns, Nassau, Baker, Clay, and Putnam counties, with interests including neighborhoods, education, aging adults, arts, women and girls, young children, and early literacy. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though amounts varied widely; most donor-advised grants are not open to applications, but eligible nonprofits can apply through competitive programs when application windows are open.
Assets
$708.7M
Grants
2,470
Total Given
$78.0M
The Community Foundation of Sarasota CO Inc
Sarasota, FL
The Community Foundation of Sarasota County funds nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including human services, education, animal welfare, the environment, arts, and disaster recovery, with local impact in Sarasota, Manatee, Charlotte, or DeSoto County. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $4.1 million, with a median grant of about $18,800.
Assets
$518.5M
Grants
540
Total Given
$41.2M
Early Learning Coalition of Broward County Inc
Fort Lauderdale, FL
The Early Learning Coalition of Broward funds child care reimbursement and early-learning providers, including programs supporting child care and preschool, primarily in Broward County, Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,127 to $3,994,863, with a median of $158,921. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$15.9M
Grants
636
Total Given
$152.2M
Leslie L Alexander Foundation Inc
Delray Beach, FL
The Leslie L Alexander Foundation supports animal rescue, education, children’s services, and other charitable work. In 2024, grants ranged from $600 to $1 million, with a median of $35,000; giving was concentrated in Florida and Texas, with awards also made elsewhere. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$291.4M
Grants
622
Total Given
$28.4M
Community Foundation of Tampa Bay Inc
Tampa, FL
The Community Foundation of Tampa Bay funds nonprofits addressing economic opportunity, environmental sustainability, health, education, and community vitality in Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando, and Citrus counties. Its annual competitive grants are typically $10,000–$50,000; it also accepts year-round requests for urgent, unforeseen needs of up to $250,000. Apply through the relevant grant opportunity; the profile does not state whether general unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
698
Total Given
$54.3M
United Way Miami Inc
Miami, FL
United Way Miami funds education, economic mobility, health and wellbeing, and resilient-community programs, with its community focus in Miami-Dade County. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,082 to $1,693,432, with a median of $18,410; published opportunities include selected awards of up to $153,000. It publishes specific grant opportunities and application details; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$157.2M
Grants
562
Total Given
$32.6M
Gulf Coast Community Foundation Inc
Venice, FL
Gulf Coast Community Foundation supports nonprofits working in arts and culture, education, the environment, health and human services, civic and economic development, and disaster response, with priorities including affordable housing, water quality, and mental health. It focuses on Sarasota, Charlotte, and DeSoto counties and nearby Florida communities; 2025 grants had a median of $16,251, while Community Grants are capped at $25,000 per nonprofit annually across program and event funding. It accepts Community Grant requests through a letter of intent; Catalytic and Initiative Grants are by invitation only.
Assets
$533.7M
Grants
651
Total Given
$45.0M
Early Learning Coalition of Duval Inc
Jacksonville, FL
The Early Learning Coalition of Duval funds school-readiness and early childhood education, including quality grants to early learning providers. Its 2025 grants were typically $10,000 (ranging from $5,010 to $10,000) and went to providers in Jacksonville and Orange Park, Florida; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$10.6M
Grants
38
Total Given
$341K
CSX Foundation Inc
Jacksonville, FL
Assets
$9.7M
Grants
607
Total Given
$13.7M
Wayne M Densch Charities Inc
Orlando, FL
Assets
$19.2M
Grants
524
Total Given
$463K
John S and James L Knight Foundation
Miami, FL
Knight funds journalism, arts and culture, community development, and related work on information and economic mobility, primarily in 26 communities where the Knight brothers published newspapers, as well as nationally. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,500 to $5 million, with a median of $85,300. It does not accept unsolicited requests while its Letter of Inquiry process is paused; applicants can check for specific open calls.
Assets
$2.5B
Grants
513
Total Given
$147.7M
More Funders in Florida
Thomas H and Mary Hadley Conner Leath Fnd down — hundreds of funders to go?